Author Topic: TS-480 Config Problems  (Read 1033 times)

wb7ely

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
    • WB7ELY
    • Email
TS-480 Config Problems
« on: 2017-07-22, 06:08:09 »
I am setting up a new installation TS480. The xceiver works fine without the RRC but when I connect  the RRC1258 I am getting some odd indications-need some help.
The RRC manual states that there are two possible configurations for the RRC hardware mike connector straps. I have tried both configurations and still having problems. This is a test setup using my local network. All setup parameters are per page 186 of the manual.

Config type 1 (page 185 of the RRC manual)
Terrible buzzing sound on transmitted audio signal
Received audio OK
TS480 control panel lights and backlight are dimmer than normal (~50%)

Config type 2 (RRC manual page 186)
Unable to key radio
Receive audio OK
TS480 control panel lights normal brightness

Other notables:

Radio side
short RJ45 cable from RRC AUX/MIKE to the radio mike input
short RJ11 cable from RRC TTL to Radio control panel jack on radio

Control side
long control cable from control panel to TTL on RRC
rigblaster advantage output RJ45 to AUX/MIKE on RRC (verified good audio and keyline)

Power
1 Amp wall wort powering the control RRC
30 Amp power supply powering the RRC and radio

Please advise
Thanks
//Dave
//Dave WB7ELY

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: TS-480 Config Problems
« Reply #1 on: 2017-07-22, 09:47:11 »
Dave,

The type 2 are for really old radios, so that setting is unlikely.

It looks to me that your straps are not set cleanly. It is really easy to break them or to set them so that they are
not fully in their holes, especially if you do it by hand. Use a needle-nose pliers to hold them just above where the
insulation starts and carefully push the end into the socket. If it bends instead of going into the hole, throw the
strap away right away. You can also check them using an ohmmeter, but it may be easier to redo them that way.

Note that the RJ11 cables must have all pins connected. You can not use a telephone cable! However, if you find a
"three line" telephone cable for sale, this can be used. The European version of the TS-480 includes a long and short
cable already, but the U.S. version does not, so one must buy or make-up this special cable.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

wb7ely

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
    • WB7ELY
    • Email
Re: TS-480 Config Problems
« Reply #2 on: 2017-07-22, 20:30:19 »
Thanks for the feedback Mitch. Here's what I've done:

--I did find a broken jumper wire!
--The strapping setup in the RRC sucks--I found a couple of IC pin solder headers in the junkbox and strapped them for mike config 1:
--Plugged everything in and the same problem exists:
  =dim panel lighting
  =horrible noise on transmit as monitored in separate shack receiver w/no antenna.
  =receive OK
  =network portion appears good

--I am ready to throw this whole thing in the garbage can. Went through similar symptoms with my IC-706 4 weeks ago and redid the modified the separation cable several times. Never found a smoking gun.
--Bought this TS-480 and a new power supply for a whole new start with the RRC and $800 later I am back to square 1. (with a little nicer radio hee)
--No RF in the shack. Running from a basement shack 75' RG-213 to a "no radial" 5 band vertical on a 10 ft tower section. It is resonant with<2:1 SWR on all bands.

What can possibly be wrong?
sign me,
ready to throw the RRC IN THE GARBAGE CAN..
//Dave
WB7ELY
 
//Dave WB7ELY

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2430
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: TS-480 Config Problems
« Reply #3 on: 2017-07-22, 22:36:22 »
Hi
Other problems than missplaced or broken red wires are extremly rare. I assume you have used the standard settings for codec gain and are using the same codec in both units.  JMP1 should be removed for TS-480.

If you have a friend using the same setup, try to find out in which end you have the problem by connection to each other units. I could have tried from here in Sweden but Im on vaccation and do not have the equipment needed with me.

73 de mike

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: TS-480 Config Problems
« Reply #4 on: 2017-07-22, 23:10:43 »
Hi Dave,

Sorry you are having problems. Since both Mike and I are on vacation and have no access to our equipment, we
can't test it for you.

One thing you mention stands out: you mentioned that the panel lighting is too dim. This would indicate a problem
with the power supply on the control side. I would try out a different power supply and see if that helps. Also make
sure that JMP2 is on in the control RRC.

You also didn't mention the source of the RJ11 cable on the control side. Check to make sure that ALL pins are wired
and that the connections are good with an ohmmeter.

The other thing I could imagine would be RF, but you are sure that that is not a problem, plus that wouldn't cause the
dim panel problem.

Check the PS and cable out and let us know. Hundreds of people have this configuration working and I am positive that
you will, too.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

wb7ely

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
    • WB7ELY
    • Email
Re: TS-480 Config Problems
« Reply #5 on: 2017-07-23, 05:32:34 »
Thanks Mitch and Mike- I have tried a different power source for the control RRC and no change. Panel lights are dim, all other modes and selections work. I will go back and check the strapping for the 8V power on the control RRC.
On the RJ-11 cords, both are Kenwood stock. The short one is 6" and the long one is the standard control panel 10'.
Could there be a problem with my units? Since I am having so much trouble with the same symptoms using two different radios, I am starting to wonder if it is "not me"???

