Author Topic: TS-480 cables  (Read 5511 times)

pd0swl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
    • Email
TS-480 cables
« on: 2012-11-28, 19:25:57 »
Hi,

Having used Remoterig with my IC706mk2g for about two years, I found out it is the most stable and reliable remote ham solution I have. So I decided for a second "DX" setup with the TS480SAT.

The RRC manual still speaks about splitting/making your own cables but I would like to have a lazy approach this time. Is it correct I need:

Radio side.
- A short RJ11 cable with all six leads (already in ts480 box)
- a short isolated RJ45 CAT5 patch cable for microphone audio
- a minijack cable for keyer (or is this not needed?)

Control side.
- just a single RJ11 cable to front (already in ts480 box)
- (mic straight into RRC)

Hope to have my second setup ready for winter time conditions.
Btw: Are wifi-boards also possible to order pre-installed?

73
Paul
PD0PSB


dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1803
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: TS-480 cables
« Reply #1 on: 2012-11-28, 21:16:36 »
Looks fine to me, Paul. Note that only the European TS-480 version has both control cables
included, which is maybe why the manual indicates otherwise.

Mike may answer you on the wi-fi card, but it is just a drop-in to install, so no need for a factory
install. You have to open it up to do the jumpers, anyway, and that takes less time than a couple
of jumpers to install.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

pd0swl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: TS-480 cables
« Reply #2 on: 2012-11-28, 21:33:41 »
OK, Mitch, then I'm all set.
(Yes I just bought the European 480 version with the extra cables)

I already installed 2 wifi boards in my other RRC set and don't want to become a factory ;-)
But you are right, in the newer versions RRC the boards must be a lot simpler to install.

Love the TS480 btw!
I first thought to wait for the IC7100, but I see the release date slowly going forward into the future...

73
Paul
PD0PSB




sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2462
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: TS-480 cables
« Reply #3 on: 2012-11-29, 08:50:06 »
I also saw a newly bought TS-480 and as I understand there is both a long and short 6 pin control cable included so no cables are need to be bought or manually made for the basic function. The WiFi are simple to install in the boxes we ship now as the pin header is already in place.

73 de mike

va7awm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: TS-480 cables
« Reply #4 on: 2012-11-29, 19:51:25 »
Hi All, I am seriously considering a TS-480. Working on this idea right now. Thanks for info in the thread, it is useful. My IC706MKIIG just got killed by lightning. Waiting to see if I can get a replacement radio body. It had been running remotely for many years, and the Remoterig system is amazingly stable.

Question: What antenna and tuner combinations are you using?

pd0swl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: TS-480 cables
« Reply #5 on: 2012-12-02, 22:29:07 »
Hi Alan,

I can certainly recommend the TS480.
It must have been built for Remoterig by Kenwood ;-)

Never been entirely satisfied by the IC706mk2g dynamic range on HF, but it is a nice do-it-all radio.
VHF/UHF all mode is good enough for me.
The TS480 plays on a higher league on HF and has much more tools for difficult band conditions.
It also sounds very good I think.

For HF I have been playing with several remote SDR solutions, but nothing has been as responsive,stable and good sounding as my Remoterig setup. So for HF and some real antenna's I've decided to make a second RRC setup around the 480.

I've been running my 706 with an AT180 and a multiband dipole.
For the 480 I want to make some remotely switched delta loops this winter.

73
Paul
PD0PSB

VE9HF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: TS-480 cables
« Reply #6 on: 2014-12-17, 23:12:06 »
The front panel is powered up with the RJ11 cable plugged into the radio. When I move the RJ11 from the radio to the RRC-1258 Control, the front panel won't power up. Any idea what I need to do? Rick VE9HF

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2462
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: TS-480 cables
« Reply #7 on: 2014-12-17, 23:21:12 »
If nothing at all happens when you press the PWR-ON button, the Control-RRC is probably not set in the right program mode (5),or the com 0 baudrate is not correct (57600). If the settings are correct you may have placed the red strap wires wrong, so they shorcut the TTL-signal. The red wires is only for the mic an PTT so in RX mode all works without them.

73 de mike
« Last Edit: 2014-12-17, 23:47:20 by sm2o »

OZ4ACK

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: TS-480 cables
« Reply #8 on: 2015-05-09, 17:26:02 »
I had med setup formy radioclub yesterday, all setup was correct, jumpers vere ar right place and the radio wouldnt switch on, then i did enabled dmz for the remoterig radio box ip adress and suddenly the radio could switch on and it still works, i also had to enable dmz for rrc radiobox for my own ic7100 this seems to be very important, and i didnt find any info about this in the rrc manual

Regards oz4ack

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2462
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: TS-480 cables
« Reply #9 on: 2015-05-09, 18:30:26 »
Using dmz is the same as using multipel portforwarding, and as dmz can only be used to one IP-address behind the NAT-router we have chosen to describe the use of portforwarding which is more useful

73 de mike