Author Topic: ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro  (Read 1723 times)

HA0DU Steve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro
« on: 2016-05-23, 18:34:59 »
HI All,

I am trying to use a Remoterig 1274A with a computer, which has Win7 Professional. The radio end is most probably OK, as its owner has used it for about two years.

When I install RRCMicro, I get this error message (see attachment).

I read the previous comments on this topic, and tried to re-install, etc. but the result is always the same, installation stops and no COM ports are available in the Client.

I am not a computer expert, please consider that when you phrase your answer...

73/DX Steve HA0DU

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro
« Reply #1 on: 2016-05-24, 09:41:20 »
Hi,

It seems the virtual com port installation fails and so ftsprapi.dll is not available when the ComOn program needs it.

Which version of RRC-Micro are you trying to install? Have you tried to run the installation as "Administrator"? (Not the same as your user account belonging to the Administrator group)

There should be a log file named either "MicroComInstall32.log" or "MicroComInstall64.log" in a sub directory to the installation folder called "drivers". If so then attach it for me to see,

/Jan
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro
« Reply #2 on: 2016-05-24, 09:44:55 »
You also could include any logs found in the My Document's sub directory "MicrobitLogs".
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

HA0DU Steve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro
« Reply #3 on: 2016-05-24, 12:39:56 »
Dear Jan,

Thank you for your response.

The "About" box shows the following:

RRC-Micro 1.9.2.0
Audio 1274A 2.1.0.0 Firmware 0
RTP 1.2.0

When I did the installation according to the instructions ( 1274A disconnected, install as Admin), the program seemed to install (no error messages at least).
However, somewhere the computer stored the settings, as the newly installed program  comes up with the port settings I did before.
No matter how I set COM 0 (any of the three virtual COM ports), I always get "Request Timeout".
I turned Debug on, however there is no separate debug log, so I send you the one which I have.

73 Steve HA0DU

HA0DU Steve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro
« Reply #4 on: 2016-05-24, 15:02:55 »
Update at 14:57 on May 24.

The reason for "request timeout was that the owner turned off the power at the radio side...
Now that the RRC is operational, I get a "Connected to SIP: ....." message very quickly.
The radio side is an FT-2000 connected via a Microbit RRC-1258-MKII.
Then comes the next problem: I start PCC-2000, and no matter whatever COM port and baud rate I set up, the response is always the same after pushing the COM button: "Failed to connect the COM port."

So we are close, but not there yet...

Steve HA0DU

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro
« Reply #5 on: 2016-05-24, 15:08:00 »
Steve,

I am not following what you mean ;) You started with saying that the installation failed and now you say that it worked? So now your (new) problem is with the use of the virtual COM ports?
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro
« Reply #6 on: 2016-05-24, 15:12:13 »
Aha, you was writing a new post while I was doing that too!

Do you see the virtual Com ports in Device Manager? (See an example in the attached picture)

Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

HA0DU Steve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro
« Reply #7 on: 2016-05-24, 15:21:13 »
Hi Jan,

Oh yes, I am trying to fix whatever I screwed up before...

Yes, I do see the three (COM 2, 3 and 4) virtual COM ports listed in Device Manager.

However, checking features, In General it says This device is working properly, but in Resources it says This device is not using any resources, because there is a problem. Is this something that refers to a problem to be solved?

Steve

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro
« Reply #8 on: 2016-05-24, 15:59:58 »
Not using any resources is probably not a problem. You emailed Mike some screen dumps from the RRC and RRC-Micro settings before, but I did not see any "Serial Settings" screen dump from the radio RRC? That would show if the RRC-Micro configuration is matching the RRC's.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

HA0DU Steve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro
« Reply #9 on: 2016-05-24, 16:35:44 »
Hi Jan,

See the attachment for the settings.

Steve

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro
« Reply #10 on: 2016-05-24, 16:41:06 »
Aha, the RRC is using its COM2 for the radio communication. Then you need to use the "RRC COM2" serial port, "Mode 4" in RRC-Micro, not "RRC COM0". Assign "RRC COM2" to one of the three Microbit Virtual Com ports you have(COM2, 3 or 4) and config PCC-2000 to use that com port.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

HA0DU Steve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro
« Reply #11 on: 2016-05-24, 18:27:08 »
YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!


HA0DU Steve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro
« Reply #12 on: 2016-05-24, 18:38:32 »
Thank you very much for the assistance!

I am sorry to be such a wuss, I am going to make a full description for future reference...

All the best!

Steve HA0DU

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: ftsprapi.dll error in Win7Pro
« Reply #13 on: 2016-05-24, 22:02:13 »
No problem! Glad that you are up and running!  ;D
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.