Author Topic: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?  (Read 7328 times)

WQ0P

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Email
LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« on: 2011-11-04, 23:54:32 »
I am trying to get my Rotor Control to work on Com 1 on the RRC 1258IIs.  I am trying to get my tailtwister with an EZ-rotor from Idiom Press working.  My first attempts have failed.  I am guessing at what settings to use.  Does someone have this working?  Can you send me the settings that you are using?  I am taking my setup one step at a time.  Got the radio working remote, then got the CW working, and now trying to get the rotor control working.  Thanks Greg WQ0P.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2060
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« Reply #1 on: 2011-11-05, 00:24:15 »
Hi Greg,

Do you have the cable wired correctly? Pins 2 & 3 are reversed on COM1.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

WQ0P

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« Reply #2 on: 2011-11-05, 19:25:29 »
I am trying to ues COM 2 on the RRC units.  My cables fit right into them.  Are pins 2 and 3 reverse on COM 2 also?

Thanks Greg

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2060
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« Reply #3 on: 2011-11-05, 19:28:55 »
No, only COM1. I assumed that you are using CAT over COM2.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

WQ0P

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« Reply #4 on: 2011-11-05, 22:43:06 »
Okay, I am now trying to get COM 1 to work.  What mode should I be using?

oh1tv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« Reply #5 on: 2011-11-08, 18:35:56 »
I have Idiom press RotorCard LP-rotor for controlling it.
My COM1 serial settings are:
- mode 3
- 4800 baud
- 8 data bits
- 1 stop bit
- parity 0-off
- rts/cts no
- terminator 00 ( do not matter)
- USB, no

In control end I have straight cable but in remote end reversed, as in the manuals drawing.
Often I use HRD rotator instead of LP as it has better user interface. But both work ok.

I have not succeeded to get the same working via the new virtual USB-port in version 46 however.

73,
Pekka, OH1TV

VE3VEE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« Reply #6 on: 2013-07-31, 12:06:43 »
Quote
Hi Greg,

Do you have the cable wired correctly? Pins 2 & 3 are reversed on COM1.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

Are cables wired correctly for this purpose commercially available, or are we supposed to create one ourselves?

73 Marvin VE3VEE

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2060
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« Reply #7 on: 2013-07-31, 17:57:22 »
You probably will have to make one up. If you have a "gender changer",
try that out first to see if it works.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

VE3VEE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« Reply #8 on: 2013-07-31, 18:05:30 »
Mitch, would the cables that are being sold as "Null Modem DB9 ..." work for this purpose? There also seem to be some "Null Modem Adapters" on the market. Would these work for this? If not, I'll probably just cut a cable I have at home, and cross the #2 and #3 wires.

Thanks,

73 Marvin VE3VEE

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2060
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« Reply #9 on: 2013-07-31, 23:49:36 »
Marvin,

Perhaps....I would just take a look at the schematic for both the RRC COM1 and the rotor
port. If pins 2 & 3 need to be crossed, then a null modem cable or adapter may be a simple
solution (note however that the gender of COM1 is not the same).

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

VE3VEE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« Reply #10 on: 2013-08-01, 00:41:45 »
Thanks Mitch. I just got my rotator working for the very first time (on my kitchen floor) via Com2. When I make or buy the proper cable(s) for Com1, I hope it will work equally well.

73 Marvin VE3VEE

VE3VEE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« Reply #11 on: 2013-08-18, 11:53:09 »
Just an update: I got it working on Com1, too. I used a straight cable + a null modem adapter. I've learned an interesting thing in the process. I was testing it just on a kitchen table without TCVR connected. I was unable to get the rotator to work via Com ports of the RRC. It took me hours till I found out if my TCVR (TS-480) is not connected to the RRC and not turned on, the rotator will NOT work either. I've never noticed any mention of this in the manual, but I think it is important and it would deserve to be in the manual in big bold letters: COM PORTS DON'T WORK UNLESS TCVR IS ON.

I bet there must have been many new RemoteRig users who had everything connected just right, but it just wouldn't work for them because the TCVR was off.

:-)

73 Marvin VE3VEE
« Last Edit: 2013-08-18, 11:58:25 by VE3VEE »

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2060
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« Reply #12 on: 2013-08-18, 12:11:30 »
Hi Marvin,

Glad you got it working ok.

Actually, at least to me that is logical. The COM ports go over the SIP connection between the
two RRC's. This can only possibly work when they are connected via SIP, i.e. when the transceiver
is turned on.

If this is a problem, then use a stand-alone serial server, such as from Lantronix or Moxa.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

VE3VEE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« Reply #13 on: 2013-08-18, 12:23:58 »
That's actually NOT a problem at all. The only problem was me not knowing. I only wanted to establish and test connection to my ratator via COM1, and because I was not aware my TCVR needed to be on I didn't bother turning it on... and I spent hours agonizing over why it didn't work.

Mitch, thanks for all the valuable help you provide to RemoteRig users here on the forum! It's very much appreciated. I've learned a lot reading your replies in many threads here on the site.

73 Marvin VE3VEE

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2060
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: LP-Rotor settings What settings do you use?
« Reply #14 on: 2013-08-18, 12:31:29 »
My pleasure, Marvin.

I meant before that the serial goes over the UDP connections that connect when you
connect the two RRC's, not specifically SIP. But I guess no one noticed  ;)

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX