Author Topic: SIP/Audio out Ports changing on Radio end Normal?  (Read 6134 times)

WA7HJV

• View Profile
    • Email
SIP/Audio out Ports changing on Radio end Normal?
« on: 2014-01-11, 14:43:11 »
Greetings,

I am fairly new to RR ops, have only been on for about 6 weeks so this may have been covered before but I haven't found it on the forum.
I never noticed before but the SIP out and Audio out changes ports on each connection on the Radio end. Is this normal? Below are a couple screen shots of my Radio RRC status. The photo is with Status: Disconnected and the last two are with Status: Connected.

Thank you in advance for any info.

Jack WA7HJV

sm2o

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: SIP/Audio out Ports changing on Radio end Normal?
« Reply #1 on: 2014-01-11, 14:48:05 »
Yes that's normal. It's your routers who map the ports to different port numbers, but it's normal some routers do others do not

/mike

WA7HJV

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: 2014-01-11, 14:52:43 »
Mike,

Thank you for the info. I have another question.  I now have a good solid internet connection on both ends, minimum of 10MB Down and 4MB up but I still have breaks in RX audio and sometimes lose packets on XMIT audio. Do you see anything in my settings that I could change to improve this condition?

Thank You

WA7HJV

sm2o

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: 2014-01-11, 15:01:18 »
As you allready have increased the jitter buffer sizes and set audio q to 0 there is not much more you can do in the RRC:s you have to find the source of the interupts. Bad modems, phonelines etc. In worst case it's the ISP and then it's difficult.

73 de mike

WA7HJV

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #4 on: 2014-01-11, 15:09:30 »
Ok. Thanks for the help Mike!

K9SO

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: 2014-02-22, 12:22:05 »
Mike,

I operate the IC-706 over a NC to Chicago Internet link. Two different cable ISPs (Comcast and Time-Warner).