Author Topic: IC-706 will not power up  (Read 2208 times)

W8RID

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
IC-706 will not power up
« on: 2015-02-13, 21:34:43 »
Installing the RRC-1258 MKII. Been following the directions and everything going fine until right now.
Got to step 12 in the Step by step system setup and cannot get the IC-706 (using separation cable and head) to power up.

Can see both units on in my web browser. Can configure both units from my web browser.
The cable for the radio body (Separation and cat 5) will power up the radio and it works fine when not plugged into the RRC-1258 MKII.
When you separate them and plug the body part of the 706 into into the I/O port on the back of the control box and plug the head into the I/O port of the Radio box then hit the power button on the 706 head nothing happens.

I'm hoping that there is someone out there with a similar setup that can help me out.

I've been following the directions very carefully and have found a couple issues with them. Missing steps and mis-worded steps.

So far I cannot find and exact wiring diagram for using the IC-706 and the RRC-1258 MKII that shows me what cable to plug into what plug. Kinda frustrating.

Help.

Bob
 :-[
 
Bob
W8RID

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2621
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: IC-706 will not power up
« Reply #1 on: 2015-02-13, 21:45:07 »
You should not connect to the I/O port you should connect to the MIC/AUX connector

73 de mike

W8RID

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: IC-706 will not power up
« Reply #2 on: 2015-02-14, 00:14:04 »
Mike:

Thanks. We did that shortly after posting my question. (Don't know why we didn't think of that sooner)

Everything seems to be working fine right now.

We will finish up at the remote site tomorrow.

Bob
Bob
W8RID

W8RID

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: IC-706 will not power up
« Reply #3 on: 2015-02-14, 00:16:14 »
Mike:

You wouldn't happen to know why the IC706 puts out 100w when not connected to Remote Rig but only puts out approx 55w when connected to Remote Rig??

So far that is the one quirk we have found.

Bob
Bob
W8RID

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2621
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: IC-706 will not power up
« Reply #4 on: 2015-02-14, 00:19:45 »
There is no such relation, if you set 100W on the IC-706 settings it's 100 W. Remoterig have no influence on that.

/mike