Author Topic: KENWOOD TS-590 - HAM RADIO DELUXE  (Read 3827 times)

LA4ESA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Email
KENWOOD TS-590 - HAM RADIO DELUXE
« on: 2017-05-04, 21:23:08 »
I am struggeling with the option to remote control my TS-590 over the internett, via Ham Radio Deluxe.
Setting up the both RRC is not complicated, but i'm not able to figure out how to set up Ham Radio Deluxe rig control, to  control the remote station.
anyone here who happends to know how???

Per LA4ESA
73 de LA4ESA, Per

DF1NP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: KENWOOD TS-590 - HAM RADIO DELUXE
« Reply #1 on: 2017-05-05, 17:33:46 »
Hi Per,

For configuration look at RRC 1258-MKII user manual, page Kenwood general.
http://www.remoterig.com/downloads/RemoteRig_RRC1258-MkII_Users_manual.pdf

You also can use ARCP-590 vers. 2.02 freeware program by kenwood. http://www.kenwood.com/i/products/info/amateur/ts_590/arcp590_e.html

73
Willi

LA4ESA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: KENWOOD TS-590 - HAM RADIO DELUXE
« Reply #2 on: 2017-05-05, 17:50:07 »
Hi Willi
Thanks for reply.
Actually i have been reading the manual several times, on this subject.
I do know HRD can be used, i am also familiar with the ARCP from Kenwood.
But so far, i have not figured out from anywhere, how to set up HRD or the ARCP.
But i'l beleive i will :-)

73 Per
73 de LA4ESA, Per

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2135
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: KENWOOD TS-590 - HAM RADIO DELUXE
« Reply #3 on: 2017-05-05, 19:09:04 »
Per,

Here is my CAT checklist for a Twin configuration (should also be applicable to TS-590):

CAT Checklist for K3 Twin
----------------------------------
Note first that in a "Twin" configuration, COM2 is used to "tie" the two ends together and carries the CAT data. In order to access CAT, you need to get to COM2 without touching it. The easiest method is to duplicate COM2 over COM1 using a function in the RRC as follows:

- Change both RRC's COM1 to mode-7. Note that the baud rate does not have to be identical with COM2 to fit a lower bandwidth or software requirement.

- If using a "real" serial cable:
     - connect between the control RRC's COM1 and the PC, but note that the pinout is not the standard straight-through serial port. Use the pinout description in the RemoteRig manual, or just try a null-modem cable which usually works (may need a gender changer).
     - The  serial setting for COM1 "Use USB Com Port as COM1" must be set to NO

- If using USB:
     - make sure that first Microbit Setup Manager is installed first on the control PC to get the drivers.
     - Then change the serial settings for COM1 to change "Use USB Com Port as COM1" to YES
     - connect the USB cable between the RRC and computer and wait for the drivers to finish installing
     - go to the Windows Device Manager and look at which virtual serial port was assigned to COM1 and use that for your software, taking the correct baud rate into account.

Note also that you can pull CAT data in parallel off of the radio RRC to use a PC on that end, or to sync with a remote device (amplifier, SteppIR, etc.)

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

LA4ESA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: KENWOOD TS-590 - HAM RADIO DELUXE
« Reply #4 on: 2017-05-05, 19:39:57 »
Thanks Mitch, for your info. I will store this for later use.
A have all cables from Microbit, to use both Twin solution and the "single" solution with the TS-590S
As project 1 i would like to test the system where i use the TS-590S at the radio end only.
And then at the control end, for example control the rig via HRD or ARCP.
Both RRC's are set for this function, according to the manual.
At the control end i have Microbit RS232 cable connected to COM port 2 at the RRC, since i do not have a RS232 COM port in my desktop computer, i have connected the RS232 cable to a RS232/USB cable with the FTDI chip installed.
Therefore i get a serial COM port in my computer. I have tried, in the ARCP software and HRD as well, to connect simply via the COM port connection in the software. Hopefully this is understandable.
But, nothing happends.
I have to start all over again, step by step and see what happends.
Thanks again for your info.
73 de Per
73 de LA4ESA, Per

DF1NP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: KENWOOD TS-590 - HAM RADIO DELUXE
« Reply #5 on: 2017-05-05, 19:54:00 »
Hi Per,

Normaly I am using TS-590 TWIN (very  comfortable). But I also can work by CAD. So the settings for HRD  is: Kenwood, TS-590, COM (look at your device manager), speed 9.600, no: CTS, DTR, RTS.

