Author Topic: Feature Request: Profiles  (Read 9376 times)

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2053
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Feature Request: Profiles
« on: 2010-11-24, 16:58:32 »
Mike and the guys have done a great job enhancing the RemoteRig platform.

There is one feature that I would really like to see: being able to import the
settings file that the box now produces when you export the settings. In
addition, it would be great to be able to manage multiple profiles for settings,
in order to be able to quickly switch between different server RRC's.

Our group is in the process of deploying at least one radio side with multiple
users. This would make it possible to easily add these users. Since some of
us will use more than one installation, adding profiles would improve this even
further. If we could at least get an import function soon, it would be a great help.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

W6CZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Feature Request: Profiles
« Reply #1 on: 2010-11-24, 20:50:36 »
Maybe a future version of the control unit could have storage for say 6 - 10 radio profiles that could be selected using scroll buttons and a small 6 - 8 character display.

on4iq

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • the ON4IQ pages
    • Email
Re: Feature Request: Profiles
« Reply #2 on: 2010-11-25, 17:05:55 »
I'd like to see a new box with 4 com ports and a  few extra I/O ports (2bit would be fine). And a profile set (one buttom to go to another radio type setting)

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2053
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Feature Request: Profiles
« Reply #3 on: 2010-11-25, 17:22:40 »
Hey guys,

Cool ideas, but I would be happy just to be able to import the
config files at this point ;-)

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

dj4mz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Feature Request: Profiles
« Reply #4 on: 2010-12-01, 16:16:33 »
Hi,

this is more or less the same I've already been requesting in April.

http://www.styrefors.se/sm2oan/remote/forum/index.php?topic=203.msg590#msg590

vy 73
Simon, DJ4MZ

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2053
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Feature Request: Profiles
« Reply #5 on: 2010-12-01, 16:23:24 »
Right, Simon, but April was a long time ago. We need to remind everyone
that we need this feature.

It will also help drive more sales of their products, since users can then easily
access more than one remote system. It is therefore financially interesting to
the RemoteRig team have this feature added.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1798
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Feature Request: Profiles
« Reply #6 on: 2010-12-03, 12:10:42 »
We are sorry we haven't been able to fulfil this feature request yet. We suffer like everyone from the  day being no more than 24 hours and so we have to prioritize what we do and then.  ;)

As you may have read elsewhere on the forum we have finally found the cause of a strange network issue some of you have experienced. This and other things have taken a great deal of our resources, but now that we feel it is fixed we will start looking into requests like this.

This feature might be implemented in (at least) two ways, or possible a combination of them.

1/
Having a number of internal(stored in the device) profiles(setups) which one can switch between. (How many would be enough?)

2/
Allowing to save and load the setup info to/from disk.

Which one do you prefer? If both, which one is more "urgent"?

Also, we think that maybe one should exclude some of the setup data from the profiles, for ex the IP address and related info, as if one accidentally changes that the device could get inaccessible. Or do you prefer the "power of freedom" to change it all  ;)


Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2053
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Feature Request: Profiles
« Reply #7 on: 2010-12-03, 12:51:51 »
Hi Jan,

Thanks for the reply. Of course we all understand that bug fixing is a priority.
You guys are doing a great job and make a great product.

I have been giving this some thought, and this is my suggestion to make it easiest
to implement:

1) As first priority, an "import settings" menu as a counterpart to the export function
you recently implemented. This will at least allow a work around that will save a lot
of time and prevent errors.

2) As a second priority, I suggest a small Windows or (better) Java program that has
"radio buttons" that allow the user to switch between settings. This way, a virtually
unlimited number of settings files can be exported and imported from the user's hard
drive, keeping the RemoteRig box clean of additional data. This program would basically
access the import function that is requested above. Being a small, independent program,
the user does not have to bother calling-up a browser to access the settings. The user
should be able to label these buttons with which system he wishes to load. After the
reboot, he will be able to use the other remote system. The number of buttons (profiles)
is in this case is probably not relevant, but I would think at least 4-5 for heavy users,
probably more in the future as the RemoteRig installed base further expands and users wish
to trade profiles. This program would accelerate the concept of trading and therefore
drive further RemoteRig sales and installations.

If you have any further questions, just let me know.

Thanks & 73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX



 




dj4mz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Feature Request: Profiles
« Reply #8 on: 2010-12-03, 21:17:19 »
Hi Jan,

also from my side:

1) First priority is "import settings" as it implements the basic functionality.
For this I'm of the oppinion that (re)storing all settings is the best choice.

2) I would be happy to get maybe three to four internal profiles, selectable
via the web interface. Personally I think that also here (re)storing all settings
is the way to go. Excluding some parameters will inevitably lead to the discussion
what parameters to exclude and be sure there will always be a user who needs
exectly these paramters to be changed in his setup.... ;)

Thanks for a great piece of hardware!

vy 73
Simon, DJ4MZ

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1798
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Feature Request: Profiles
« Reply #9 on: 2010-12-10, 16:55:11 »
Hi folks,

A version with both import/export of settings as well as five internal "profiles" is not far away now  :) It has been a "mind stretching" thing to implement and I hope it will not be too buggy  ;)

Simon: I noticed you thanked for a good piece of "hardware", should I take that as the software is less good, hehe?
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2053
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Feature Request: Profiles
« Reply #10 on: 2010-12-10, 17:03:01 »
That is great news, Jan! That will make things much easier for us to
implement multiple RemoteRig installations. I will begin in January with
eight users on one system, some of use already use other installations.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

P.S.: the RemoteRig software AND hardware are great!

dj4mz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Feature Request: Profiles
« Reply #11 on: 2010-12-15, 19:02:04 »
Hi Jan,

Simon: I noticed you thanked for a good piece of "hardware", should I take that as the software is less good, hehe?

simple answer: NO! As I only use the RRC Controllers (no PC Client) with a real Front-Panel (IC706MKIIG, no HRD) I consider this complete solution as hardware! I'm really very happy, without the RRCs I wouldn't be able to do Ham Radio from at home!

The firmware from my point of view is almost perfect even though I'm still using V2.06. Never change a running system! Only features I have on my personal wishlist are:


BTW: Is there the possibility to downgrade the firmware in both units? As the Profiles feature seems to be coming soon, this would be the first time that I would really consider updating. But in the case something unpredicted happens I would like to go back to what I have now.

vy 73
Simon, DJ4MZ

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2053
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Feature Request: Profiles
« Reply #12 on: 2010-12-15, 22:35:05 »
  • Windows driver to access the two COM ports at the remote side without having to connect them via two serial cables on the control side

Simon, you can buy the PC Client and get this functionality now ;-)


I agree, the keyer drives me crazy with the extra dit. I can't believe that this would be that hard to fix.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1798
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Feature Request: Profiles
« Reply #13 on: 2010-12-16, 05:45:08 »
simple answer: NO! As I only use the RRC Controllers (no PC Client) with a real Front-Panel (IC706MKIIG, no HRD) I consider this complete solution as hardware! I'm really very happy, without the RRCs I wouldn't be able to do Ham Radio from at home!
:) You are right in thinking it as more "hard" than "soft" as one usually calls software in such devices "firmware", which sounds "harder" than software ;)

BTW: Is there the possibility to downgrade the firmware in both units? As the Profiles feature seems to be coming soon, this would be the first time that I would really consider updating. But in the case something unpredicted happens I would like to go back to what I have now.

vy 73
Simon, DJ4MZ
Downgrading is possible. You may however have to reset all settings in worst case.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1798
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Feature Request: Profiles
« Reply #14 on: 2010-12-17, 08:49:13 »
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.