Author Topic: Can't connect to IP 192.168.0.227 of RRC  (Read 6178 times)

hb9gce

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Email
Can't connect to IP 192.168.0.227 of RRC
« on: 2010-12-21, 06:43:42 »
Hi All
I am trying to connect the RRC via browser but I have no connection.
Is there a parameter in my router I sholud modify?
Many thanks to all
73s de
HB9GCE

dj4mz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Can't connect to IP 192.168.0.227 of RRC
« Reply #1 on: 2010-12-21, 09:32:32 »
Hi,

how is your RRC connected to your PC/network?

1. If it is connected only via USB then you can not connect to it via your browser!
2. If it is connected locally to your network, i.e. using a switch, then make sure that both, your PC and your RRC are using IPs from the same subnet. Assuming that you are using some sort of Windows OS open a command window and type "ipconfig" and press Enter. In the answer section related to your network adapter check the IP address. As long as it doesn't start with 192.168.0. (assuming Class C network) you won't be able to access it. In that case either change the IP address of your PC to something starting with 192.168.0. (I don't recommend to do this!) or much better change the IP address of the RRC to match your network (use the Microbit Setup-Manager) to do this (see Users manual page 24-27).

vy 73
Simon, DJ4MZ

hb9gce

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can't connect to IP 192.168.0.227 of RRC
« Reply #2 on: 2010-12-21, 09:49:42 »
Hi Simon
Thanks, I resume the situation:
RRC is connected both with USB AND Router
Now my IP adress is
188.61.119.87
In the remote location I have a fix IP starting with 213.3......
Why do you not reccomend to change my local IP ?
73s
hb9gce

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can't connect to IP 192.168.0.227 of RRC
« Reply #3 on: 2010-12-21, 10:08:34 »
You returned with your WAN IP adress, checked it (near Lausanne)
in your router at home there should be a forward to the local IP of the RRC
normally this would be port 80, but its better to change to something else because lot of providers seems to block this because they dont want you to run a server at home,

First thing first is your local IP range in this area 192.168.0.xxx ?
if not then you have to change the RRC to fit in
example local IP is 192.168.1.xxx then change the RRC to 192.168.1.227
also change the port to 8000 or so
now in your browser at home type http://192.168.1.227:8000/
and the webpage should appear now

Guy ON4AOI
   

hb9gce

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can't connect to IP 192.168.0.227 of RRC
« Reply #4 on: 2010-12-21, 10:21:26 »
Hi Guy, YES, it works, I changed it to 192.168.1.227  :o
What should I do in the remote location with FIX IP 213.3......?
Do I in the local SIP contact enter the FIX IP or the local RRC IP (I will change it too to 192.168.1.228 since the remote router has IP 192.168.1.1)
73s
hb9gce

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can't connect to IP 192.168.0.227 of RRC
« Reply #5 on: 2010-12-21, 11:31:45 »
In the local RRC under radio settings
SIP should be 213.3. etc
and in the network on the radio side you should set the port to for example 8001
this port should forwarded in that router from WANSIDE PORT 8001 to 192.168.1.228
if ofcoarse the IP range in that router is also 192.168.1.xxx and the Radio RRC is cfg
like 192.168.1.228

Guy ON4AOI     

dj4mz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Can't connect to IP 192.168.0.227 of RRC
« Reply #6 on: 2010-12-21, 12:20:54 »
Hi,

Why do you not reccomend to change my local IP ?

because if you change the IP of your local PC without changing the config of your router and all other PCs in you local network you won't be able to access them. But as I read you are already one step further.

Next step would be, as you already are planing to do, change the IP of the remote RRC to fit into the local network on the remote side. SIP contact should be the fixed IP (as Guy already mentioned). Then you still have to config some port forwarding in the router on the remote side to make sure that incoming connections are forwarded to the RRC. Alternatively you can configure your RRCs IP as DMZ or exposed host if your router has such a function.

vy 73
Simon, DJ4MZ

hb9gce

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can't connect to IP 192.168.0.227 of RRC
« Reply #7 on: 2010-12-21, 19:42:35 »
Many thanks Guy and Simon :)
Saturday I go to the remote location. Since it is 350 km far from my local QTH, all settings and connections and strappings must be OK.
I can acces to my remote PC, router and RRC from the local PC, so if something goes wriong when I return to the local QTH, I think there will be no problem to resetting some values of the remote shack, is it correct?
The only thing I cannot change are the connections, but this is no a great problem..
73s
HB9GCE

hb9gce

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can't connect to IP 192.168.0.227 of RRC
« Reply #8 on: 2011-01-12, 21:30:20 »
Hi
for info: ALL is now 100% working !
73's de hb9gce
andy