Author Topic: Two IC-7410 with remote rig  (Read 4369 times)

WA8YEP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Two IC-7410 with remote rig
« on: 2013-02-14, 21:47:24 »
Will two Icom IC-7410 work with Remote Rig similar to the Yaesu twin concept?

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2025
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Two IC-7410 with remote rig
« Reply #1 on: 2013-02-15, 13:09:12 »
Since I haven't seen an answer from Microbit yet, I will send you one from my side:
the answer is NO.

Whether or not they are planning to make an Icom "Twin" or not is up to them, but I
highly doubt that the market is large enough to justify the development expense. There
are already excellent solutions available, including support for the new IC-7100.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

WA8YEP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Two IC-7410 with remote rig
« Reply #2 on: 2013-02-15, 18:06:40 »
Hi Mitch,
Since we last talked, the IC-2820h is now working well with 350 feet of cat 6 cable directly between the remote head and radio using the remoterigs. 
I have an IC-7410 and would purchase another if I could accomplish the same thing with them.  The IC-7100 is not yet available here but I understand that it will not function on 40 or 80 meters which I need. If it were not for the lack of 40 and 80 the IC-7100 with the detachable control head would be ideal.

73,
Roy WA8YEP 

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2025
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Two IC-7410 with remote rig
« Reply #3 on: 2013-02-15, 20:06:31 »
Hi Roy,

Glad to hear that you have the 2820 running ok.

I am not sure why you heard that the IC-7100 will not function on 40 & 80 meters.
The specs have it as a full HF rig down through 160 meters. See the Icom web site
for full specs:
http://www.icomamerica.com/en/products/amateur/hf/7100/default.aspx

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2561
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Two IC-7410 with remote rig
« Reply #4 on: 2013-02-16, 13:05:42 »
Hi

It's not possible  to make Icom twin , because of the multifunction displays, menus etc.

73 de mike

KB8CR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • IC-7100 and IC-706 on RRC's
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Two IC-7410 with remote rig
« Reply #5 on: 2013-03-12, 23:41:04 »
My question is simpler...... If I were using the remoterig with an Icom-7410 and HRD to control the radio, will I be able to use a CW paddle at the remote end? Also, will I be able to turn the radio on and off from the remote end?

Thanks,

Charlie KB8BWE

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2561
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Two IC-7410 with remote rig
« Reply #6 on: 2013-03-13, 06:50:12 »
Hi

Yes you can use the paddles with IC-7410, that works with all setups.

ICOM has no Power on/off function in their CI-V protocol so that function must be solved separate. There is outputs in the RRC which can control a relay, but more common is to use a webswitch with 5 relays already built in.

73 de mike

KB8CR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • IC-7100 and IC-706 on RRC's
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Two IC-7410 with remote rig
« Reply #7 on: 2013-03-13, 23:36:32 »
Thanks for the info...... I think this is my next purchase. I was running a FT-817ND with a PAR endfed wire at our Florida condo when on vacation, but they found the thin 26 AWG wire antenna, and cut it down (and sent a nasty letter...they don't allow any antennas). So, looks like I need to go remote to my home QTH. I run mostly CW and some PSK31, so the Icom remote software wouldn't work for me without paddle CW.

Charlie KB8BWE