Author Topic: RC 2000 - 0,1KHz step  (Read 6158 times)

iw1rdz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
RC 2000 - 0,1KHz step
« on: 2011-12-04, 21:27:14 »
I'm using for some months the RC 2000 device, remotely controlling the Kenwood TS2000. I need help in configuring the RC2000 (and the TS2000) in the way to have a frequency step of the RC2000 rotary knob equal to 0,1KHz, that I like in SSB operations.
I am able to set 1KHz or 0,01KHz, but not 0,1KHz.

73, Steve.


iw1rdz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RC 2000 - 0,1KHz step
« Reply #1 on: 2011-12-09, 16:20:43 »
up,

no one like me?

LB9GE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: RC 2000 - 0,1KHz step
« Reply #2 on: 2011-12-16, 19:01:55 »
It is not possible to change :-(

iw1rdz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RC 2000 - 0,1KHz step
« Reply #3 on: 2011-12-18, 10:42:59 »
very sad... I'll work on a homebrew panel with a big rotary knob and configurable steps... ;->

DH8AAA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: RC 2000 - 0,1KHz step
« Reply #4 on: 2012-01-04, 19:41:25 »
Hallo,

you can press the Main Dail on RC-2000 and swtich from Multi (1KHz) to Tun (0,1KHz).

73
Oliver

iw1rdz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RC 2000 - 0,1KHz step
« Reply #5 on: 2012-01-11, 23:19:48 »
In my RC2000 when I switch the vfo knob step changes from 1KHz to 0,01KHz and viceversa.  :(

DF1NP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: RC 2000 - 0,1KHz step
« Reply #6 on: 2012-01-13, 15:14:10 »
I am using homebrew board too:

tuningknop with 5 cm diameter and HEDS-5540 #A06, optical encoder, 500 CPR, 6,35mm axle (1/4") (look at E..ay.de) wired to the encoder inside the RC 2000 panel.
The encoder use 5 Volt DC from the RC 2000.

http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheets/270/77838_DS.pdf

73
Willi

iw1rdz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RC 2000 - 0,1KHz step
« Reply #7 on: 2012-02-05, 23:37:14 »
This evening I tested my new home-brew vfo rotary knob.

I keep the RC2000 connected and use the COM2 to connect an "Arduino uno" board with a level converter to comply to RS232.

I connected a 16x2 lcd display (useful now for debugging, don't know if in future I will keep it).

I used a DC motor as rotary knob, it is not precise, but it could be a good choice (at zero money...).
 
I programmed an analog input ADC to convert the voltage level that goes through motor (connected one side to 3,3v ref and the other side to arduino analog input).

If I turn the knob clockwise the voltage goes down and viceversa, so frequency has been programmed to go down and viceversa by 0,1khz steps.

:D


 

EA5WA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RC 2000 - 0,1KHz step
« Reply #8 on: 2015-12-27, 12:59:19 »
Same problem here....

I bought a RC2000 mobile controller for my ts-2000 conected to the Remoterig and I found only one problem the dial step is always 0,001 in Fine Mode. It's a bit hard to get to 0,5 when you are in CW.
I like the way to tune on my ts-2000 but not on my rc-2000... :'( :'(

Is there any simple option to make it easy?

Thanks,

73's from Juan Carlos EA5WA
73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos

S53K

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RC 2000 - 0,1KHz step
« Reply #9 on: 2015-12-27, 13:55:19 »
Hallo Willi,

Can you post some photos here how finally made it ?

Tnx

Simon S53K

I am using homebrew board too:

tuningknop with 5 cm diameter and HEDS-5540 #A06, optical encoder, 500 CPR, 6,35mm axle (1/4") (look at E..ay.de) wired to the encoder inside the RC 2000 panel.
The encoder use 5 Volt DC from the RC 2000.

http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheets/270/77838_DS.pdf

73
Willi

DF1NP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: RC 2000 - 0,1KHz step
« Reply #10 on: 2015-12-29, 14:28:03 »
Hi Simon,

I send you some photos from my mechanical and electric solution with HEDS-5640

73
Willi

iw1rdz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RC 2000 - 0,1KHz step
« Reply #11 on: 2016-01-09, 23:51:59 »
Hi, I modified an industrial encoder to work powered by 5V (I've just by-passed the 7805 internal circuit regulator) and connected to RC2000 according to Willi's suggestion.

I wanna say thanks to you Willi for your explanation; I tried a 20 pulses/rotation encoder and it is fine, perhaps it is too slow to work in fine mode, but surely better than the original RC2000 knob.

For those who look at my photos: attention that I used wires with different color compared to Willi's schema, but connections are obviously the same.

73 de Steve -IW1RDZ


« Last Edit: 2016-01-10, 00:01:59 by iw1rdz »

S53K

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RC 2000 - 0,1KHz step
« Reply #12 on: 2016-01-27, 20:18:21 »
hi Willi,

Sorry for late response! lt looks great! Thanks for all details, it makes very fantastic, will need to make it one myself 8)

Tnx again,

73 Simon

Hi Simon,

I send you some photos from my mechanical and electric solution with HEDS-5640

73
Willi