Author Topic: AlfaSpid control box with USB and RC-1216H  (Read 3085 times)

dl3jpn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Email
AlfaSpid control box with USB and RC-1216H
« on: 2015-02-26, 08:43:32 »
Hi all,
In the new AlfaSpid Controllers, the RS232 connection have been replaced with a USB Connector.
How can I use it with a RC-1216H? I think normal USB2RS232-Adapters won't work. Has anyone
else used the same setup? Any suggestions?
Thanks in advance.

73, Steffen

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2643
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: AlfaSpid control box with USB and RC-1216H
« Reply #1 on: 2015-02-26, 08:46:22 »
No it will not work with USB, but I think you can order the rotator with RS-232 connector. At least it was possible last year

73 de mike

dl3jpn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: AlfaSpid control box with USB and RC-1216H
« Reply #2 on: 2015-02-26, 09:01:24 »
Mike,
I' ll try this with an other supplier. The one I asked has only USB-Versions.
Thanks for your very fast answer.
73, Steffen

g4swx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: AlfaSpid control box with USB and RC-1216H
« Reply #3 on: 2015-02-26, 22:41:55 »
Steffen writes: > In the new AlfaSpid Controllers, the RS232 connection have been replaced with a USB Connector.

This is really bad news as although I don't use RS232 tunnels over the RRC1258 I do use RS232 over Ethernet with Wiznet stand alone cards and virtual serial port software to remote many of my station components. I was considering the AlfaSpid BIG RAS for my next EME system.........
I have tried a number of USB over Ethernet, so called 'solutions' but all result in bursts of very high bandwidth traffic.

73
John G4SWX

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2643
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: AlfaSpid control box with USB and RC-1216H
« Reply #4 on: 2015-02-26, 23:13:29 »
Sad that they don't care about remote controlling. Have you checked how they have done the USB interface ? In many products where they have added a USB port instead of  a serial, they have put a USB to serial converter IC inside the box and have not made any change on the firmware. If this is the case for the AlfaSpid it may be possible to cut some traces and connect a MAX232 (TTL/RS232 converter) instead of the USB IC.

73 de mike

dl3jpn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: AlfaSpid control box with USB and RC-1216H
« Reply #5 on: 2015-02-27, 15:19:26 »
Hi John and Mike,

Good News. Today I got an info from a German supplier, stating that spid still builds controller with RS-232 interface. It is possible to get them on special request. Delivery time may be a bit expanded but they are still available.

73,
Steffen, DL3JPN

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2643
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: AlfaSpid control box with USB and RC-1216H
« Reply #6 on: 2016-09-14, 15:32:14 »
Hi I converted AlfaSpid with USB interface to RS-232. Here is some info about how i did. It's quite easy.

http://www.remoterig.com/wp/?page_id=3414

73 de mike
« Last Edit: 2016-09-14, 17:10:10 by sm2o »