Author Topic: 480 SAT and Remote Network Help Please  (Read 3723 times)

K2OLO

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
480 SAT and Remote Network Help Please
« on: 2010-12-16, 16:14:56 »
Ok Here is where I am at and I have read many postings and tried certain solutions to no avail. Thank you so much for any help!

•   Updated firm ware on both units
•   Was able to separate the 480 and make operational on the radio end  (same)LAN.
•   Subscribed to DynDns and entered information to the radio RRC (not sure about the configuration)
•   I am using an Apple Airport extreme at both ends
•   Service provider on radio side is Cablevision
•   Service provider on control side is Time Warner
•   I have access to the radio RRC via gotomypc so I am able to make configuration changes without traveling.
•   I have not been able to remotely “see” the radio RRC via browser and of course not able to use the control RRC either.

I am not a network or IP person so a really appreciate any help. I can however follow instructions and I am more then will to put the time in to make this work. Thanks again to all.
73,
Paul
K2OLO

Advanced settings 
UDP cmd port 12000   
UDP audio port   11000
SIP port    5060
Web server port 80   
IP settings
Unit ID (Banner)   K2olo Base
DHCP   No
IP   10.0.1.31
Netmask   255.255.255.0
Gateway   10.0.1.1
Dns server   10.0.1.1
Extern IP/Host   24.47.199.246



sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2621
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: 480 SAT and Remote Network Help Please
« Reply #1 on: 2010-12-16, 16:45:36 »
Hi

what you need to do is to configure your remote router so it will open up for traffic from outside to the RRC.

The easiest way is to assign the RRC:s Ip as a DMZ server, virtual server exposed host or what ever it's called in your router.

or setup portforwarding for port 80,5060,11000,11200 to the RRC

Check with the user manual

73 de mike

K2OLO

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: 480 SAT and Remote Network Help Please
« Reply #2 on: 2010-12-16, 17:34:05 »
Thank you Mike,

In the Apple Extreme world here are my options:


•   Port Mapping:
   Requires either service: ie FTP/POP/Sharing Etc or
   Public TCP Port
   Public UDP Ports
   Private IP address
   Private TCP Ports
   Private UDP ports
o   The Question is what to fill in and where?

•   MAC Access control is not enabled is this ok?
•   Do I want to initiate connection sharing (range of IP)?
•   IPv4 DHCP is this ok?


TU de Paul

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2621
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: 480 SAT and Remote Network Help Please
« Reply #3 on: 2010-12-16, 17:51:46 »
Hi

on page 31 you can find it

check the "enable default host at" box and enter the IP of the RRC there.

nothing else should be needed.

of course the RRC need to have a fixed IP and IP settings that match the router

http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/Designing_AirPort_Networks_10.5-Windows.pdf

73 de mike

K2OLO

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: 480 SAT and Remote Network Help Please
« Reply #4 on: 2010-12-16, 18:10:24 »
Hello Mike

Ok done. Thank you. How do I check to see if I can access the radio RRC? is it http://k2olo.dyns.org:80 from another LAN if so then no good yet.

de k2OLO

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2621
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: 480 SAT and Remote Network Help Please
« Reply #5 on: 2010-12-16, 18:20:39 »
I dont' think the adress is ok

k2olo.dyns.org

do not look ok to me, what adress have you registered ?

you can not test it from the same network it must be done from outside

/mike

K2OLO

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: 480 SAT and Remote Network Help Please
« Reply #6 on: 2010-12-16, 18:31:12 »


k2olo.com is my dyndns zone. I thought from reading other posts this is how you access remotely. I am on a different network now but I dont have access to my control RRC and trying to confirm I can contact the radio RRC remotely.

TU, Paul

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2621
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: 480 SAT and Remote Network Help Please
« Reply #7 on: 2010-12-16, 18:38:47 »
You must register a hostname at dyndns for the router (your remote qth), and then setup the router or the RRC to update the dns with the current IP. They both have dyndns client.

then you use the hostname as SIP contact in the Control-RRC

/mike

K2OLO

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: 480 SAT and Remote Network Help Please
« Reply #8 on: 2010-12-16, 23:12:32 »

Mike,

Thank you.

Success!!!


73,
Paul
K2OLO