Author Topic: Cannot get public access  (Read 3699 times)

N9RC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Cannot get public access
« on: 2015-03-28, 13:09:06 »
I have a new Webswitch 1216H  configuration 192.168.1.236 port 80.  It operates fine on local LAN.  I have a Netgear N600 router configured for port 80 pass through to the 1216H address.  I have been trying to use my public IP address to access(It has been static).  All I get get is time outs.  I am trying to access from W7 Firefox browser on local LAN.  I have also tried remote through Android Gingerbread phone same result.  Any ideas?

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Cannot get public access
« Reply #1 on: 2015-03-28, 13:11:44 »
Likely your router also uses port 80 to access, so I suggest you change the port of the Webswitch from
port 80 to something else and forward that port 1:1. Just a hunch that that may solve your problem.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

N9RC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot get public access
« Reply #2 on: 2015-03-28, 13:45:35 »
I switched to port 85.  Same result.  OK local LAN, no connection through router.  I am typing in my public IP address.
50.X.XXX.XXX:85 and that always times out.  If I type 192.168.1.236:85 OK

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Cannot get public access
« Reply #3 on: 2015-03-28, 14:59:56 »
Looks like a problem with the router in its port forwarding. Try a trick and place it in the DMZ instead
and see if that helps. There are a number of settings that can screw it up and DMZ gets around most
of them. If that works, you can always switch it back to a port forward and find the problem.

Remember not to do both, only one or the other!

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX
« Last Edit: 2015-03-28, 15:01:45 by dj0qn »

N9RC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot get public access
« Reply #4 on: 2015-03-28, 16:10:33 »
DMZ same result.  I will try a different router later today.  For failed test I used "find ip" to find  my public IP address.  Added colon 85 for port and entered in browser.  I have tripled checked setup.    I assume I don't have to use ddns for addressing?

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Cannot get public access
« Reply #5 on: 2015-03-28, 16:14:43 »
You can use either your external IP address or the dynamic DNS address, either one works.
You can verify the external IP address in the WAN status section of your router, or use
your PC to go to http://www.whatismyip.com/

It could indeed be the case that you are not using the correct external IP address, so double
check that first before replacing the router. I assume that the ISP was not changed, only the
router. Otherwise, it could be another problem when I could point you to.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

N9RC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot get public access
« Reply #6 on: 2015-03-29, 16:05:58 »
I am now focused on my Westell 6100 DSL modem.  It apparently is combination modem and basic router with port forwarding control.  I believe my outside access is being stopped there.  Will be talking to my ISP.  Has anyone had similar issue?

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Cannot get public access
« Reply #7 on: 2015-03-29, 16:08:40 »
I have fixed a similar problem for several by doing one of the following:

- Turn off the router's DHCP server to have the modem take this function over (and port forwards). Two DHCP servers will never work (double NAT).
- Or place the router's internal IP address in the modem's DMZ

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX


N9RC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot get public access
« Reply #8 on: 2015-04-04, 01:38:34 »
Problem solved.  I changed my internet modem to a "bridge" type.  Configuration is easy now. :>)

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Cannot get public access
« Reply #9 on: 2015-04-04, 09:26:07 »
Glad to hear it, that is what is what my first suggestion does, turning it into a bridge. Some routers
don't explicitly say bridge mode, so it is easier to say to turn the DHCP server off.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX