Author Topic: RRC and XPLORNET  (Read 694 times)

VE3CFK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Email
RRC and XPLORNET
« on: 2017-10-04, 20:11:49 »
Xplornet is a rural internet provider in Canada.
I have been trying to get my RRCs working through Xplorenet.

Has anyone had experience and success wirh RRCs and Explorenet?

Teamviewer and Skype work thru Xplorenet.  Why cannot the RRCs?  What magic are Teamviewer and Skype using to allow them to work thru the Xplorenet router?

Regards,
73
Chet VE3CFK

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: RRC and XPLORNET
« Reply #1 on: 2017-10-04, 20:58:29 »
Chet,

Those products use proxy servers to get around firewall issues. There are three possibilities for your problem:

1) You did not properly forward the ports in the radio RRC's router. If you need help, drop me a short mail at
dj0qn (at) darc.de and I will send you my networking checklist to walk you through the process.
2) You have the IPv6 problem, see http://www.remoterig.com/wp/?page_id=3494
3) You do not have a public IP number like the 4G providers. There are numerous threads on this problem, or
see http://www.remoterig.com/forum/index.php?topic=2768.msg12490#msg12490 and the link above.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

VE3CFK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC and XPLORNET
« Reply #2 on: 2017-10-05, 01:42:01 »
Thank you Mitch.
Turns out that is exactly what the provider has done.  The external and WAN ip addresses DO NOT match.
Contacted the provider, and they will not offer a static ip address unless I change to a different product and lower speed (which is not desirable).
So.  Path forward:
1) search for a new provider
2) install VPN

I will be perusing both.
Thanks again Mitch.
73
Chet VE3CFK

VE3CFK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC and XPLORNET
« Reply #3 on: 2017-10-05, 02:12:44 »
Mitch.

Would you have a preferential VPN software provider that can resolve my issue?

Chet

VE3CFK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC and XPLORNET
« Reply #4 on: 2017-10-05, 03:05:15 »
Mitch.
Please disregard previous post re VPN software.
I have surfed the posts here and have found a path forward for implementing VPN.  Probably going to go with a VPN router.
73
Chet  VE3CFK

oz1rh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: RRC and XPLORNET
« Reply #5 on: 2017-10-06, 15:17:13 »
Contacted the provider, and they will not offer a static ip address unless I change to a different product and lower speed

You don't need a static IP address, just ask for a public IP address open for incoming traffic like what you get on an ADSL line. Most likely their customer service does not know the difference and won't or can't deliver a public IP address.

73, Palle, OZ1RH.
« Last Edit: 2017-10-06, 15:19:01 by oz1rh »

VE3CFK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC and XPLORNET
« Reply #6 on: 2017-10-06, 19:26:01 »
Thanks Palle.
My mistake.  I had meant a Public ip address (I had mistakenly said static ip).
Anyways, my provider will not provide a public ip address for any amount of money.  Just not their policy.

So, I will be controlling my remote K3 using TRX Manager at the remote site and interfacing it using Team Viewer.
This is the near term solution, as it worked in the past prior to me converting to RRCs.

In the interum I will be looking for alternate internet providers as well as VPN for the existing provider.

73
Chet VE3CFK

sm2sum

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC and XPLORNET
« Reply #7 on: 2017-10-07, 20:56:50 »
Maybe another option if you have problems with double nat
 http://dovado.com/en/features/bridge-mode :)

Good luck...

Peder
K3 twin
Mobile internet
Dovado router

oz1rh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: RRC and XPLORNET
« Reply #8 on: 2017-10-08, 23:39:21 »
I don't see that a Dovado box in Bridge mode can solve the problem that the ISP assigns a non-route able private IP address to the WAN connection, thus the WAN connection at the remote site can't be accessed from the control site via the Internet.

The Dovado box in Bridge mode seems just to be a router with fail over between two Internet connections.

The Dovado box can do VPN, that is clients on the LAN at the remote site can access the Internet via VPN. In other words the VPN seems to be initiated from the remote site. The problem in this thread is that the control Remoterig box must be able to access the remote (radio) Remoterig box, that is the VPN should be initiated from the control site. If the Dovado box can initiate and keep a VPN open (to a proxy server) then it will work. I have not found this in the manual, is it there?

73, Palle, OZ1RH.