Author Topic: IC706 Remote Disconnects in Seconds  (Read 1009 times)

K5PZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
IC706 Remote Disconnects in Seconds
« on: 2017-07-31, 19:30:55 »
Some days I can connect to my remote IC706 and stay connected all day.  But some random days I can connect to the radio only briefly before the link is dropped.  I briefly hear audio and control the radio but after several seconds the link is dropped.  Each day this happens I contact my buddy at the remote site and he confirms he's not using the internet and has no internet issues.  Same here.  I'm not using the Internet except for the Remote Rig. Both of us have 100 MBps internet connections ethernet hard wired to our routers.  How do I troubleshoot?

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1803
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: IC706 Remote Disconnects in Seconds
« Reply #1 on: 2017-08-01, 01:30:55 »
Did you try restarting your router? That is most likely the problem.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

K5PZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC706 Remote Disconnects in Seconds
« Reply #2 on: 2017-08-01, 05:14:59 »
We rebooted the routers at both ends ...... no joy.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1803
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: IC706 Remote Disconnects in Seconds
« Reply #3 on: 2017-08-01, 11:38:31 »
Did you change anything in either router or the internet provider? This type of problem is
100% caused by the network infrastructure and has nothing to do with RemoteRig
itself.

You need to do some checking of the routers, etc. Make sure SIP ALG is turned off. Try
turning the router(s) firewall off to see if that helps.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

K5PZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC706 Remote Disconnects in Seconds
« Reply #4 on: 2017-08-02, 00:33:13 »
Interestingly, I upgraded my internet service from 50MBps to 100MBps but with the same provider.  Forgive my igornance, but what is SIP ALG and how do I turn it off?  Secondly, I'm not sure how to turn off the firewall, but I didn't change any router settings from when it was working days ago.  If this were a vintage vacuum tube radio, I'd be in my sweet spot for troubleshooting (but it's majic TCP/IP stuff).
HELP PSE

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1803
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: IC706 Remote Disconnects in Seconds
« Reply #5 on: 2017-08-02, 01:10:49 »
I wish there was a general answer to your question, but every single router and situation is unique.
There are hundreds of different routers out there, so here is no way I can answer that.

If you tell me what kind of router you have, I can download the manual and look it up. But you could
do that, too.

Also look at the status page on the RRC after making a connect and let us know if you have any errors.

I do suspect that there is some setting in your router causing this problem, we just need to find it.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

K5PZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC706 Remote Disconnects in Seconds
« Reply #6 on: 2017-08-02, 06:07:54 »
Mitch,
I do appreciate your help.  I found out my router's SIP ALG is turned off.  I also changed my router's Firewall setting from Medium to Minimum.  Turning off the firewall didn't seem to be an option.  I have an old Verizon Actiontec MI424WR Rev. I  FIOS router.  I'll get the RigNet manual out and see how to check the status page on the RRC.  Arrrgh.....
73
Pete K5PZ

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1803
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: IC706 Remote Disconnects in Seconds
« Reply #7 on: 2017-08-02, 08:49:32 »
To check the RRC's status page, use your browser to go to the RRC, then on the left are the
menu items, some of which you have already used. The status menu is one of them.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

K5PZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC706 Remote Disconnects in Seconds
« Reply #8 on: 2017-08-02, 18:10:57 »
Mitch, I used the browser to view he microbit status this morning.  I wanted to capture any error messages.  Guess what?  This morning the system is working FB.  No drop outs.  I'm absolutely positive (almost sure) NOTHING has changed at my end.  RTP status is Excellent(60), UDP cmd status OK(45), RX jitter buffer size 4, RX jitter delay is 3, Current audio Quality is 2 - Linear 16 bits 8 KHz, Sytem messages NO, Common Network settings NO, PTT status OFF, Current audio packet size 20, SIP status is Connected/transfering.   How do I troubleshoot now that it's working?
This is very flustrating.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1803
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: IC706 Remote Disconnects in Seconds
« Reply #9 on: 2017-08-02, 18:36:55 »
Mitch, I used the browser to view he microbit status this morning.  I wanted to capture any error messages.  Guess what?  This morning the system is working FB.  No drop outs.  I'm absolutely positive (almost sure) NOTHING has changed at my end.  RTP status is Excellent(60), UDP cmd status OK(45), RX jitter buffer size 4, RX jitter delay is 3, Current audio Quality is 2 - Linear 16 bits 8 KHz, Sytem messages NO, Common Network settings NO, PTT status OFF, Current audio packet size 20, SIP status is Connected/transfering.   How do I troubleshoot now that it's working?
This is very flustrating.
Gee.......you are the first person I ever knew that complained because something worked!

I suggest that you put up with everything working and then look at the status if the problem occurs again and we can try to figure it out.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

Gesendet von meinem STV100-1 mit Tapatalk