Author Topic: how to delete profiles?  (Read 3871 times)

DL7AV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
    • Email
how to delete profiles?
« on: 2012-02-03, 12:56:43 »
I now have 3 useless profiles due to playing around with the settings at different locations. When choosing one of those the access is blocked and I have to use the setup manager via USB to get to the default profile. How to delete profiles? And how to rename them?
73,  Thomas  DL7AV

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1798
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: how to delete profiles?
« Reply #1 on: 2012-02-03, 13:39:16 »
From version 2.52 you don't have to give user name and password immediately after changing profile. That will allow you to change user name and/or password before applying settings and so unlock the profile.

Profiles can't be deleted. Renaming is possible, just change the name in the text box and hit Submit.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

DL7AV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: how to delete profiles?
« Reply #2 on: 2012-02-03, 18:37:59 »
Thank you Jan. But there may be a misunderstanding. As you said I changed from default profile to the profile that does not give me access, but did not submit. Then I changed my password in the IP settings and applied. Same result, the profile does not work because it is looking for a wrong network (as I can see in the “Net info” in the setup manager). Any way to change the settings of the profiles which look for a different network? Factory reset??
73,  Thomas DL7AV

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1798
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: how to delete profiles?
« Reply #3 on: 2012-02-03, 22:05:01 »
So "blocked" means the profile you change to has the wrong IP settings for the network the RRC is in?  Or do I misunderstand you once again? ;)  If not then it  sounds to me like you just have to change to the profile in question, change its IP settings, submit and finally apply settings.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

DL7AV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: how to delete profiles?
« Reply #4 on: 2012-02-04, 12:34:04 »
"So "blocked" means the profile you change to has the wrong IP settings for the network the RRC is in?" YES
This is the exact info:

profile: “default”, good connection
IP address 192.168.178.29
Netmask   255.255.255.0
Gateway   192.168.178.1
DNS   192.168.178.1

profile: “dl7av”, must be changed or deleted, wrong network settings. By Setup Manager:
IP address: 192.168.0.29
Netmask   : 255.255.255.0
Gateway   : 192.168.0.30
DNS       : 0.0.0.0

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1798
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: how to delete profiles?
« Reply #5 on: 2012-02-04, 16:58:14 »
But fixing that should be possible, like I described above.

Taken out of memory without an RRC here to check with:

1/
Select the "default" profile using Setup Manager. (So that its network connection will work)

2/
Browse to the RRC's home page from a PC. (http://192.168.178.29)

3/
Change profile to "dl7av" from the web browser.

4/
Change IP settings to those of the "default", still using the web browser. Remember to "Submit".

5/
Finally "Apply" the settings, which will restart the RRC using the working just changed IP settings for the still active profile "dl7av".

Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

DL7AV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: how to delete profiles?
« Reply #6 on: 2012-02-04, 18:26:30 »
Thank you Jan, good service!
But "Remember to "Submit"" has to be moved to 3/
Works fine now.
73,  Thomas

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1798
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: how to delete profiles?
« Reply #7 on: 2012-02-05, 10:08:14 »
Thank you Jan, good service!
But "Remember to "Submit"" has to be moved to 3/
Works fine now.
73,  Thomas
Great that you got it working! I would not say it should be moved to 3/, but added, since you have to Submit when changing profile too  ;)
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.