Author Topic: CW extra character  (Read 10352 times)

PY1KN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
CW extra character
« on: 2012-06-01, 04:53:29 »
Helllo

I am finally using my Micro PC client. I have version 1.5.4, under windows 7 with Kenwood ARCP-410 (new version 1.10).

I programmed the CW macros to work pile-ups (F1=PY1KN; F2= PY1KN PY1KN; F3=5NN TU). I have worked a few stations this way.

I have noticed that quite a few copied my call with an extra N in the end, as PY1KNN. At first I thought it was due to QRM or something else, but it hapenned more than once and again today with A5A. KL2A is too good an operator to make such mistake (I corrected my call a few times).

Since I have no sidetone in RRC-Micro PC Client, I am intrigued, as the software might be including  an extra N at the end of my call.

Has anyone observed a similar problem?

Thanks
Marcelo, PY1KN not PY1KNN

roland

  • Guest
Re: CW extra character
« Reply #1 on: 2012-06-01, 08:40:25 »
Hi Marcelo

I have tested with the the F1 macros as you described and can't repeat the problem.
If you connect at serial port terminal program such as SecureCRT to the RRC-box and
turn on debugging by hitting 'd' and then '+', you will see what CW keys are received
and sent. Here is an example of me sending "PY1KN;"

The lines with Queued is CW-keys received and stored for sending.
The lines with Sending is CW-keys sent.


R-> Sending keep-alive FF 0D
R-> Sending keep-alive FF 0D
R-> Sending keep-alive FF 0D
R-> Sending keep-alive FF 0D
keyerAsciiAck: CharAck, Type:5, Seq:36, Free:9
keyerAsciiRxEvent: Queued P, seq 36, new index 1
keyerAsciiAck: CharAck, Type:5, Seq:37, Free:8
keyerAsciiRxEvent: Queued Y, seq 37, new index 2
keyerAsciiRxEvent: Sending P as .--.
keyerAsciiAck: CharAck, Type:5, Seq:38, Free:8
keyerAsciiRxEvent: Queued 1, seq 38, new index 2
keyerAsciiAck: CharAck, Type:5, Seq:39, Free:7
keyerAsciiRxEvent: Queued K, seq 39, new index 3
R-> Sending keep-alive FF 0D
keyerAsciiAck: CharAck, Type:3, Seq:36, Free:5
keyerAsciiRxEvent: Sending Y as -.--
R-> Sending keep-alive FF 0D
keyerAsciiAck: CharAck, Type:3, Seq:37, Free:6
keyerAsciiRxEvent: Sending 1 as .----
R-> Sending keep-alive FF 0D
keyerAsciiAck: CharAck, Type:3, Seq:38, Free:7
keyerAsciiRxEvent: Sending K as -.-
R-> Sending keep-alive FF 0D
keyerAsciiAck: CharAck, Type:3, Seq:39, Free:8
keyerAsciiRxEvent: Sending N as -.
keyerAsciiAck: CharAck, Type:3, Seq:40, Free:9
keyerAsciiRxEvent: Sending ; as -.-.-.
R-> Sending keep-alive FF 0D
keyerAsciiAck: CharAck, Type:3, Seq:41, Free:10
R-> Sending keep-alive FF 0D
R-> Sending keep-alive FF 0D
R-> Sending keep-alive FF 0D
R-> Sending keep-alive FF 0D



PY1KN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: CW extra character
« Reply #2 on: 2012-06-01, 12:46:59 »
Hi Roland


Thank you for the reply. I am not sure how to set up SecureCRT. I run it on my control PC (where RRC-micro lies) and connect to my remote RRC?

If you want to check, I can send you my remote connection data in pvt.

Marcelo

PY1KN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: CW extra character
« Reply #3 on: 2012-06-01, 15:54:51 »
Thanks to Mike.

It seems the problem was my RRC firmware that was too old.

I'll check later today, but I am sure this is the problem.

Thanks for a great product and support.

Marcelo, PY1KN

I4GAD Enrico

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: CW extra character
« Reply #4 on: 2012-06-12, 14:54:33 »
Hello Marcelo,
since a long time, (client rel. 1.2.1) I'm facing the problem of duplicate CW characters (random and not only the last one) using the stored messages or the keyboard.
This prevent me from using the RRC Client in CW. I have reported the problem to Roland and we did together several tests, but till now he was not able to replicate the problem and no solution found.
At the moment I'm using the CW section of TRX-MANAGER that is now working quite well with my TS-480.
The keyer of the old version 1.2.1 of the client did'nt have the problem, but all the following releases does. 
I'm very interested to see if you can find the reason of the promblem. I'm also using W7.
Best regards and 73
I4GAD Enrico

PY1KN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: CW extra character
« Reply #5 on: 2012-07-24, 15:13:22 »
Hi Enrico

Sorry for taking so long, I was travelling.

I solved my problem updating the RRC firmware to the latest revision. That shoud work.

73 GL
Marcelo, PY1KN

EY8MM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CW extra character
« Reply #6 on: 2012-12-06, 08:23:53 »
I have similar problem with extra characters with latest software. Any suggestions?

roland

  • Guest
Re: CW extra character
« Reply #7 on: 2012-12-06, 08:32:28 »
I have similar problem with extra characters with latest software. Any suggestions?
Latest RRC firmware, RRC Client software or both?

EY8MM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CW extra character
« Reply #8 on: 2012-12-06, 08:45:27 »
Client software. I haven't seen place to find to update RRC firmare. If you can direct to the appropriate page that would be great.

roland

  • Guest
Re: CW extra character
« Reply #9 on: 2012-12-06, 12:47:50 »
Client software. I haven't seen place to find to update RRC firmare. If you can direct to the appropriate page that would be great.
Sure. Check that you have latest version
http://www.remoterig.com/wp/?page_id=79

We start from there and lets see what happens.
Cheers


EY8MM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CW extra character
« Reply #10 on: 2012-12-06, 23:36:56 »
Roland,

I thought we are talking about RRC-Micro firmware.

For RRC-1258 I have 2.65 firmware.

roland

  • Guest
Re: CW extra character
« Reply #11 on: 2012-12-06, 23:45:18 »
Roland,

I thought we are talking about RRC-Micro firmware.

For RRC-1258 I have 2.65 firmware.

Okay.. Sorry for the confusion.
Here is the latest RRC Client 1.6.1
http://www.remoterig.com/wp/?page_id=93

EY8MM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CW extra character
« Reply #12 on: 2012-12-07, 05:00:11 »
I had all new software and firmware. As I bought RRC-micro a while ago I thought that you mean to update firmware of RRC-Micro. It sounds logical and I was looking it on the Download area. I didn't find it because it doesn't exist.

So know we all on the same page. Being updated I have extra characters sent. It can be more than one.

For instance it can send cq cqq eyy8mmmm   instead of the text cq cq ey8mm

Using XP environment. Audio In and OUT works flawlessly.

roland

  • Guest
Re: CW extra character
« Reply #13 on: 2012-12-07, 08:14:53 »
Will have a look at this.
Could you turn debug on and run a session which leaves some characters out
and the exit the program. Send the file Documents\RRCMicro\mblog.txt to me.

Thanks

EY8MM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CW extra character
« Reply #14 on: 2012-12-13, 14:30:21 »
Roland,

Any news please?