Author Topic: SOLVED - Problem getting RR Micro to work...  (Read 1323 times)

W4AFK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Email
SOLVED - Problem getting RR Micro to work...
« on: 2015-07-07, 05:23:43 »
          I have a pair of RR1258 MKII devices for my remote base (Kenwood TS480SAT) and all is working fine. However, when I finally tried to use RR Micro (I bought the HW interface and downloaded the current software, rev 1.70), I get the error message that “No such host is known”.

          - I followed the instructions from the RR website.
          - Note that I use DynDns w/port forwarding being that my remote cable modem is Dynamic. So I tried the following:
          - <DynDns address>:<port>  (ex. W4AFK-DYN.RR.com:999) resulting in the error.
          - Then I tried the direct IP (ex. “111.222.333.444:999”) with the same error.

          My dual RR1258 MKII setup which works fine, uses port 5065 for SIP, 11000 for Audio and 12000 for CMD, so I configured RR Micro with the same parameters.

          By the way, my local RR is not connected to the remote RR when I try to use RR Micro.

          I am open to suggestions as I am certain that I missed one small item somewhere :-)
« Last Edit: 2015-07-08, 13:58:13 by W4AFK »

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2390
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Problem getting RR Micro to work...
« Reply #1 on: 2015-07-07, 06:57:19 »
Hi

You should not set any portnumber together with the DNS hostname or IP address, the port for each service are set separate

73 de mike

W4AFK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Problem getting RR Micro to work...
« Reply #2 on: 2015-07-08, 02:54:46 »
Thank you MIke. I was using the port number to manage the remote RR1258MKii. It's not needed for normal use :-)

SOLVED...

1. I found an old 2011 post which says that ARCP-480 does not work with virtual COM ports. So I loaded HRD 6.x
2. RR1258 (remote) set COM2 to 9600 8n1
3. In RR Micro, I set COM 2 to mode 4 and virtual port 2
4. In HRD, I set COM2 to 9600 8n1 and Kenwood

It now works... However, it took me quite a while to uncover all of this. I highly suggest that you "sticky" messages that instruct users how to configure RR1258, RR-micro and HRD (or other apps) to work. It would save lots of aggravation.

I lost quite a bit of time trying to get ARCP-480 to work. If SOMEWHERE is was clearly noted that this app does not support virtual ports, it would have been great. These new crop of laptops no longer have COM ports :-)
« Last Edit: 2015-07-08, 04:52:02 by W4AFK »