Author Topic: IC706MK2g and Computer control via HRD  (Read 6037 times)

dl5mgd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
IC706MK2g and Computer control via HRD
« on: 2011-12-11, 21:27:32 »
Hello all,
I am using an Icom706Mk2g with the control panel here in my shack and the trcvr at the remoteside 30 km away. All is working fine. Now I want to connect from my shack with HRD to the trcvr at the remote side. I am using the USB connector in the shack and told the control panel to use com2 and to activate usb as com 2.
What do ihave to do at the trcvr side? Do i need special cabling at the trcvr end?
Thanks a lot!!!
73
Andreas
 

SM0SHG

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: IC706MK2g and Computer control via HRD
« Reply #1 on: 2011-12-12, 10:39:18 »
You will need a CI-V cable between the radio and the remoterig unit.
Regards,
Adde

dl5mgd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: IC706MK2g and Computer control via HRD
« Reply #2 on: 2011-12-13, 17:39:22 »
Thanks,
i installed a ci-v cable at the remote side today.
Computercontrol is not working as before and at my control panel i can only power up the trcvr, so that i can hear stations; i can tune with the tune knob but i do not have any signs at my display, the display ist black.
Big problems now, bigger than before.
73
Andreas

dj4mz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: IC706MK2g and Computer control via HRD
« Reply #3 on: 2011-12-15, 16:08:12 »
Hi Andreas,

I don't know the details of your cabling but I also have had the problem with the "dark" display. It took quite some time to find out, but in my case the problem was caused by a loose contact at the RJ45 connector for the control panel!

BTW: I also use the control panel and an additional CI-V connection for CAT-control.

vy 73
Simon, DJ4MZ

M0BPQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC706MK2g and Computer control via HRD
« Reply #4 on: 2011-12-17, 13:32:17 »
I also have the "dark panel" problem with my 706G, but audio, cw keying etc is being transferred jsut fine. Funnily enough this happened to me after I tried to config computer control as well. I know my cables are still good as I just tested them with a back to back RJ45 adapter....

please post if you find the answer to your problem and I will do likewise.
73
Steve
M0BPQ

dl5mgd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: IC706MK2g and Computer control via HRD
« Reply #5 on: 2011-12-18, 11:42:33 »
Hello,
problems solved.
The problem was the IC706 itself
In the initial set mode (number 36 CI-V TRN) the setting was "on"; strange behaviour. I changed this to "off" and all is working fine.

73
Andreas
 

M0BPQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC706MK2g and Computer control via HRD
« Reply #6 on: 2011-12-19, 18:31:38 »
Pleased to see you have your system working.

I am afraid mine is not though. I turned off the CIV as you sugessted with no change. Then did a factory CPU reset, with no change.

To recap. The face works fine locally when my RRC cables are joined using a back to back adapter and plugged into the 706, but I get nothing on the face plate when connecting over my LAN via the RRCs. Tuning, audio, cw etc are all fine. I have just updated the FW to the latest release. Any ideas where I am going wrong or what I can test, readers?

73
Steve
M0BPQ

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2582
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: IC706MK2g and Computer control via HRD
« Reply #7 on: 2011-12-19, 19:27:41 »
Hi

The data signal from radio to panel is missing somewhere. It can be one the red straps which is broken or the ic706 cable.Even if it they work connected directly it can be a problem with the data-gnd in the cable. If you email me login data I can try to connect from here to determine if it's in the control or radio end you have the problem.

73 de mike

dj4mz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: IC706MK2g and Computer control via HRD
« Reply #8 on: 2011-12-20, 16:14:09 »
Hi Andreas!

The problem was the IC706 itself
In the initial set mode (number 36 CI-V TRN) the setting was "on"; strange behaviour. I changed this to "off" and all is working fine.

Great to hear that your setup is working now, but I'm a little bit confused about the explanation. I have CI-V Transceive turned on in my setup and that works great. I like to see my bandmap move in real-time!

vy 73
Simon, DJ4MZ

M0BPQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC706MK2g and Computer control via HRD
« Reply #9 on: 2011-12-21, 15:47:35 »
For public info - I am using RRC v1 boxes so no strap problems. The RRC- face and RRC- radio cables check out fine from pins 1-8 for continuity and pin to pin connectivity as per the manual. I have sent my system details to Mike so that he can try a remote login. A but stuck why this has stopped working after several months....

Once I have the face back illuminated, I will need to look at the CIV issues  ;)
73
Steve
M0BPQ

EI3KD

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: IC706MK2g and Computer control via HRD
« Reply #10 on: 2012-05-09, 09:55:36 »
@Steve M0BPQ - I know this is an old topic, but did you get your setup working? I have the same problems as you describe, using v1 boxes and an IC706MK2 - would be interesting to know if you found a fix!

Mark EI3KD