Remote Rig

RRC-Micro PC Client in English => General discussion => Topic started by: Miles on 2013-11-12, 18:13:09

Title: radio switching on and off continuously
Post by: Miles on 2013-11-12, 18:13:09
I am considering buying the RRC Client so downloaded the trial version.
When I connect to the Radio RCC (which is connected to a FT-857) the radio is switched on and off continuously in a rapid way. How can I remedy this situation?
Miles PA3CVV
Title: Re: radio switching on and off continuously
Post by: sm2o on 2013-11-13, 13:17:24
OK I understand what you mean.

There is no support for using the RRC-Micro when you do not have the Control-panel connected to the Radio.
As it is today you must have the frontpanel connected direct to the Radio.

We support this funktion for many of the other radios like IC-7100, TS-480, K3-Twin, Yeasu-Twin etc.

When he have time we will check if it possible to run the FT-857 without the frontpanel. It's not that easy you may have to fool the radio that the panel is there.

73 de mike
Title: Re: radio switching on and off continuously
Post by: Miles on 2013-11-13, 17:43:08
Mike, Many thanks. I understand. What a pity. Perhaps you will find a solution for  the FT-857.

You write:
>As it is today you must have the frontpanel connected direct to the Radio.

But when I do that, I cannot connect the RCC to the body of the FT-857. So, just to get this clear: at the moment the FT-857 can never work with the Micro Client? Or is there a way of connecting the RCC unit to the radio when the frontpannel is attached?

Best wishes,

Miles
Title: Re: radio switching on and off continuously
Post by: sm2o on 2013-11-13, 17:50:53
Yes, If you connect the front panel to the radio, the FT-857 is like a standard radio and can be controlled via the CAT interface like any radio. Look at the chapter about FT-897.

/mike
Title: Re: radio switching on and off continuously
Post by: Miles on 2013-11-13, 18:44:29
Mike, that's understood. Thanks again.
Miles
Title: Re: radio switching on and off continuously
Post by: Miles on 2013-11-15, 08:48:17
Mike,

Iím going to follow your advice to connect the FT-857 using Micro Client:  keep the front panel connected to the body of the FT-857 and connect the radio to the RCC with a cable between the cat socket of the radio (mini din) and the TTL connector of the RCC. For the cable I will use the FT-897 configuration. Question: the strapping and jumpers in the radio RCC are now set for the FT-857. Can I keep these unchanged, or must I switch to the FT-897 settings?

All the best,

Miles
Title: Re: radio switching on and off continuously
Post by: sm2o on 2013-11-15, 08:57:10
You can keep the strappings.

/mike
Title: Re: radio switching on and off continuously
Post by: Markus on 2018-02-14, 13:09:05
Hi,

is this restriction still up to date? I intended to use at one QTH the seperated operator panel (works fine) and at another QTH the RRC Micro PC Client.

Greetings from Germany
Markus
Title: Re: radio switching on and off continuously
Post by: sm2o on 2018-02-14, 13:12:44
That how it is, nothing that will be changed.

FT-857 with frontpanel attached is like any other Yaesu without detachable frontpanel

73 de mike
Title: Re: radio switching on and off continuously
Post by: Markus on 2018-02-14, 18:55:15
Hi,

thanks for fast response. Because I need to different control QTHs and one should be with a detached control panel, so another idea (a little bit out of topic):

I asked my Yaesu dealer for a second control panel and it is not so extremly expensive. Would it be possible to buy a second operating panel and a third remote rig MKIIs and use the two remote operating panels alternating in the special FT-857 mode? Or the radio RRC and the remote RRC must be paired in any way?

Thanks,
Markus
Title: Re: radio switching on and off continuously
Post by: dj0qn on 2018-02-14, 22:12:35
Markus,

You can run unlimited RRC's with control panels, as long as only one is turned on at a time. That
is how we share remote stations. Just save the data using the menu "export to BIN" and import
that into your second RRC and you are all set after doing the internal and external wiring.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX