Author Topic: IC-7100  (Read 14411 times)

Pedro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Email
IC-7100
« on: 2013-08-22, 00:42:10 »
Hi,

just finish the IC-7100 config using two "black boxes", one with the Radio (remote) and the other with the Controler (client side). In fact was an easy setup guided by the manual but wonder how to reach the remote site using the RRC-Micro client with such a configuration?

When CI-V setup for ICOM radios is used there's no limitation to connect with either the RRC-1258 control box (at home) or the RRC-Micro (while traveling).

IC-7100 has a function that enables the radio ON even without the Controller attached (locally or remotely) but in this case should be used "Program mode 1 - ICOM CI-V" instead of "Program mode 2 - IC-7100" if the ideia is using the RRC-Micro client or there's another way to use the RRC-Micro with this new rig?

One advantage of getting the Controller at the client side, beasides the "real feel", is the capability to power the radio on/off  but wonder if there is a way to power on/off remotely even without the Controller while using the RRC-Micro.

Any ideas?

Thanks
Pedro

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2431
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: IC-7100
« Reply #1 on: 2013-08-22, 07:41:44 »
ICOM has for first time implementet commands to make it possible to remotely switch on/off the radio via the CI-V protocol. Unfortunately they have not implemented the command in thier own RS-BA1 yet, I don't know if it's implemented in the Hamradio De Luxe. We will consider sending the command from the RRC when connecting with RRC-Micro but we have not had time to look at it yet.

73 de mike

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-7100
« Reply #2 on: 2013-08-22, 20:18:24 »
Hi Mike & Pedro,
Like I wrote you private also HRD doesn't work either, in the free version you can use the IC700 and change the address
but the radio has to be ON b4 it works. I made a rigdriver for DX4WIN that switch the radio ON when I start the program but this is done via the CIV(with converter to rs232) or USB connector.
RRC Client can be setup with the IC7100 and all seems to be ok except it doesn't switch ON
This is normal since you need to send At 19200 baud the following
FEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFE88E01801FD to switch IC-7100 ON and
FEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFEFE88E01800FD to switch IC-7100 OFF
I tried several combination with cat to com2  and logical with com0 etc but never succeeded to get a connection (com2 led polls) but guess this is due the difference in baudrate com0 =38k4 and IC7100 is max 19k2.
So its up to the programmers to add ON/OFF selection in the control panel of the RRC CLIENT where the user needs to fill in these 2 lines. Why? I guess there will be other brands that might consider to add the on/off cmd via CAT then you don't need to add it again just fill in the command.

Guy ON4AOI     



Pedro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-7100
« Reply #3 on: 2013-08-26, 00:39:40 »
Mike, Guy,

many thanks for all the info concerning the radio on/off remote capability.

Still wonder how should I connect the RRC-micro with this rig, should I use COM0 "mode 2 -ICOM CI-V"?

(if yes, should I use the General CI-V hardware configuration and  Radio Settings- Program "mode-1-ICOM CI-V" in the RRC remote box?)

Thanks
Pedro

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-7100
« Reply #4 on: 2013-08-26, 06:32:01 »
Pedro I can connect with com0 set to ICOM CI-V but that still doesn't switch on the RIG
for that we have to wait untill they add this in the RRC RADIO BOX or RRC client software

Guy ON4AOI

Pedro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-7100
« Reply #5 on: 2013-08-31, 01:33:18 »
Hi Guy,

turning tranceiver ON /OFF via remote using CI-V command, as you sugested, worked ok. In my case I used FEx13 for 9600 baud rate (FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE 88 E0 18 01 FD and FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE 88 E0 18 00 FD). To send the commands I used my Log CI-V funtions (Logger32).

The big problem problem I faced was that I was not able to TURN ON the radio when the remote CI-V jack is in use by another device like MICROHAM...if I remove the plug radio turns ON but not if the plug is in!!!. When radio is ON everything works fine even if I use CI-V remote jack with other devices. Do you have an idea why this happens?

Concerning RRC-micro it works fine with IC-7100 with general CI-V remoterig configuration just like any other Icom model.

best 73s
Pedro

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-7100
« Reply #6 on: 2013-08-31, 09:12:04 »
Hi Pedro,
This looks to be a bigger problem then I thought there is now.

