Author Topic: 1258 powers down when volume level is increased on IC-7100  (Read 1604 times)

WB9CAR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
I have a pair of 1258 configured to work with the IC-7100.  They are local to my internal LAN and seem to be working as they should with one exception.  When I advance the volume on the control head the unit (Remote Rig Control end) powers down.  If I keep the volume down to a bare minimum all seems to work.  I am using the level converter/strapping header on the control end unit.  I verified all the strapping.  When the IC-7100 is connected via hardwire, I can turn up the volume to maximum without problem.
I have replaced the power supplies to no avail.  Additionally I replaced the short CAT.6 cable I use between the RR Control unit and the control head.  Can anyone help?

pdh/WB9CAR

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2485
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: 1258 powers down when volume level is increased on IC-7100
« Reply #1 on: 2016-12-20, 19:38:52 »
Reduce the backlighter, if you really need the brightest setting, remove the 8/9V jumper in the RRC then you can reduce the backlighter settings an get the same brightness.

73 de mike

WB9CAR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: 1258 powers down when volume level is increased on IC-7100
« Reply #2 on: 2016-12-21, 00:50:20 »
I have the LCD Back light at 15%

pdh

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2485
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: 1258 powers down when volume level is increased on IC-7100
« Reply #3 on: 2016-12-21, 12:06:44 »
Then something is wrong, Is the power supply big enough 12V min 1A ?

73 de mike

WB9CAR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: 1258 powers down when volume level is increased on IC-7100
« Reply #4 on: 2016-12-23, 19:32:33 »
The replacement supply I used is a 75 AMP switcher.  I upgraded to2.91 from 2.90 but then i HAD TO GO TO THE HOSPITAL FOR A HIP RE-REPLACEMENT.  i WILL VENTURE DOWN TO THE SHACK AS SOON AS THE HIP ALLOWS AND SEE IF THE FIRMWARE UPGRADE MADE ANY DIFFERENCE.

tHANK YOU
PDH / wb9car

WB9CAR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: 1258 powers down when volume level is increased on IC-7100
« Reply #5 on: 2016-12-28, 18:07:46 »
Back home.  I tried the config with 2.91 code but still have trouble.  Tried changing the ethernet connection from 'AUTO' to 'AUTO 10 Pref' (as well as 100 FDX, 100hdx, ETC) to no avail.  Switched power supplies at both ends and tried Wired at the RADIO end with wireless at the CONTROL end.

I went into the STATUS field and the control unit is throwing a SYS MSG of a missed call.
Still need help.

pdh

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2485
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: 1258 powers down when volume level is increased on IC-7100
« Reply #6 on: 2016-12-29, 12:48:16 »
Try the 8/9V jumper as I said in my first answer, there is no firmware or software settings which can have any effect on this. It looks like you Control panel need more current than all other panels. Or the hardware of the Control RRC is not OK

/mike

WB9CAR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: 1258 powers down when volume level is increased on IC-7100
« Reply #7 on: 2017-03-16, 14:35:28 »
Tracked the problem down to data corruption in the radio to rig remote cable.  I was using the original Icom cable.  I replaced it with a one foot (12") long Cat.6 cable with a couple ferrite beads and all is well.
wb9car

WB9CAR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: 1258 powers down when volume level is increased on IC-7100
« Reply #8 on: 2017-04-15, 20:04:28 »
I tracked the problem down to data corruption in the cable between the radio and the 'RADIO' rig remote box.  The actual source of the problem seems to be that I was powering the radio with one power supply and the 1258 with the supplied power supply.  when I changed the data cable I also powered the 1258 from the same power supply as the IC-7100.  I went back and verified this several times using various cables and power supplies. 
I found that I could use any cable as long as I powered both the radio and the 1258 from the same supply.

hope this helps someone.

73's
WB9CAR