Author Topic: Remote Rig Newbie-IC7000 TX audio problem  (Read 8090 times)

Geoff G8OFQ

• View Profile
    • Email
Remote Rig Newbie-IC7000 TX audio problem
« on: 2012-04-28, 13:11:47 »
Hi....
Desperate newbie here just setting up Remote Rig but having a problem with getting TX audio to work.

Rig is IC 7000 with Heil Elite headset (AD-1-ICM mic) and Ham Radio Deluxe. Setup is as per instructions for ICOM general radio in User Manual and everything works OK except for Mic audio. Control RRC is connected to radio mic with CAT5 patch cable, and the straps in both Control and Radio RRCs are set up for ICOM normal hardware configuration ie. pins 1,4,6,7,5 connected, and Jump 1 NOT in place (for Heil mics)

Without the CAT5 patch cable connected to the radio mic socket, the TX function works but when the cable is connected, the response is extremely slow and the TX function doesn't work. I'm wondering if I have the correct strapping pins connected, or if the CAT 5 patch cable is not the correct cable to use. Same happens for the standard ICOM handheld mic (with Jump 1 in place for DC feed).

Any suggestions greatly appreciated - now getting desperate as going away in a few days and hope to get this working from remote location!!

Thanks - Geoff G8OFQ

sm2o

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Remote Rig Newbie-IC7000 TX audio problem
« Reply #1 on: 2012-04-29, 18:26:05 »
I think you have the red straps placed in wrong positions. The COM0 serial port is also present in the socket, and if you have put a red strap in that position it will give the effect you describe. Check with the manual how you should count, when placing the straps.

73 de mike

Geoff G8OFQ

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: 2012-04-29, 19:07:23 »
Hi Mike,