Using ARCP is a little bit tricky, hi. Speed 9.600, comport as above.

I prefer working with USB cable: seriel setting: USB comport as COM 2: yes

73
Willi


LA4ESA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: KENWOOD TS-590 - HAM RADIO DELUXE
« Reply #6 on: 2017-05-06, 12:33:26 »
Hi willi

Thanks for reply.
Now, i have tested almost "everything". Ports are opened in the modem at the radio end, DynDNS  are configurated and works well.
At the radio end, i have a modem/internet connection with the following speed: download 15-25 Mbit/s, upload 1 - 2 Mbit/s.
I have tried the RS232/USB cable, (FTDI chip) comes up with COM port 6. Have also tried USB/USB, comes upp with all the installed virtual COM ports; 11, 12, 13 (extra), 14. All ports with baudrate 9600. Same baudrate in radio and on COM2 in borth RRC .
When i try HRD for connectio, i set the TS-590 - baudrate 9600 - COM 6 or one of the other COM ports mentioned above.. With or without CTS - RTS. No connection.
If i try to connect via the ARCP 590. V.2.02, i get this error: "Unknown device is connected to COM:XX, or Baudrate setting of this software is not correct"
In the control RRC i have set: "Use USB comport as comport 2: YES"

You maby wonder why do i not set up the both TS-590S as TWIN, the reason is that i would like to use the RADIO END as a listening station and the station at my control end (home QTH) as a transmit station. Thats because i have more power to use at my home QTH, and my remote QTH is more "quiet" . Noise level lower.

Do you have any idea what i could have done wrong or maby not done at all????

JMP3 are in place at COM2 in both RRC.

73 de Per
« Last Edit: 2017-05-06, 12:41:44 by LA4ESA »
73 de LA4ESA, Per

LA4ESA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: KENWOOD TS-590 - HAM RADIO DELUXE
« Reply #7 on: 2017-05-06, 12:42:51 »
Forgot to mention, JMP3 are in place at COM2 in both RRC.......

Per
73 de LA4ESA, Per

DF1NP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: KENWOOD TS-590 - HAM RADIO DELUXE
« Reply #8 on: 2017-05-06, 15:48:13 »
Hi Per,

My conf. for profil CAD:

Serial settings control:

COM1 mode  Mode-7, CAT to COM2 (remote)
COM1 baudrate 9600   
COM1 8   
COM1 stop bits 1
COM1 parity 0 - Off
COM1 rts/cts  Yes   
COM1 terminator (hex)  00
Use USB Com Port as COM1 No 
   
COM2 mode Mode-4, Kenwood, Yaesu, Elecraft   
COM2 baudrate  9600   
COM2 data bits  8   
COM2 stop bits 1   
COM2 parity 0 - Off   
COM2 terminator (hex) 
Use USB Com Port as COM2  Yes   
   
COM3(Extra) mode (USB-COMFSK) Inactive

Radio:
Serial settings

COM1 mode  Mode-7 CAT to COM 2
COM1 baudrate  9600   
COM1 data bits 8   
COM1 stop bits 1   
COM1 parity 0 - off   
COM1 rts/cts  Yes   
COM1 terminator (hex) 
   
COM2 mode  Mode-4, Kenwood, Yaesu, Elecraft   
COM2 baudrate 9600   
COM2 data bits  8   
COM2 stop bits 1   
COM2 parity 0 - Off   
COM2 terminator (hex) 

Radio autoconnect: yes

For ARCP-590 you first must install the virtual comport drivers.

good luck
Willi

LA4ESA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: KENWOOD TS-590 - HAM RADIO DELUXE
« Reply #9 on: 2017-05-10, 10:37:36 »
Helli Willi.

All are working 100% at my system now.
Thanks for all help.
Worked nice in my internal network,  connected the RRC radio unit to the "external" network and worked nice there as well.
Using the RS232/USB. work's also with minUSB/USB.
Works in both softwares, HRD and Kenwood ARCP.
Using the setup you sent me.
Thanks again.
Looking forward to pack things together and drive to the cottage for configuration up there.

73 de Per LA4ESA
73 de LA4ESA, Per

DF1NP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: KENWOOD TS-590 - HAM RADIO DELUXE
« Reply #10 on: 2017-05-10, 18:57:13 »
Hi Per,

Congratulation! Happy to hear all is working now.  :)

73
Willi