Author Topic: RR DDNS Database not working for me  (Read 13577 times)

n6xi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Email
RR DDNS Database not working for me
« on: 2013-08-28, 06:58:26 »
I followed the instructions on pages 58-59 of Rev. A32 of the manual "Remoterig dynamic dns service" to set up the Dynamic DNS settings page of my Remote RRC." I got an Own host name string of xxxxxxxx.ddns.remoterig.com and a Username and Password. When I attempt to use this string as the SIP contact string on the Control RRC, it fails to connect. If I use the actual external IP address, the RRCs connect and function properly. Using the Web site ddns status tester, I get "xxxxxxxx not found!" Is the xxxxxxxx... string formed locally? If so, how do I get it into the database? What might I be doing wrong?

Thanks & 73,
Rick N6XI

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2506
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: RR DDNS Database not working for me
« Reply #1 on: 2013-08-28, 07:22:44 »
Hi check your status page in the Radio-RRC, I guess you will see that the DNS  fails and the DNS function need to work otherwise the DDNS will not be updated. Probably the DNS ip number is not correct.

The DDNS databas post for your RRC will be created automatically when the RRC connect, you do not need to do any manual registration

73 de mike

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1883
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: RR DDNS Database not working for me
« Reply #2 on: 2013-08-28, 11:27:39 »
Rick,

You can also verify when it last updated at: http://ddns.remoterig.com/status/

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

n6xi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RR DDNS Database not working for me
« Reply #3 on: 2013-08-28, 16:44:52 »
Mike, the DNS status page for the Remote RRC reports "OK, remoterig.com = 193.202.110.185"

Mitch, http://ddns.remoterig.com/status/ reports only "xxxxxxxx not found!"

/Rick

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1883
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: RR DDNS Database not working for me
« Reply #4 on: 2013-08-28, 17:45:59 »
Hi Rick,

This is another tool that you can use to determine when a problem began to occur,
since the RRC messages are sometimes cryptic. In your case, it indicates that it
never worked to begin with.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2506
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: RR DDNS Database not working for me
« Reply #5 on: 2013-08-28, 20:29:21 »
email me ip and login to your Radio-RRC so we can look at it

/mike

EA5WA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RR DDNS Database not working for me
« Reply #6 on: 2013-10-06, 16:59:01 »
I have the same problem. Everything is ok with dyndns, but with RR DDNS doesn't work.

At the DDNS remoterig status web, appears updated in August 2012, but since then, my IP has changed, but this change is not updated (I don't know why).

73's
73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2506
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: RR DDNS Database not working for me
« Reply #7 on: 2013-10-06, 17:05:29 »
It's because your RRC have not updated the DDNS database. Probably because the DNS ip is wrong if you look at the status page in the Radio-RRC you will probably see the reason.

/mike

EA5WA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RR DDNS Database not working for me
« Reply #8 on: 2013-10-06, 18:25:30 »
Thanks Mike:

I tried with several DNS IP's and with the same result with all of them.

If the DNS IP was wrong, I vas be able to connect with dyndns? Why is everything OK with dyndns and not with Remoterig DDNS?
73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2506
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: RR DDNS Database not working for me
« Reply #9 on: 2013-10-06, 18:53:12 »
You do not say what the status page says

/mike

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1883
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: RR DDNS Database not working for me
« Reply #10 on: 2013-10-06, 19:26:44 »
Also let us know if you are using a fixed internal IP address, or DHCP. I think I have found a
bug with fixed IP addresses and DNS servers, so I can let Mike know and give you a work
around if this is the case. If you are using DHCP, then I guess you have a router problem.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

EA5WA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RR DDNS Database not working for me
« Reply #11 on: 2013-10-06, 22:14:30 »
You don't say what status page do you want to know (Radio side or Control side) and you don't answer to my last two questions...

Thanks Mitch: I'm using fix internal IP in both sides...I can try DHCP at control side, but I can't try it at Radio side because I'm using DMZ.

Thanks
73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos

EA5WA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RR DDNS Database not working for me
« Reply #12 on: 2013-10-06, 22:16:57 »
At control side at have this:

Control panel   OFF
Radio   OFF
Connection status   Disconnected
SIP status   Idle
Last SIP error   None
RTP/UDP audio status   Disconnected
UDP cmd status   Disconnected
SIP command timeout   0
Rx Jitter buffer size   8
Rx Jitter delay   6
Dual Rx   0
SIP Out port   5061
SIP In port   5061
Audio Out port   0
Audio In port   0
Command Out port   0
Command In port   12000
External SIP In port   5061
External Audio In port   13000
External Cmd In port   12000
Other party   0.0.0.0
Input 0   High
Input 1   High
Input 2   High
Output 0   Low
Output 1   Low
Output 2   Low
DNS status   OK, g97p2olp.ddns.remoterig.com = 79.159.158.135
Active profile:   Default
PTT status:   OFF

But this IP is not my external IP at the moment...may be is the last updated IP
73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2506
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: RR DDNS Database not working for me
« Reply #13 on: 2013-10-06, 22:18:16 »
I wrote Radio-RRC

Mike

EA5WA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RR DDNS Database not working for me
« Reply #14 on: 2013-10-06, 22:24:17 »
Radio Side (now working with dyndns.org):
Radio   ON
Connection status   OK
SIP status   Connected/transfering
Last SIP error   None
RTP status   Excellent(60)
UDP cmd status   OK(35)
SIP command timeout   0
Rx Jitter buffer size   8
Rx Jitter delay   6
Dual Rx   0
Current audio packet size   40
Current audio quality   0 - alaw 8 kHz
SIP Out port   5061
SIP In port   5061
Audio Out port   13000
Audio In port   13000
Command Out port   12000
Command In port   12000
External SIP In port   5061
External Audio In port   13000
External Cmd In port   12000
Other party   83.231.74.39
Input 1   High
Input 2   High
Output 0   Low
Output 1   Low
Output 2   Low
Dynamic DNS status   Unknown
Ping status (watchdog)   Off
DNS status   Querying status
Active profile:   Default
PTT status:   OFF
73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos