Author Topic: IC-706 audio pauses over internet  (Read 4626 times)

KB8CR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • IC-7100 and IC-706 on RRC's
    • View Profile
    • Email
IC-706 audio pauses over internet
« on: 2013-08-07, 05:03:53 »
I am testing my IC706 over the net from our FLA QTH. The ping times are good at both ends, and I have videoconferenced with my XYL from here to the home QTH with no delays..... but on the 706, the audio seems to pause every 5-8 seconds. When tuning, it also seems to jitter sometimes. On SSB, it's bearable, but for CW it's very hard. I increased the jitter buffer at the Control end, as high as 15, but no help. Any suggestions?

Both ends have 20+ Mbps down/ 2 Mbps up.

Thanks

Charlie KB8CR/4 (for the next week).

KB8CR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • IC-7100 and IC-706 on RRC's
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-706 audio pauses over internet
« Reply #1 on: 2013-08-07, 07:21:14 »
It appears to be the wifi adapter. With Ethernet cable plugged in, it works perfectly. Now the wifi will not connect at all.

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2447
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: IC-706 audio pauses over internet
« Reply #2 on: 2013-08-07, 13:45:33 »
Hi, set your WiFi accespoint to a fixed mode A, B etc. some accesspoint periodically test the different modes and make an interuption while testing

/Mike

EA5WA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-706 audio pauses over internet
« Reply #3 on: 2013-08-07, 13:53:00 »
I have the same problem with my ic-706. At the remote site, the remoterig is connected to the router using a Nanostation M2. The Status page is like that, but I almost always have audio microcuts that make cw operation imposible:

Radio   ON
Connection status   OK
SIP status   Connected/transfering
Last SIP error   None
RTP status   Excellent(60)
UDP cmd status   OK(34)
SIP command timeout   0
Rx Jitter buffer size   8
Rx Jitter delay   6
Dual Rx   0
Current audio packet size   10
Current audio quality   0 - alaw 8 kHz
SIP Out port   5061
SIP In port   5061
Audio Out port   11000
Audio In port   11000
Command Out port   12000
Command In port   12000
External SIP In port   5061
External Audio In port   11000
External Cmd In port   12000
Other party   83.231.77.139
Input 1   High
Input 2   High
Output 0   Low
Output 1   Low
Output 2   Low
Dynamic DNS status   Unknown
Ping status (watchdog)   Off
DNS status   Querying status
Active profile:   Default
PTT status:   OFF
73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos

EA5WA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-706 audio pauses over internet
« Reply #4 on: 2013-08-07, 13:57:14 »
I forgot mention that at the remote side I also have a PC using the same connection. In this PC I can browse over internet very nice way. No problems with youtube videos and so on.

73's from EA5EXK Juan Carlos
73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos

KB8CR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • IC-7100 and IC-706 on RRC's
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-706 audio pauses over internet
« Reply #5 on: 2013-08-07, 15:38:38 »
My wifi is only G & N. I can accesss the RRC-Control webpage just fine. But when I try to turn the radio on, I get the flashing yellow light.

Charlie KB8CR

KB8CR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • IC-7100 and IC-706 on RRC's
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-706 audio pauses over internet
« Reply #6 on: 2013-08-07, 16:03:29 »
Under status, I get the following:

Name Value
Control panel OFF
Radio OFF
Connection status Disconnected
SIP status Unknown(1)
Last SIP error SIP Error
RTP/UDP audio status Disconnected
UDP cmd status Disconnected
SIP command timeout 4
Rx Jitter buffer size 5
Rx Jitter delay 4
Dual Rx 0
SIP Out port 13000
SIP In port 13000
Audio Out port 0
Audio In port 0
Command Out port 0
Command In port 13002
External SIP In port 13000
External Audio In port 13001
External Cmd In port 13002
Other party  xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (I blanked this out)
Input 0 High
Input 1 High
Input 2 High
Output 0 High
Output 1 Low
Output 2 Low
DNS status Error, failed to resolve remoterig.com! (Is THIS the problem ?????)
Active profile: Default
PTT status: OFF

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2447
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: IC-706 audio pauses over internet
« Reply #7 on: 2013-08-07, 16:19:18 »
if the yellow led blinks the Control-RRC can not reach the Radio-RRC. This is beacuse either the SIP contact IP or the SIP port number is wrong. DNS error is a problem but not as long as you have both on the same LAN. As long as you have them on the same LAN you should use IP-addresses not DNS hostnames. To solve the DNS error, check what DNS IP your PC have got from your router and enter the same in the RRC.

/mike

KB8CR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • IC-7100 and IC-706 on RRC's
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-706 audio pauses over internet
« Reply #8 on: 2013-08-07, 16:32:08 »
When I first arrived here to Florida (the Radio RRC is in Ohio)....it was working ok on wifi using DHCP, except for the pauses in audio. NOW, I cannot even connect to the radio rrc with wifi..... only Ethernet.
I tried to enter a static IP on the Control RRC using the same IP that the router gave me 10.0.0.5, same subnet, and used their DNS server (like I had on my PC here). No good.
Charlie

KB8CR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • IC-7100 and IC-706 on RRC's
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-706 audio pauses over internet
« Reply #9 on: 2013-08-07, 18:00:49 »
OK.....I got back to where I can use it with wifi (I inadvertently blocked the wifi on the router  :o). But the pause is still there except when using Ethernet connection. The only settings on the wifi are to chose between b/g/n and g/n.

I am in the same room as the wifi router. But the pauses persist.
 :(
Charlie KB8CR

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2447
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: IC-706 audio pauses over internet
« Reply #10 on: 2013-08-07, 18:46:01 »
OK There is nothing you can do in the RRC, test with an other router or separate access point. But first check that you have the latest firmware in the router.

/mike
« Last Edit: 2013-08-07, 18:47:48 by sm2o »

KB8CR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • IC-7100 and IC-706 on RRC's
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-706 audio pauses over internet
« Reply #11 on: 2013-08-07, 19:26:48 »
I have the newest firmware. Guess I'll have use Ethernet connection