If I understand it correct you have connected the IC-7100
via both RRC radio and control,
you have also connected via USB on the IC7100 radiobox to a PC
and the CI-V connector on the ic7100 radiobox to a microham device.

Is this correct ?

Guy ON4AOI
 

Pedro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-7100
« Reply #7 on: 2013-08-31, 11:03:16 »
Hi Guy,

that's it.

I'm using the radio USB connection to the computer to run the RS-BA1 or HRD to control the Radio and also to turn it ON/OFF (using Logger32 app for the CI-V "direct command").

At the same time I have a MicroHam device to do DIGI modes that needs CI-V remote line from the radio ....and the problem is when it's connected I'm not able to turn ON the radio via USB port (which also has CI-V). In fact CI-V remote jack is also shared by remoterig TTL line/cable that is connected and is not a problem when I execute the CI-V command to turn the radio ON).

Thanks
Pedro


ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-7100
« Reply #8 on: 2013-08-31, 13:17:31 »
Pedro, try this out
don't use the USB connector but only the CI-V with the Microham device,
in case you use a MKII you have 2 cat ports so one for RS-BA1 or HRD and one logger32 or digital program
if it is a USB III Interface you have only 1 comport  but you can make a bridge /cables in the Device Router

Guy

Pedro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-7100
« Reply #9 on: 2013-08-31, 16:42:11 »
Hi Guy,

I've tried that but still not working  :-[

I'n using the DK II it has 2 cat ports.

Just set the 2nd cat port for the job and I could see the command being sent in the Microham CAT comunication window (message example: 0336564388:  H2-TX: (discarded)  FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE FE 88 E0 18 01 FD)....but radio doesn't go alive!

If you find out or have any other ideia will be much apreciated.

Regards,
Pedro

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-7100
« Reply #10 on: 2013-08-31, 21:28:16 »
Hi Pedro,
did some tests also.
For some strange reason I can only use the USB connection to switch the radio ON/OFF but not via the CIV plug now.
Probably this means that the USB connection is powered (standard) via the PC and can do the on/off cmd
and that the CIV port is only powered when the radio is ON.

I have MKII and USBIII interfaces in use but infact you don't need them for digital modes because the IC-7100 has a very good audio codec build in.

For Mike and Jan this is very imported to know.

Know there are 2 possibilties to switch on the IC700
the ON cmd sended via com0

or

Hardware option, between both RRC BOXES 
The radio switches on when pin2 of the control cable between head and radio box is grounded (see remoterig manual page 102) so it might work if they setup that one of the I/O (fets inside radio RRC) switches pin2 (Power switch) to gnd when the RRC Micro Pc clients connect to the RRC RADIO BOX, after he is on you have the CIV working.   

Guy ON4AOI

Pedro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-7100
« Reply #11 on: 2013-09-01, 00:54:27 »
Hello Guy,

ok, you must be right concerning CI-V port. Still do not understand why when CI-V remote port is used by Microham the ON command  does not even work via USB port.

Hoppe hardware option, between both RRC BOXES  or RRC Micro Pc client, can overcame this issue  :)

Thanks for your help and patience trying to solve this out!

73
Pedro

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-7100
« Reply #12 on: 2013-09-01, 06:39:53 »
Maybe because baudrates are different, com0 is at 38k4and max baudrate USB and CIV are 19k2

Guy ON4AOI

KB8CR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • IC-7100 and IC-706 on RRC's
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-7100
« Reply #13 on: 2013-09-07, 06:46:14 »
Using HRD with the USB connection, I can turn the radio OFF, but I can't turn it on again.
My question is, will the Micro RRC work on the 7100 with the control head removed (that is, set up with the Control RRC for use elsewhere)  like the TS480?

Charlie KB8CR

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC-7100
« Reply #14 on: 2013-09-09, 08:16:44 »
Hi Charlie, paid version of HRD ?
about your question it should be normally working like you ask
but RRC CLIENT needs to take care of the ON/OFF function
and probably the best solution is via hardware and not software
when you ground pin2 of the cat6 cable between radio and head
the radio gets ON, nomatter if the head is connected.

Guy ON4AOI