Author Topic: Looking for some Beta Testers soon...  (Read 6457 times)

w1ve

• View Profile
Looking for some Beta Testers soon...
« on: 2015-03-16, 16:55:51 »
Hello RemoteRig fans....

I'm a software engineer, and an avid user of RemoteRig.  I've been working on a ham project, and it should be ready for beta testing in 1-2 weeks.

As a Remote user, you are aware that their are various front panels that are detachable, and can be made remote using RemoteRig and RS-232.

However, what if I want to control a TS-480 from a K3/0 Mini?   Or a TenTec Omni 7 from a TS480?
Impossible, right?  Not so. 

These radios interoperate using the standard CAT protocols provided by their manufacturers.

What I'm building is a real-time CAT translator.   In it's initial release, it will support full VFO/RIT/XIT and some subset of other controls.   Later on, I'll support a macro language, which will allow you to convert certain commands proprietary to one manufacturer into a command for another.
Out of the box, this will support over 60 radios, including Icom, Kenwood, Yaesu, Elecraft, Ten Tec and many others.

Of course, it will be free.

At the remote end, you would need two physical serial ports on your PC.   One goes to RemoteRig, the other Goes to the front panel (or PC software) of choice.  Connecting these two ports will be my software in the middle.  Translation will be real-time in both directions.

What I'd like from you guys is to gauge interest.   Would any of you be interested in this capability?
In the next few weeks, I'll be looking for some beta testers.  If you are interested in being part of that, please send me a private email at gerry AT w1ve.com.

73, Gerry W1VE

SA6BOL

• View Profile
Re: Looking for some Beta Testers soon...
« Reply #1 on: 2015-03-16, 21:50:58 »
Hello Gerry,