//Dave
WB7ELY
//Dave WB7ELY

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: TS-480 Config Problems
« Reply #6 on: 2017-07-23, 10:51:10 »
Hi Dave,

I am puzzled that the long RJ11 cable is "Kenwood stock". This cable was not included in the U.S. version
of the TS-480, assuming that is what you have. Could you please take a look at the pins using a magnifying
glass and/or use an ohmmeter to confirm that this cable has all pins connected through? Let#s make sure
100% that this cable is ok, since as far as I know, Kenwood does not include this cable in the box.

The dim panel can come either from the power supply, or from JMP2 not being set (I assume that you used
the rig's menu to set the brightness higher). However, only a PS problem could cause the audio problem you
are describing. Since you replaced it and it is ok, then I am not sure what is left to fix.

The only further actions I can imagine would be to test the RJ11 cable and make some more RFI tests. In this
case, please connect the TS-480 to a dummy load, or turn down the power to a watt or two and see if the audio
problem persists. If it goes away, then it is indeed an RFI problem. Just because one previously had no RFI
problems does not mean that it won't using this system with its many cables. I have seen this before several
times, so it is worth pursuing. You may also use a microphone instead of the Rigblaster for the test to eliminate
that as the source of the problem.

Once you check the cable physically and check for RFI, please let us know. I hope it is one of these two.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX


wb7ely

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
    • WB7ELY
    • Email
Re: TS-480 Config Problems
« Reply #7 on: 2017-07-24, 18:48:42 »
Mitch-- Thanks for your continuing efforts to track down the source of my troubles.

-The RJ-11 "long" cable appears to be a part of the Kenwood extension cable kit PG-42 http://www.kenwood.com/usa/com/amateur/ts-480sat/accessories.html

-I have three of these RJ-11s and all check good with meter and by using the radio with the RRC out of the system. I can make HF contacts using these cables without the RRCs in the loop.

-I took the Control RRC cover off and rechecked  the jumpers: JMP1=0 and JMP2=1, JMP=3, JMP5=1, all per the manual page 185.

-I checked the Control RRC 8V power jumper strap carefully, and the others and all good.
-Checked for debris and foreign objects in the case and board=clean. Jumpers all per page 185 of the manual.

-Reconnected the TS480 through the RRCs as before and now when powering up via the control panel, the relays click in the R/T every two seconds and there's a "click" in the speaker. Rechecked the cables, swapped the control RJ-11 to a different cable and no change. When disconnecting the control RJ-11, the clicking stops. When taking the RRCs out of the system and connecting up normally, the R/T and radio power up normally. 

Any ideas?
Thanks
//Dave

//Dave WB7ELY

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: TS-480 Config Problems
« Reply #8 on: 2017-07-24, 21:01:28 »
Hi Dave,

If you hadn't already checked the power supply, I would swear that is your problem.

You have two different problems: the dim backlight on the panel, and the bad audio

These two problems could both be caused by a bad power supply or cable. If that is not the problem, then I am not really
sure where to start. Maybe Mike is reading this on his vacation and has an idea.

Did you do the RFI check like I suggested? This is just for the process of elimination, which is the only method we can use to
find the cause.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: TS-480 Config Problems
« Reply #9 on: 2017-07-24, 21:11:38 »
P.S.: please check that the RRC's are running in program mode-5

wb7ely

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
    • WB7ELY
    • Email
Re: TS-480 Config Problems
« Reply #10 on: 2017-07-27, 05:53:14 »
Thanks for all the help and staying with me on this.

-I have not checked the power supply ripple. It is a new Alinco DM330MV right out of the box. Seems to run everything fine without the RRCs but I will get out the scope to check the ripple. I know every possible detail needs to be checked and verified as part of good troubleshooting.

-Reconnected the TS480 through the RRCs as before and now when powering up via the control panel, the relays click in the R/T every two seconds and there's a "click" in the speaker. Rechecked the cables, swapped the control RJ-11 to a different cable and no change. When disconnecting the control RJ-11, the clicking stops and the red LED on the R/T stays lit. When taking the RRCs out of the system and connecting up normally, the R/T and radio power up normally.

-So I am stopped from performing the EMI check due to this new odd problem. Took the RRC covers off and rechecked everything and nothing found. Any ideas? Has anyone else had the power cycle on and off every 1 second?

-RRCs verified in program mode 5 TS-480

//Dave
WB7ELY


//Dave WB7ELY

wb7ely

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
    • WB7ELY
    • Email
Re: TS-480 Config Problems
« Reply #11 on: 2017-08-01, 23:50:20 »
OK I fixed  it!

There were three problems which really made troubleshooting a nghtmare

1) The RigBlaster advantage had a bad RJ45 (mike) cable, a short to ground in or near the RJ45 plug
2) My RRC module strapping was shoddy and needed to be redone with new wires
3) The WSJT software was not outputting any modulation tones.

Thanks to all who offered assistance!

Dave
WB7ELY
//Dave WB7ELY

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: TS-480 Config Problems
« Reply #12 on: 2017-08-02, 08:47:50 »
Glad that you found the problems after all and have it working, Dave.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX