Author Topic: TS-B2000 + RRC-1258 MkII-Set + RC-2000 = Works?  (Read 5719 times)

WK9M

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
TS-B2000 + RRC-1258 MkII-Set + RC-2000 = Works?
« on: 2010-12-15, 23:54:26 »
Hello; has anyone successfully used a RRC-1258 MkII setup on a TS-B2000 (faceless TS-2000) with the RC-2000?

This sounds like a good Summer project for me; the Kenwood will be in a location that I can't easily access the radio and will be used 100% remotely.  Just making sure this idea will work before I do it; an expensive project is OK so long as it works!  :)

Thanks

WK9M

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: TS-B2000 + RRC-1258 MkII-Set + RC-2000 = Works?
« Reply #1 on: 2010-12-15, 23:59:57 »
An alternative setup might be the TS-480SAT if the B2000 doesn't work; I give up 70cm but the radio is cheaper.

kb9bpf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: TS-B2000 + RRC-1258 MkII-Set + RC-2000 = Works?
« Reply #2 on: 2010-12-16, 16:06:14 »
The TS-B2000 is just a TS-2000 without a front panel. I've got an RC-2000 which I use with my remoterig boxes and while it works, it's much harder to use than the standard TS-2000 front panel due to extensive use of menus. Very difficult to operate on HF - seems like any time I want to change anything, even the most basic things like VFOs or memories I have to piddle with the menus.

My recommendation to you, assuming you haven't yet purchased a TS-B2000, is to get a full TS-2000 and use the front panel remotely. You'll have to figure out some way to mount it, though (I've never had mine off, so I don't know what it would entail.)

73
Brad KB9BPF

WK9M

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: TS-B2000 + RRC-1258 MkII-Set + RC-2000 = Works?
« Reply #3 on: 2010-12-16, 21:04:23 »
Thanks for the tip.  I didn't know that you could use the full front panel remotely.  I used to have a TS-2000 but sold it when I moved to TN because there are lots of restrictions here.  I am coming up with a few ideas from the local hams though.

So if someone has a TS-2000 and has used that full panel remotely--how did you do it?  I remember taking apart the TS-2000 and it had ribbon cables inside that are push-fit into their connector; I'm not sure how you would interface to that.  If I am stuck with the B2000+RC-2000, it's still better than what I have set up now (nothing).

kb9bpf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: TS-B2000 + RRC-1258 MkII-Set + RC-2000 = Works?
« Reply #4 on: 2010-12-16, 21:42:47 »
I've only had my TS-2000 apart once, at the very beginning when I installed the filters and stuff. Didn't pay much attention to the front panel connection. I just assumed it used a RJ-11 style jack like the TS-480, TM-D71/710, and TM-732 that I'm familiar with.

I pulled up the .pdf of the service manual for the TS-2000 and I see what you mean - it's not that simple. Several interconnections...

Maybe the TS-480 would be a better choice for you? I'm sure anyone who tried to use the RC-2000 for serious HF work such as a contest or DXing where agility is a concern would be pretty disappointed.

I have had my laptop PC running TRX-Manager running concurrently with the RC-2000 at the control end so I wouldn't have to piddle with the menus on the RC-2000. But then you're kinda back to the TS-B2000 idea again.

Sorry to have gotten your hopes up. Now I know why nobody had done it before when the solution seemed (to me) so obvious...

KA4JXT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: TS-B2000 + RRC-1258 MkII-Set + RC-2000 = Works?
« Reply #5 on: 2010-12-17, 04:36:33 »
I run the B2000 with the RC2000 and it works perfectly.  I am completely satisfied and enjoy full remote control.  The only drawback  would be if you want to operate from the station location as well as remote.  In that case the TS2000 with the front panel would be best.  In that configuration you should have both local control using the front panel and remote control using the RC2000 with the RRC-1258 MkII.  I have m yB2000 dedicated to remote operation so it is not a concern for me.  I have other HF rigs I prefer to operate when I am in my shack.

WK9M

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: TS-B2000 + RRC-1258 MkII-Set + RC-2000 = Works?
« Reply #6 on: 2010-12-17, 05:26:01 »
I see that the RRC-1258 has what looks like serial ports on it.  Does this work with the TS-2000's serial port and then plug-in your PC as if it were local?  If so, there are many remote-control programs out there which won't reproduce the nice display on the TS-2000, but at least makes it more useable.  i.e. you can change and set things via the PC instead of the RC-2000.

Well, at least it's down to the B2000 or 480 then.

W6CZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: TS-B2000 + RRC-1258 MkII-Set + RC-2000 = Works?
« Reply #7 on: 2011-01-01, 17:39:47 »
The B2000 doesn't make sense when currently it is only $10 less at HRO then TS-2000. There will be times at the remote site when you want to transmit for testing and if you don't have the panel... also, if the day comes when you want to sell it you would have a harder time selling the B then a standard unit.

KP4TR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: TS-B2000 + RRC-1258 MkII-Set + RC-2000 = Works?
« Reply #8 on: 2011-01-02, 16:39:11 »
I currently run both the TS2000 and TS480 simultaneously quite successfully and at the same time. The TS2000 uses the R2000 and the TS480HX uses its own panel. The TS2000 is for 40/80/2/70cm and work LEO satellites. and the TS480HX is for 10/15/20/6 meters. Each Remoterig uses independent port settings and custom port forwarding.

The TS2000B for me made no sense since not having a front panel did not add up to any significant cost savings, plus I do want to have the front when I am physically at the shack.