Author Topic: 1258 V6 & new firmware 2.26-28  (Read 3221 times)

IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
1258 V6 & new firmware 2.26-28
« on: 2010-12-03, 13:19:49 »
Gentilmen,
I can't update my units (1258 V6) with new firmware 2.28. I had this problem also before with FW 2.26.
I have also old units (1258 V4) however in this case I can update them and all it work ok.
Any suggestion?
Best regard

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: 1258 V6 & new firmware 2.26-28
« Reply #1 on: 2010-12-03, 13:24:48 »
Are you updating via the web interface or by using the Setup Manager program? Which error messages do you see?
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: 1258 V6 & new firmware 2.26-28
« Reply #2 on: 2010-12-03, 13:36:07 »
I update using Setup Manager program and the msg is " Faild program new firmware! Writed Faild."
I tried more times with 2.26 & 2.28. Only 2.25 it's ok.
73 Nick

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: 1258 V6 & new firmware 2.26-28
« Reply #3 on: 2010-12-03, 13:44:36 »
I can't see any reason there would be any differences between those versions. Which Windows version and Service Pack are you using? Can you try upgrade using the web interface instead?
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: 1258 V6 & new firmware 2.26-28
« Reply #4 on: 2010-12-03, 15:00:53 »
I using a xp sp2. I tried to upgrade by web and all it's ok.
But why happen this? V4 it's ok with Setup Manager program and V6 only via web?
73 Nick

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: 1258 V6 & new firmware 2.26-28
« Reply #5 on: 2010-12-03, 16:20:27 »
I using a xp sp2. I tried to upgrade by web and all it's ok.
But why happen this? V4 it's ok with Setup Manager program and V6 only via web?
73 Nick
The only thing I can think of is that Windows XP SP2 and older are known for not supporting USB as good as SP3.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

IZ7ANL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: 1258 V6 & new firmware 2.26-28
« Reply #6 on: 2010-12-03, 16:34:16 »
I tried also win7 and it's impossible to upgrade V6 with Setup Manager program.
Anyway it's not a problem I can do it via web.
Many thanks
Nick

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: 1258 V6 & new firmware 2.26-28
« Reply #7 on: 2010-12-06, 08:14:56 »
I tried also win7 and it's impossible to upgrade V6 with Setup Manager program.
Anyway it's not a problem I can do it via web.
Many thanks
Nick
How many V6 units do you have? If more than one, it's even more strange that all of them fail upgrading via USB, regardless of Windows version too.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

NZ5E

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: 1258 V6 & new firmware 2.26-28
« Reply #8 on: 2010-12-06, 13:51:11 »
I update using Setup Manager program and the msg is " Faild program new firmware! Writed Faild."
I tried more times with 2.26 & 2.28. Only 2.25 it's ok.
73 Nick

I experienced the same error message using Setup Manager and also tried different computers, cables, etc.  I finally discovered that each time I downloaded the Version 2.28 Firmware from the website, the file size was different!  The downloaded file would show 72K, then 90K, then 74K, etc., when viewing the file size in Windows Explorer.

Another Remoterig user emailed Version 2.28 to me and it showed 308K and both my Radio and Control Units updated successfully.  I have yet to figure out why this was happening and I have never experienced this before on other downloads.  Even though I have not proven this yet, I suspect the new version of Nortons Internet Security that I had just updated to before this event.

I feel for the Remoterig developers since all they can assume is that everything at the user's end is normal, when very often strange problems like this are causing problems with the Remoterig gear that the developers can't control and they are trying to help us troubleshoot from afar.

My favorite saying is "Technology is great...when it works.".
« Last Edit: 2010-12-06, 13:54:00 by NZ5E »