Author Topic: K3 twin - power on - and more  (Read 9931 times)

TF3CY

• View Profile
K3 twin - power on - and more
« on: 2014-08-28, 01:45:09 »
Hi there

I just got a RRC-1258MkIIs and I'm connecting to a K3 in remote mode with a full blown K3/100 as the control unit.

I have been reading as much as I can - I have been unable to turn on the remote K3.

- I have access to the remote RRC - shows radio off / disconnected state. Other party shows my IP in status.

- Do I have to do anything to my control K3- terminal mode ?  - if so - how do I turn it on ? (google is not helping me!)
- Can I issue a "turn on" using the telnet server on the remote site ?

and further - is there any documentation on the telnet interface of the RRC ? (being a Cisco network engineer I like console access!)

73, Benni TF3CY

dj0qn

• View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: K3 twin - power on - and more
« Reply #1 on: 2014-08-28, 05:59:25 »
Benni,

The system uses hardware to turn the remote K3 on, not software! You must have the cable between the K3's
ACC jack and the RRC's I/O jack. Assuming your RRC settings are correct, it should work just fine.

A common problem is that the people forget to change both K3's CAT baud rate to match that of the RRC's COM0
baud rate. I suggest here you use 9600 instead of 38400 as indicated in the manual for all four devices.

To use terminal mode, just hold down the menu button longer until it turns on. This is covered in the Elecraft manual.
Assuming the settings are correct, the RRC will give a connect beep and the remote K3 will turn on.

The Microbit guys will have to give you information on Telnet. I am not masochistic enough to know that stuff well  ;)

Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

sm2o

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: 2014-08-28, 08:00:41 »