Author Topic: Error alarm after pushing power button on K3/0-mini  (Read 1854 times)

W4PFM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Using K3/0-mini in FL to conrol K3 at home QTH in VA. The setup has been working quite well. Friday I made 25 QSOs in CQWPX RTTY contest and every thing worked fine. I turned off the rig. This morning I turned on the K3/0-mini and after a short time I got the audio alarm erroer message. This senario happens several times a month. It seems to be happening oftener recentlhy. Could the cold weather have anything to do with it? The fix is to have someone go to the home station and restart the remote site RCC-1258 using microbit. This is getting frustrating. Any one have any suggestions?

VO1HP

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
    • VO1HP
    • Email
Re: Error alarm after pushing power button on K3/0-mini
« Reply #1 on: 2016-02-15, 01:52:25 »
The first suggestion I have is to install at the K3 site a web power bar such as DIGITAL LOGGERS WESWITCH 7 and then you can reboot your Remote Rig box yourself without bothering anybody.  I have complete control of all the Ac and DC powered devices at my remote using this kind of web power bar.

Also I recently had ongoing issues of that alarm and the K3 not turning on...and when it did turn on it likely would shut down a few minutes later.  I discovered that one of the devices connected to my home network which hosts the K3 Mini or one of the many Ethernet cables in my patch panel was causing packet losses on the data streamfrom the remote site....check the STATUS page of your remote site RR box....when you are connected and see if RTP or UDP status is STALLING  and you may see the counters counting down to zero (by continually hitting the STATUS selection page to update the screen)

I removed all devices from my home network and then started from scratch reconnecting things but the issue has not happened for about a week.  I thought for sure that my problem was at the remote site but it was not...it was right here at my control location. 

Frank VO1HP
Frank
VO1HP
K3Mini-K3-RemoteRig

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2597
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Error alarm after pushing power button on K3/0-mini
« Reply #2 on: 2016-02-15, 13:30:36 »
The congestion tone means that the control RRC cannot reach the Radio RRC. Most likely because the public IP-address have changed. Be sure that you have set the check interval to 10 at the Radio-RRC DDNS settings if you have this kind of problem
Yes a remote power switch controlled by SMS or something else than the normal internet connection is a good idea. Be sure to connect the modem and router also to that switch. It's more likely that the router and/or modem need to be restarted than the RRC. 

73 de mike

W4PFM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Error alarm after pushing power button on K3/0-mini
« Reply #3 on: 2016-02-19, 01:41:55 »
The error message I get is

OX0004A84, call by OX0004A8A0

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2597
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Error alarm after pushing power button on K3/0-mini
« Reply #4 on: 2016-02-19, 08:15:49 »
It's not related, nothing to bother about

73 de mike