Author Topic: Com1 & Com2 sometime  (Read 11582 times)

IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Com1 & Com2 sometime
« on: 2011-12-06, 18:28:31 »
Hi,
I am using TS480 connect on Com2 (HDR work ok) and I tried to use Prosistel rotor on Com1 but it seems impossible to use HDR rotor application by RCC-Micro PC. Of course I used a inverted cable to connect prosistel and Com1.
Anyone has experience on those connection?
Is it possible to use more device with RCC-Micro PC I mean Com1 & Com2 sometimes?
Has RCC-Micro PC any limitaton system?
My best regard Nicola

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2025
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Com1 & Com2 sometime
« Reply #1 on: 2011-12-06, 18:41:40 »
Hi Nicola,

There is no reason why this should not work. I suspect that you may have the
wrong baud rate set-up: it must be set to 9600-8-N-1.

Otherwise, an example of someone using COM1 to control a rotor is at:
http://www.remoterig.com/forum/index.php?topic=1073.0

I hope this helps a bit.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Com1 & Com2 sometime
« Reply #2 on: 2011-12-09, 20:49:09 »
Dear Mitch,
if I use RRC-1258MkIIs all work ok and I can controll the rotor, but if I use a RCC-Micro PC it didn't work and I can't connect the rotor.
My setting are: Com2 TS480 &  Com1 Prosistel Rotor, on my computer RCC-Micro PC use Com2 like Com 17 & Com1 like Com16.
Any suggestion?
May be RCC-Micro PC has a limitation to use 2 com sometimes?
My best regard Nicola

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2025
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Com1 & Com2 sometime
« Reply #3 on: 2011-12-10, 16:00:21 »
Hi Nicola,

The settings in your RRC and PC Client should be identical for COM1. It should work just fine.
I assume that you are using the correct COM port in Windows, since COM1 will likely not be
COM1 in Windows.

I suggest that you provide your RRC COM1 settings and PC Client settings, so that either
the guys in Sweden can look at it, or maybe I can see what the problem is.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Com1 & Com2 sometime
« Reply #4 on: 2011-12-11, 00:28:22 »
Dear Mitch,
many thanks for your attention. My setting are follows:
*RCC radio-Com1-Mode3-9600-8-1-0-N-0d;
*RCC control-Com1-Mode3-9600-8-1-0-N-0d (Like I said in previw post HDR Rotator work ok);
*PC Client-Com1-Mode3-Microbit RRMicro (Com11) (I use com11 with HDR Rotator)-terminator 0d-timeout 40; 
*PC Client-Com2-Mode3-Microbit RRMicro (Com12) (I use com12 with HDR & it work ok)-terminator 3b-timeout 40;
On my netbook I have install PC client like: Com0=Com10 - Com1=Com11 - Com2=Com12 and RCC like Com1=Com3(HDR Rotator) - Com2=Com2(HDR)
I am using the same computer at home with RCC and around the word with PC client.
73
Nicola

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2025
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Com1 & Com2 sometime
« Reply #5 on: 2011-12-11, 07:40:23 »
Hi Nicola,

Offhand I don't see anything wrong. I would say that the guys in Sweden should take a look at
this tomorrow and let you know. I suspect there is a problem with your Netbook/Windows, but
it is really hard to say. They can for sure help you out.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Com1 & Com2 sometime
« Reply #6 on: 2011-12-11, 13:10:16 »
Dear Mitch,
I have tried with another computer but the resalt ti's the same and in this case I tried with native Prosistel Pro Box software, I have a message "ERROR OPENING COM PORT #16".
On this computer PC client install Com15-Com16-Com17.
Com17 work ok with HDR
Com16 don't work at all It's impossible to connect also with netbook there was a port unuseble
Com15 is set for Prosistel Pro Box software, I tried also to connect HRD (radio) and work fine.

Mitch I am in your hand
My best regard Nicola

IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Com1 & Com2 sometime
« Reply #7 on: 2011-12-11, 13:34:06 »
Additional information:
Netbook OS windows XP professional
Desktop OS Win7
RCC firmware 2.48
PC client firmware 1.3.2

Ciao Nicola

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2025
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Com1 & Com2 sometime
« Reply #8 on: 2011-12-13, 06:45:39 »
Hi Nicola,

Sorry for the delay; I flew to HS for vacation until the end of the year.

I do not see offhand a problem with your setup. I suggest that the guys in Sweden take a look.

If you want, I can try from here to see if I can get it working with my software. My e-mail is dj0qn (at) darc.de
if you want to mail me details directly. I am obviously not at my PC as much as when I am home, but I can try it
some time if you want me to. Wait first to see if Sweden responds to your problem.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

roland

  • Guest
Re: Com1 & Com2 sometime
« Reply #9 on: 2011-12-13, 08:49:19 »
Hi. Here is some images from a succesful rotator test using RRC-Micro that may give you some clue. (COM12 is one of the RRC-Micro comports)
The cable between the rotator and the RRC-box COM1 is a standard cross-cable (where pin 2-3 (rx/tx) are crossed)


IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Com1 & Com2 sometime
« Reply #10 on: 2011-12-13, 19:00:24 »
Hi Roland,
I tried your suggestion but HDR rotator didn't work. I wold like to under line that the system work ok with RCC and of course I have used a cross cable (2 & 3 crossed).
I saw that in your simulation you have used Com0 and Com1. I attach some photos to show you my setut:

Any other suggestions?
My best regard Nicola
 
« Last Edit: 2011-12-13, 19:52:24 by IZ7ANL »

IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Com1 & Com2 sometime
« Reply #11 on: 2011-12-17, 16:05:32 »
Hi Roland,
any news or suggestions?
'73 IZ7ANL Nicola

IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Com1 & Com2 sometime
« Reply #12 on: 2011-12-20, 21:54:19 »
May someone help me to discovery what is wrong in my setting?
'73 Nicola
« Last Edit: 2011-12-20, 21:56:05 by IZ7ANL »

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2025
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Com1 & Com2 sometime
« Reply #13 on: 2011-12-21, 09:34:30 »
Nicola,

Drop me a mail at dj0qn (at) darc.de and send me details how I can try it out from here. I will use the PC Client with HRD.

Note that I am currently 6 hours ahead of CET (UTC +7).

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

roland

  • Guest
Re: Com1 & Com2 sometime
« Reply #14 on: 2011-12-21, 10:28:51 »
Hi again. Sorry for the delay.
I got my hands on a Prositel Rotator today so I can make some tests.
Will be back with info on that.