Author Topic: Webswitch 1216H LAN access  (Read 2793 times)

N9RC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Webswitch 1216H LAN access
« on: 2015-12-04, 07:56:23 »
I had the 1216H running fine 6 months ago.  I have reactivated the project after a disc crash with a new router and Windows 10.  Setup seems to run OK.  I uploaded firmware 4.23 and configured the new router port and address.  Ethernet light is blinking on 1216 and router sees 10 MB connection but no identification info.  I also do not see the 1216 on W10 network and cannot access the 1216 through its local network address(or through internet.)  As a side note it seems like there was a program to access via USB. Is this still available?  The configure serial window in setup does not have correct comm ports available. 

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Webswitch 1216H LAN access
« Reply #1 on: 2015-12-04, 08:49:43 »
Yes, by connecting the 1216H to a PC via USB you can use the Setup Manager program found here:

http://www.webswitch.se/wp/?page_id=190

to configure it.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

N9RC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Webswitch 1216H LAN access
« Reply #2 on: 2015-12-04, 15:03:13 »
I am running v 1.28 Setup.  I can upload firmware and setup IP.  Setup does not allow setting correct serial port in W7 or W10.  I cannot access the detail 1216 operating info via USB.

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Webswitch 1216H LAN access
« Reply #3 on: 2015-12-04, 15:34:25 »
So when you are referring to "Setup" you mean the "Microbit Setup Manager" program? I you are able to use it to configure 1216H's network settings then you should be able to 'surf" to it(assuming the settings are valid for your network) If not, have you tried using 'Find devices' from the 'Net info/find' tab in Setup Manager?

What do you mean with 'correct serial port'? Are you trying to configure a virtual serial port using Setup Manager?
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

N9RC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Webswitch 1216H LAN access
« Reply #4 on: 2015-12-04, 17:14:55 »
All the setup functions work and appears to "see" the device on the network.  I am not sure that I need the serial port tab or a virtual address.  My concern was the physical port does not appear n the pull down window. My problem is that I cannot get into the application piece in USB or on local LAN.  I had this all working back in May.  The device was configured then with user and password etc. and worked OK with internet access.  It has been sitting since then.  I have tried different versions of firmware and setup and trieda Windows 7 computer. 

N9RC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Webswitch 1216H LAN access
« Reply #5 on: 2015-12-04, 17:36:47 »
LAN OK now.   I checked DHCP on setup tab.  My LAN IP changed and it works OK.  Still no USB application connect?

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Webswitch 1216H LAN access
« Reply #6 on: 2015-12-05, 05:45:19 »
If the LAN is ok now using DHCP then the settings you used before were not compatible with your network.

Is this:



what you are talking about when mentioning "serial ports"?
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

N9RC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Webswitch 1216H LAN access
« Reply #7 on: 2015-12-05, 16:20:52 »
Yes, that is the pull down. 

Not sure what is going on with the router, but it works fine now.  I can access through the local LAN via setup OK also. 

Should I be able to access the application through USB only?

Thanks for the help.

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Webswitch 1216H LAN access
« Reply #8 on: 2015-12-07, 08:34:41 »
Should I be able to access the application through USB only?
Which application are you referring to?
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

N9RC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Webswitch 1216H LAN access
« Reply #9 on: 2015-12-09, 04:27:44 »
There was a way I used to access the 1216H application "directly" with the USB port and the web application was run.  This is how I originally entered user name and password.  There must have been software I used at the time that I no longer have or I am not seeing this feature in setup.

N9RC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Webswitch 1216H LAN access
« Reply #10 on: 2015-12-09, 04:46:35 »
OK...

I am sorry I did the setup six months ago and may not remember the sequence correctly but I now see user name and password in the IP settings in the LAN setup access. 

All is well.  Thanks.