Author Topic: new setup 2 x K3/100 not working  (Read 497 times)

cx6vm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
new setup 2 x K3/100 not working
« on: 2017-11-16, 17:01:37 »
Hello

I couldnt setup remoterig with two K3/100 radios, so right now, I bring both radios to my house and start over with the setup

I turn on control radio, then turn on remote radio, but nothing happen. I hear on the headpones a continue sound  like telephone sound, "u i u     u i u     u i u      u i u       u i u....................."   

I am following this two manuals:

Elecraft Manual http://www.elecraft.com/manual/K3%20Remote%20Owner%27s%20Manual%20%20Rev%20D.pdf  and

Remoterig Manual http://www.remoterig.com/downloads/RemoteRig_RRC1258-MkII_Users_manual.pdf

I couldnt open remoterig boxes to check inside as per Remoterig manual page 213

I update firmware on two remoterig boxes

I go to the browser and access microbit to go to radio settings. Here some diferences with manuals and browser
      - SIP password, Elecraft manual say blank, Remoterig manual say hello
      - SIP contact may I left blank or not?
      - Audio quality, Elecraft manual say "3 - aLaw 12 kHz" and remoterig manual say "2 - Linear 16 bits 8 kHz, so which one is the correct?
       - Codec Out Gain Elecraft manual say 250 and Remoterig manual say 255
       - Codec Imp Gain Elecraft Manual say 32 and remoterig manual say 14
       - Codec inp preamp Elecraft manual say "163", Remoterig manual say "Yes"


router setup also is diferent in Elecraft and Remoterig manuals on applications name, but maybe this is not a problem

Any idea what is wrong?

--
73,
Jorge
CX6VM/CW5W

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1795
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: new setup 2 x K3/100 not working
« Reply #1 on: 2017-11-16, 19:21:29 »
Hi Jorge,

If you don't have my networking checklist, let me know and I will send it to you. This goes through the process
of setting this up. To answer your questions:

      - SIP password, Elecraft manual say blank, Remoterig manual say hello
It should be something you make up to be secure, hello is just an example. Both RRC's must be identical
      - SIP contact may I left blank or not?
Yes, but not recommended for security reasons.
      - Audio quality, Elecraft manual say "3 - aLaw 12 kHz" and remoterig manual say "2 - Linear 16 bits 8 kHz, so which one is the correct?
Any one you decide to use, dependent upon your audio requirements and available bandwidth. I use "0", because it is the least bandwidth and fine for CW and SSB.
       - Codec Out Gain Elecraft manual say 250 and Remoterig manual say 255
Probably won't make a noticible difference, try whatever works for you
       - Codec Imp Gain Elecraft Manual say 32 and remoterig manual say 14
The numbers on the radio and control RRC's are different, so maybe you didn't notice. Otherwise, same as last
       - Codec inp preamp Elecraft manual say "163", Remoterig manual say "Yes"
- Radio RRC is yes and control RRC is no, see RemoteRig manual

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX


cx6vm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: new setup 2 x K3/100 not working
« Reply #2 on: 2017-11-16, 19:50:52 »
Hi Mitch

no, I dont have it, if you can send me it to check

thanks!

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1795
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: new setup 2 x K3/100 not working
« Reply #3 on: 2017-11-16, 19:59:16 »
Done