Author Topic: RRC Client, HRD and TS-480 ... Can't get it to work  (Read 1455 times)

W4AFK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Email
I cannot get RR-Client to work.

RR Client (1.9.2) w/1274A interface

- Matched RTP/UDP audio port to what's on the 1258
- Matched RTP/UDP command port to what's on the 1258
- RX jitter size= 4 (same as 1258)
- RX jitter delay = 3 (same as 1258)
- Packet Size = 20 (same as 1258)
- RRC COM 0 and 1 = inactive
- RRC COM 2 = 4- Kenwood, COM2

At this stage I make sure that the TS-480 control head is turned off (not active)

RR Client = Connect
Audio bar flashes GREEN every half second or so, RTP is green and RRC flashes red/green at the same rate as the audio bar.

Accessing the remote 1258 control port I see that Connection Status is "faulty". UDP command status (0) error (which seems right as HRD is not connected)

I start HRD (current and licensed). It's configured as follows:

- Company = Kenwood
- Radio = TS-480
- COM 2 at 9600 bps (as set in the radio and in COM 1 and COM 2 in the 1258) - Note that in the remote 1258 COM 0 is set to 57600. Now just for kicks I tried 57600 on COM 2 and COM 3.
- Flow control / Interface power = CTS unchecked, DTR unchecked, RTS checked (tried all OFF and different configurations)
- Fails w/HRD error message =  "Make sure your radio is switched ON and not in memory mode" <--Also failed reading frequency "0".

Seems like the radio doesn't turn ON.

What I have tried:

- In RR Client COM 0 and COM 1
- In HRD changed from COM 2 to COM 1, and even tried COM 3
- Confirmed that the Virtual COM ports installed with RR Client are OK

I must be missing something very basic here ... what would that be???

Normal setup: Pair of RR-1258 connected to my remote TS-480SAT
- Software   2.86
- Bootloader   1.10
- Compiler   4.6.2
- Build May 28 2015 11:12:06

RR-Client: Current (downloaded). I have the 1274A w/headset. It's recognized on the laptop.

Laptop: Windows 7 Pro x64 (up to date) <-- This is the laptop I use
Internet connection: FTTH (fiber) 1Gbps U/D - Via 802.11AC Wi-Fi I have ~400 Mbps U/D for all these tests

Operating the remote system using the TS-480 control head on my Windows 10 based ham radio computer is fine. It's been working great since day one.

As I will be on a multi-week \business trip and I want to be able to use the laptop + HRD + 1274A + Client to operate my remote station.

W4AFK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC Client, HRD and TS-480 ... Can't get it to work
« Reply #1 on: 2017-07-17, 02:51:36 »
UPDATE - Tried on a Lenovo Yoga laptop running in Windows 10 x64 and I have the same problem. Must be a configuration issue but I can't seem to figure it out.

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2476
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: RRC Client, HRD and TS-480 ... Can't get it to work
« Reply #2 on: 2017-07-17, 07:23:41 »
Hi

have you connected the cat cable from RRC com2 to the radio ?

/mike

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: RRC Client, HRD and TS-480 ... Can't get it to work
« Reply #3 on: 2017-07-17, 13:24:27 »
I have a networking checklist available to wlk you through the process of getting a system working. I can't tell
from your posting where your problem is, but my checklist may help you solve your problems.

Drop me a short mail to dj0qn (at) darc.de if you want the checklist.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

W4AFK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC Client, HRD and TS-480 ... Can't get it to work
« Reply #4 on: 2017-07-17, 20:21:32 »
Thanks. I'll send you an E-mail ...

So to summarize:

1. Home - Control-head --> 1258 --> router --> Gateway --> ONT (fiber interface) --> [WAN --> DynDNS] --> Cable modem --> 1258 --> works fine  8)

2. Home - RR Client software w/1274A (first version with sound chip) --> router --> Gateway --> ONT (fiber interface) --> [WAN --> DynDNS] --> Cable modem --> 1258 --> doesn't work:-\

3. Office - RR Client software w/1274A (first version with sound chip) --> switch --> modem --> [WAN --> DynDNS] --> Cable modem --> 1258 --> doesn't work:-\

Note that when I tried to use the RR Client I made sure that the two 1258 devices were not connected (TS-480 control head switched to off). However, I do NOT disconnect the base 1258 from the LAN nor do I see any reason to do so as both 1258 devices are not connected to each other. I do use DynDNS but I also tried the direct IP address just in case, and I had the same results.

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2476
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: RRC Client, HRD and TS-480 ... Can't get it to work
« Reply #5 on: 2017-07-17, 20:28:19 »
Yiou did not comment if you have the CAT cable connected ?. It has to be connected and the baudrate has to be set to the same in the radio, in the RRC com2 settings and in HRD, 9600 for example

/mike

W4AFK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC Client, HRD and TS-480 ... Can't get it to work
« Reply #6 on: 2017-07-17, 20:31:42 »
Hi

have you connected the cat cable from RRC com2 to the radio ?

/mike

The remote 1258 is connected to the radio via the CAT cable.

As noted in my setup: TS-480 control head --> 1258 --> router --> gateway --> WAN --> modem --> 1258 --> TS-480 radio section work fine. I use this every day.

Now are you referring to the other connectors on the RR and radio? After all, there is only one CAT type connector on the front and another LAN/WAN connection on the back. The front one is connected to the radio and the back one to the router.

I do have one of the actual TS-480 radio ports connected to a MFJ ARI-500 so it can manage the attached ALS-600S amplifier. But this has nothing to do with RR Client as it's totally transparent.

Now I am trying to read between the lines so please bare with me ... Are you trying to say that I need another connection from the remote 1258 to the radio portion of the TS-480? Possibly the "DB9 COM2" on the back of the 1258?

This makes sense and it might be what's missing (shame on me) so a simple diagram might help a lot LOL

And yes, the COM port, baud rates, etc. are set as between the 1258.

===
If I do need that DB9 COM2 then it will be interesting as I have to connect the radio to the ARI-500 so the amplifier can follow the band switching. I need to check to see if it uses the COM port.
« Last Edit: 2017-07-17, 20:55:01 by W4AFK »

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2476
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: RRC Client, HRD and TS-480 ... Can't get it to work
« Reply #7 on: 2017-07-17, 21:10:52 »
Yes you need a CAT cable (RS-232)  from RRC com2 to the Radio CAT port. HRD uses Kenwood CAT protocol and it's the only way HRD can talk to the Radio

The RJ12 control cable from RRC TTL to the Radio only handles the Control panel protocol which is NOT the same as the public CAT protocol

/mike

W4AFK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC Client, HRD and TS-480 ... Can't get it to work
« Reply #8 on: 2017-07-18, 03:57:25 »
Thanks :-)

That's what I thought ... it was something simple that I overlooked. I'll connect a RS232 cable