Author Topic: Expert 2K-FA  (Read 11422 times)

IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Expert 2K-FA
« on: 2011-12-13, 19:10:45 »
I would like to remote Exper 2K-FA, but it has a USB connection. Has anyone expirence how to remote this amplifier? or any device suggestion like "host USB stand-alone converter" USB to RS232 or USB to ethernet
My best regard Nicola

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Expert 2K-FA
« Reply #1 on: 2011-12-18, 11:53:40 »
Nicola,
It simply does not work, been testing / trying this (last 7 months) with 3 different USB to ethernet converters
you get connection with the expert-2k but it takes up to 1min before your screen refresh and that is not what
we need.
They should have sticked to the serial connection instead of USB

Guy
 

IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Expert 2K-FA
« Reply #2 on: 2011-12-19, 17:28:21 »
Guy,
15 days ago I have been in Rome  to viset SPE Laboratory and I asked if it was possible to pick up the TTL signal or serial signal befoure the USB converter but they didn't have more time, may be in future.
I serch in web and I found a lot of USB server converter (stand alone) but I didn't know the resalt, now your reporte convice me to wait.
I am studing to add a serial control at mine tube homebrew amplifier (2 x 4-800)
Have you look my PC client post? any suggestions?
My best regard '73 Nicola

Geoff G8OFQ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Expert 2K-FA
« Reply #3 on: 2012-04-29, 22:22:05 »
You may want to consider the option that I am using  for a 2K-FA remote....

I have a PC connected to my Home Server which is running the Terminal 2K remote software. I can access the PC through the server as a remote desktop so can tune, change antennas, switch ON/OFF etc...

If you don't have a server, then you could use Windows Live Help and get the desktop on your remote PC/laptop but I haven't tried this method.

Worth a try......

Best 73

Geoff G8OFQ

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2042
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Expert 2K-FA
« Reply #4 on: 2012-04-30, 03:43:17 »
I may be jumping the gun a bit, but SPE will soon have a firmware update for the 2K that allows
the serial port to be used for control, instead of the USB port (but not both at the same time).

This should allow you to use the 2K with a serial server, so a PC at the station will no longer be
necessary.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

Geoff G8OFQ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Expert 2K-FA
« Reply #5 on: 2012-04-30, 11:00:34 »
Good to know Mitch - thanks for the heads-up....

73

Geoff
G8OFQ

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Expert 2K-FA
« Reply #6 on: 2012-05-04, 06:37:55 »
Mitch,
its not only a firmware update,
you need also a new  cpu-board
Mine is running in beta test now
and its working like with the expert-1k
Could become a standard option in future releases
but that I don't know, maybe I find out when I meet
Gianfranco in Roma on 14/5

Guy ON4AOI
 
« Last Edit: 2012-05-04, 06:39:37 by ON4AOI »

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2042
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Expert 2K-FA
« Reply #7 on: 2012-05-04, 06:45:03 »
Thanks for the information, Guy. Gianfranco wrote me about the change,
but didn't mention about the new board! I will see him in Dayton while
you are in Rome and will get the straight scoop.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

Vk7wh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Expert 2K-FA
« Reply #8 on: 2012-07-23, 12:49:19 »
Hi Nicola. I ordered a 2K-FA in early March and it arrived in Australia last week. Although I have not yet received delivery (it should arrive in the next week or so) I have been assured that my unit DOES have the new serial control port.

I have already received the documentation from the local distributer, 2K-FA Manual ver 2.0 in PDF, which confirms that it does have a serial port. It was shipped in mid July, so I presume that any unit shipped after this date will have the serial port.

As soon as I get the chance, I will test it with my pair of RomoteRig 1258MarkII RRCs and TS480 and let you know, however I am sure it will interface ok

73

Winston VK7WH
« Last Edit: 2012-07-23, 12:58:40 by Vk7wh »

IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Expert 2K-FA
« Reply #9 on: 2012-08-03, 20:15:43 »
Many thanks Wilston I'll wait your test.
My best regard Nicola

Vk7wh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Expert 2K-FA
« Reply #10 on: 2012-08-24, 12:57:07 »
Hi again Nicola, the Amp arrived a few days before I went on holidays early in August, so I didn't have time to make up the cables and test the serial port before I left. I will be home early in September and will let you know as soon as I test it.

Sorry for the delay. 73 de Winston VK7WH

dj3ng

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Expert 2K-FA
« Reply #11 on: 2012-09-04, 17:18:26 »
Hi,
the Expert 2K-FA (new series)  have a 9-pin port - calling "port" to connect to the pc-comport or comport-server and to the SteppIR controller SDA 100. With the trivial software from SPE "Term_2k_232" you can remote the PA. I have  it tested today - in my home Network and over the I-Net.

73 de Sigi, DJ3NG

   

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2042
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Expert 2K-FA
« Reply #12 on: 2012-09-04, 17:25:06 »
Hi Sigi,

Yes, SPE needed convincing to enable the serial port and brought out the series 2 version in
July with this working. Thanks especially to forum member Guy, ON4AOI, who really worked
on convincing Gianfranco at SPE to make this change. I was also finally able to order my 2K
after this was confirmed.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Expert 2K-FA
« Reply #13 on: 2012-09-06, 08:42:01 »
My pleasure Mitch  8)
now still waiting for a better SteppIR control , home-180-Bi etc
guess I need to send more mails to them again .... ..

Guy ON4AOI

dj3ng

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Expert 2K-FA
« Reply #14 on: 2012-09-22, 22:25:06 »
Hi,
only for complement,
the Expert 2k-FA 9-pin should be for remote control and connection to the SteppIR controller. But the port does only 115.200 bd.... Good for my  RS-232 server and remote control,  but to fast for the SteppIR-Controller SDA 100 .... he can only 57.600 !  >:(

73 de Sigi, DJ3NG
     
« Last Edit: 2012-09-22, 22:31:26 by dj3ng »