Author Topic: Kenwood TS2000  (Read 4820 times)

bbuff98

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Email
Kenwood TS2000
« on: 2012-09-11, 06:27:56 »
I have a Kenwood TS2000 and am trying to get it to talk to the RRC micro client software/dongle.  I have the radio set to 57600 at the 1258 end, jumpers in place, TTL and speaker connections only at this time.  I am using com0 at both ends, SIP port 7805, CMD port 7803, audio port 7804, web server port 7800.  I had to change the port numbers as my cable provider is using 5060 for my VOIP home phone.  I have the mode at the radio end set to 7 on the com0 screen for the Kenwood 2K.  The micro client software connects to the radio end; however, I have a red light on the RTP led and a green light on the com0 led.  I set up the ARCP2000 software at 57600 on com1.  I am using RRC micro client software 1.5.2.  The later versions never gave me a com0 led ever.  The ARCP software lights up momentarily on the connect button and then goes dark.  I tried HRD with the same settings and it too never connects.  Can you please help me as I am unsure what I am doing incorrectly?

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Kenwood TS2000
« Reply #1 on: 2012-09-11, 08:12:10 »
Hi

When using TS-2000 with CAT you should use mode 4, mode 7 is when you have the RC-2000. I guess you have connected the CAT cable to RRC com2 not com0 which is only TTL levels. Set com2 to mode 4 in the Radio RRC and setup the RRC Micro to use Com2. You can use com0 at the RRC-Micro but then you must set the Radio-RRC com2 to be logical parallell with com0.

73 de mike

bbuff98

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Kenwood TS2000
« Reply #2 on: 2012-09-14, 23:46:20 »
Mike, I can now connect and can control the radio; however, i do not have any receive audio nor do I see it at the RRC-Micro panel.  I am using a standard audio cable (tip and ring only) from the radio to the RRC 1258. 

Tks Jerry
KA8D

bbuff98

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Kenwood TS2000
« Reply #3 on: 2012-09-28, 07:03:16 »
 :)  Mike, I wish to thank you for your help.  The only remaining issue is I can not key the remoted transmitter from the dongle from my laptop.  I can key the transmitter with the dongle from both of my desktop pc's; however, they are running WinXP and Vista, the laptop uses windows 7 64 bit.  One last issue, i have tried to get version 1.5.5 to work and can not but am very satisfied with 1.5.2.

thanks very much,
Jerry S
KA8D

roland

  • Guest
Re: Kenwood TS2000
« Reply #4 on: 2012-09-28, 08:24:12 »
The only remaining issue is I can not key the remoted transmitter from the dongle from my laptop.  I can key the transmitter with the dongle from both of my desktop pc's; however, they are running WinXP and Vista, the laptop uses windows 7 64 bit.
Its the same code for XP/Vista/Win7 32 and Win7 64. I'm running Win7 64 my self when testing. However if you turn debug on and run a session where you fail and then send the RRCMicro\mblog.txt that's in you Documents folder to me and I will have a look if I can get something out of that.

One last issue, i have tried to get version 1.5.5 to work and can not but am very satisfied with 1.5.2.
Whats the problem with running 1.5.5 more exactly?
« Last Edit: 2012-09-28, 08:26:09 by Roland (Microbit) »

bbuff98

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Kenwood TS2000
« Reply #5 on: 2012-10-12, 15:16:59 »
Good Morning:

The issue I am having with 1.5.5 is I can not seem to connect to the RRC software from the ARCP2000 program.  Because I am having a sound card issue at the present time, I unloaded all of the RRC Micro software and started with 1.5.5 and I still have the issue connecting the ARCP program to the RRC Micro software.  The connect button lights up momentarily and then goes dark.  I move back to the 1.5.2 software and it works flawlessly.

KA8D

bbuff98

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Kenwood TS2000
« Reply #6 on: 2012-10-24, 20:27:13 »
Roland, I sent the RRC Micro dongle back to MicroBit and will try to load 1.5.5 when I get the dongle back.  If it still fails, I will turn on debug and then send you the file.  Sorry for not responding sooner.

Jerry S
KA8D
73

roland

  • Guest
Re: Kenwood TS2000
« Reply #7 on: 2012-10-24, 21:05:22 »
Roland, I sent the RRC Micro dongle back to MicroBit and will try to load 1.5.5 when I get the dongle back.  If it still fails, I will turn on debug and then send you the file.  Sorry for not responding sooner.

Jerry S
KA8D
73
Okay... No problem.
Hope things will be solved :)