Author Topic: Addressing multiple radio RRC's  (Read 3141 times)

N8MW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Email
Addressing multiple radio RRC's
« on: 2016-06-06, 11:19:22 »
How do I connect to a specific radio when there are multiple radio RRc's with different LAN IP's?  Each RRC's has its own forwarded port number, but how do I specify the connection in the control RRC?  The address box for the radio RRC (in the control web page) doesn't appear to allow entering the port number as part of the IP address.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2141
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Addressing multiple radio RRC's
« Reply #1 on: 2016-06-06, 16:20:54 »
Use the "Profiles" feature to connect up to five different radio RRC's. See the manual page 44 for details.

The port SIP number is entered under the Advanced Settings, so the SIP Contact only requires the radio's
external IP or Dynamic DNS address not followed by any port number.

You can change the radio RRC's web server port also under Advanced Settings. This port would be used in
the browser following a colon, e.g. :1234.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

N8MW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Addressing multiple radio RRC's
« Reply #2 on: 2016-06-06, 17:25:52 »
Yes, I know how to change the radio RRC port and IP address.  I am not asking how to do that.  I am asking how to connect the control RRC to a specific radio RRC when several are turned on and on the same LAN.  Port forwarding is set up with different port numbers, but how is the address specified in the control RRC to direct to a specific port.  Entering the IP address alone is ambiguous.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2141
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Addressing multiple radio RRC's
« Reply #3 on: 2016-06-06, 17:39:46 »
Sorry, I assumed that you knew that already and wanted to know how to switch between them.

Each RRC must have unique UDP port numbers. Change the default from 13000, 13001 & 13002
to something unique for each RRC. Use the same IP address for each RRC.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

N8MW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Addressing multiple radio RRC's
« Reply #4 on: 2016-06-06, 18:17:52 »
OK, then what address do I enter in the control RRC, in the radio address box, from outside of the LAN?  You can't enter any address like IPAddress:Portno. 

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2141
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Addressing multiple radio RRC's
« Reply #5 on: 2016-06-06, 18:53:05 »
You enter into the SIP Contact field either the external IP address, or the Dynamic DNS address
without a suffix. This IP number stays the same for all (unlimited number of) RRC's.

The port numbers are contained in the Advanced Settings menu.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

N8MW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Addressing multiple radio RRC's
« Reply #6 on: 2016-06-06, 19:55:55 »
OK thanks.  So you have to change all 4 ports in Advanced to switch to a different RRC?

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2141
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Addressing multiple radio RRC's
« Reply #7 on: 2016-06-06, 21:30:51 »
Every radio RRC needs to have unique ports, so yes. Each Profile in the control RRC should match these
ports and you can easily switch between them. They all need to be forwarded. Only one RRC needs its
DynamicDNS to be set (or use a static IP external number or another dynamic DNS service) and all profiles
can use the same one as the SIP contact.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

N8MW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Addressing multiple radio RRC's
« Reply #8 on: 2016-06-07, 13:04:23 »
Thanks Mitch.  Seems like there should be an easier way to switch between radios than having to change 4 port numbers in the control RRC, but that would be a future enhancement I guess.  I think I'll just keep same ports on all radio RRC's and power them on and off with an IP power switch.


sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2630
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Addressing multiple radio RRC's
« Reply #9 on: 2016-06-07, 13:20:31 »
Hi

it's easier, you can make a profile for each unit, which you can switch between via the webinterface or via the CW pot on the front.
Please check the manual

73 de mike

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2141
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Addressing multiple radio RRC's
« Reply #10 on: 2016-06-07, 18:35:45 »
You only have to enter each set of port numbers once and use profiles. Read the very first
message I sent you again.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

N8MW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Addressing multiple radio RRC's
« Reply #11 on: 2016-06-07, 19:16:56 »
OK thanks.  I was not aware of profiles.