RRC 1258 Support in English > General discussion forum

problem with icom706 and CI-V

(1/2) > >>

I1HJT:
If I try to connect the radio side CI-V jack to the TTL port using the cable as per the schematic, the Icom 706 front panel is getting dark, seems there is not power.
Any idea?
Thanks, I1HJT

dj4mz:
Hi,

I'm not an expert, but looks like you are mixing up two operating modes: Standalone IC-706 with detached front panel and ICOM CI-V generic mode, or are you trying to controll the IC-706 only via CI-V?

vy 73, Simon

I1HJT:

--- Quote from: dj4mz on 2010-02-12, 14:31:40 ---Hi,

I'm not an expert, but looks like you are mixing up two operating modes: Standalone IC-706 with detached front panel and ICOM CI-V generic mode, or are you trying to controll the IC-706 only via CI-V?

vy 73, Simon

--- End quote ---

Hi Simon, thanks for the reply.
As per my experience by using the IC-706 connected to the PC directly (without the remoterig stuff) I can operate on the radio panel and on the PC in the same time. It means the 706 panel is working as usual and some funcion can be operated also from the PC. I have experieced that even using other radios and the N1MM software (which is dedicated for contest).
It seems that once I connect the TTL plug, the power to the front panel shut off.

dj4mz:

--- Quote from: I1HJT on 2010-02-12, 14:43:13 ---As per my experience by using the IC-706 connected to the PC directly (without the remoterig stuff) I can operate on the radio panel and on the PC in the same time. It means the 706 panel is working as usual and some funcion can be operated also from the PC.

--- End quote ---