Author Topic: Motorola  (Read 4132 times)

KD4BBM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Email
Motorola
« on: 2010-04-20, 03:23:05 »
I think this product might have some great public safety applications.  Has anyone tried to interface it to a Motorola CDM1250 mobile radio?  They do have an option for a detachable faceplate, so I would think it's possible.  If not via that connector, there is a connector on the back with many options included.  The details of this accessory connector are available here:  http://batlabs.com/htpro.html

If this radio can be remoted, I think it could have many applications in the public safety world.  We have a closed network and these devices could let us deploy radios at facilities all over our coverage area. 

If you have attempted to connect to any Motorola product, please let me know.

Thanks,
Ray KD4BBM

Ubbe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Motorola
« Reply #1 on: 2010-05-07, 08:33:54 »
RemoteRig isn't reliable enough to be used in a professional enviroment, at least not my units.

After 5-10 hours the connection dies and using autoconnect it comes up again after 30 seconds. In the older firmware I had to manually start the connection again.

Even using constant RTP but not having any audio going over the connection will disconnect the units even quicker.
Something seems to happen after a couple of days as the yellow light flash and the only cure is to power off and on the units. At that point it resets itself when I try to login to either unit using web interface or USB so it's not possible to check the status and see why it wont connect.

It becomes more reliable with each firmware upgrade so hopefully we only have to wait for a while to get something that can compete with the professional units that costs 5-10 times more.

Ubbe.

HB9AZT

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Motorola
« Reply #2 on: 2010-05-08, 12:36:32 »
I think this wasn't a problem of the remoterig boxes. I had some of them running in a permanent link over weeks, no interruptions, no fadeouts of connection. Most of the problems are caused by the internet itself or access-gear like modems or routers. Nevertheless I would never suggest to base emergency relevant communications on internet-links only. They are to much dependable of an undamaged and running public infrastructure eg. electricity, wiring, internet providers and net load could also be a problem in emergency situations.

73 de Mark, HB9AZT


KD4BBM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Motorola
« Reply #3 on: 2010-10-10, 05:02:06 »
Thanks for the replies, but I'm really looking for feedback about compatibility with Motorola radios.  I can handle the reliability issues.

Has anyone used the remoterig system to remote a Motorola commercial radio, for example, the CDM1250?

Thanks

VK3ZFS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Motorola
« Reply #4 on: 2010-10-10, 08:15:28 »
It sounds you need a 4 wire send receive with keying
you could use the remote rig boxes in transperent 4 wire mode, the PTT and Mute lines can be send over the keyer I/O ports
just need to run VLAN or IPSEC network for your base and remote location radio location.
Im using a pair of remote rig boxes over a 3G link at my remote HF Station

If your happy to pay more (my research found 6 times) than a pair of remote rig boxes, you can use carrier VoIP grade boxes, we have used them at work for a 4 wire E&M PBX link
http://voip.alloy.com.au/docs/MVPrange.pdf

Multi VoIP Brand boxes are a clone of a pair of remote rig boxes

73s
Frank VK3ZFS


sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2569
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Motorola
« Reply #5 on: 2010-10-10, 11:08:49 »
If it's ok with the Mic and speaker levels as they are you can use the MkII as it is mode 11.

just to transfer audio and data, there is no special support for motorola

There is also a balanced 4 wire interface that we sell for commerical use. Mounted from factory.

They are used in lot of commercial setups so the reliability is nothing to worry about.

73 de mike

KD4BBM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Motorola
« Reply #6 on: 2011-06-18, 21:47:15 »
I have looked at the 2 and 4 wire options.  A couple SIP boxes in hotline mode could give me 2 wire for less than $100.  4 wire with E&M is much more of course.  But I need to see the CDM radio display remotely.  Tone remotes are okay for up to 8 channels, but these radios can support 128. Being able to see the display is a big help. Their control panel can be separated with a simple RJ48 cable so my hope was you had a product that did for the Motorola CDM what it does for the ham rigs.  I'm sure the pinouts are different, but on that same connector is everything the head needs to work remotely.  The principal must be similar.  If you are interested in developing a commercial version, let me know by email.  I may be able to arrange manuals and a radio to prototype with.  ray@rayvaughan.com.

Thanks