Author Topic: TS-480  (Read 2534 times)

PY1KN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
TS-480
« on: 2011-12-01, 02:48:16 »
Mike and friends

I have been using the standard setup with 2 RRCs for months now, with success. Additionally, I have Com2 connected to the radio with a straight serial cable, and I can control the radio with either DX4WIN or Win-Test.

Now I decided to add a RRC-Micro PC to use on the road. I've just installed it, and I can get the SIP connected, the buffer bar moves, but there is no sound at all.

When I start HRD, I configure the Com port to the virtual pair of Com2, the software connects but when it comes to read the radio frequency, it fails.

I read somewhere in this forum that I might need to tie pins 7 and 8 at the radio port in order to get it working. Is that the case? If so, why does my cable works with the standard configuration + Win-Test and not with the Micro-PC + HRD?

Marcelo, PY1KN
« Last Edit: 2011-12-01, 02:49:53 by PY1KN »

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2536
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: TS-480
« Reply #1 on: 2011-12-01, 15:53:08 »
Yes if jmp3 is in place and you use a straight cable with wies fro pin 2,3,5,7,8 then pin 7 and 8 will be connected together in the RRC.

73 de mike

PY1KN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: TS-480
« Reply #2 on: 2011-12-01, 22:22:02 »
Hi Mike

Thank you for the answer. IŽve just checked my photos, jumper 3 is in place on both RRCs. So I guess the problem is not the connection between Radio RRC and the TS480.
IŽll investigate elsewere, maybe Micro-PC Client configuration or the virtual ports.

73
Marcelo, PY1KN

PY1KN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: TS-480
« Reply #3 on: 2011-12-02, 02:53:26 »
Solved!

I reinstalled all software and reconfigured, all is OK now. I mus have had something wrong in the port settings. Now HRD works great, though I`d rather use TRX-Manager.

Thank you

Marcelo, PY1KN