Author Topic: K3/0 vs TS-480 & Mix-W  (Read 2340 times)

4Z4OQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Email
K3/0 vs TS-480 & Mix-W
« on: 2014-01-13, 13:53:43 »
Hi

I got RRC with TS-480 + KPA500 for more than a year now and all works great. As for Logging' CAT, AFSK, RTTY I am working with MixW which I found great local support for it from several 4X hams. The computer is connected via the RRC com to the 480 radio com port.

I am considering getting  K3 & K0 and I can see the control between them is via the K3 com 232 port. Is this means I will need to give up the MixW software

Ziv - 4Z4OQ

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1769
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: K3/0 vs TS-480 & Mix-W
« Reply #1 on: 2014-01-13, 14:54:08 »
Hi Ziv,

In any "Twin" configuration (K3 or Yaesu), just set COM1 to mode-6 or mode-7 and pull the CAT signal off of COM1.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

4Z4OQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: K3/0 vs TS-480 & Mix-W
« Reply #2 on: 2014-01-13, 21:15:17 »
Hi Mitch

Long time... Not sure I follow you... Isnt the K0 connected to com 1? Where do I connect the 232 from my computer?

Ziv 

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1769
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: K3/0 vs TS-480 & Mix-W
« Reply #3 on: 2014-01-13, 21:21:26 »
Hi Ziv,

No, the connection between the RRC's  is through COM2. Therefore, you must use COM1 from your computer.

We are at the airport waiting for our flight back to Munich after almost six weeks in
Florida. I am waayyyyy behind on my personal mails if anyone is wondering why I
haven't answered in weeks.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

4Z4OQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: K3/0 vs TS-480 & Mix-W
« Reply #4 on: 2014-01-14, 18:54:30 »
Hi Mitch
hope you had a good filght back to Munich. As for your reply i am still in the dark..

So.. The the K0 is connected to com2 at the local rrc and remote rrc com 2 is connected to the K3 rs232.

Now my computer will connect to com1 at the local rrc. The remote rrc com2 i need to connect to the k3 rs232 but it is connected to com1 allready... :-\

ziv

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1769
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: K3/0 vs TS-480 & Mix-W
« Reply #5 on: 2014-01-14, 18:58:20 »
Hi Ziv,

Thanks, we made it back ok. It snowed today to welcome us back.

Look at the manual again: I wrote you before to use mode-6 or mode-7 on COM1. This just
"copies" all the CAT information from COM2 over to COM1 in parallel and allows you to use
the PC for software control.

Is this clear now?

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

4Z4OQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: K3/0 vs TS-480 & Mix-W
« Reply #6 on: 2014-01-19, 14:42:48 »
Hi Mitch

Ok.. I think I got it ;-)

Now need to get the $$ amount to bring it in :-)

Thanks agn!!