Author Topic: Kenwood ts-480 Sat  (Read 820 times)

K0ATZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« on: 2017-12-01, 16:57:38 »
I work at a hospital and we had a ts-2000 set up on the 9th floor tied into a RRC-1258 MkII, that hits a router and is fiber optic cable down to our control room on the ground floor, no internet connection hard wired from point A to B.   We really struggle with the ts-2000 and the remote head as it has tons of sub menus.  We have purchased a ts-480 Sat for its simplicity,  I have followed the plans on line and have all the jumpers in place except Jumper #5 which I don't seem to have on my older model.  It calls for it in the ts-480 set up??  What do I need to do?  Proceed or do I need something else?

Thanks
Brian
K0ATZ

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« Reply #1 on: 2017-12-01, 19:11:28 »
Brian,

I know it works just fine on the older model of the RRC. I think they added that jumper later to better support the FT-857 and
ID-880 that should not be grounded, which probably means that the old one was grounded by default (this is my assumption).
Either way, don't worry, it will work just fine.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

K0ATZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« Reply #2 on: 2017-12-01, 19:53:47 »
I just tried it and no good.  I am using the info off page 185 in the manual, for Kenwood ts-480?


dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« Reply #3 on: 2017-12-01, 20:00:49 »
I installed quite a few TS-480's using the older RRC and it worked just fine. If I recall,
the settings are identical to the TS-2000, except for the radio type (mode-5) and that you
need to set JMP2 on for the control head.

What exactly did you change that it doesn't work?

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX


K0ATZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« Reply #4 on: 2017-12-01, 20:56:04 »
it had one jumper on the radio side that the book didn't call for and I Jumper 1 off, 2 on 3 on and no number 5 on the control head.

« Last Edit: 2017-12-01, 21:00:59 by K0ATZ »

K0ATZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« Reply #5 on: 2017-12-01, 21:06:12 »
Am I supposed to do any software type update? 

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2430
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« Reply #6 on: 2017-12-01, 21:13:09 »
the jumpers s not important for the connectivity, you do not need to update firmware. send me exported settings(html) files from both units

73 de mike

K0ATZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« Reply #7 on: 2017-12-04, 15:09:21 »
So I have to hook up the units to the computer and update them?  I just placed them side by side and hooked a short cat cable between them still nothing?  The jumpers are set to the specs on pager 185 of the manual.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« Reply #8 on: 2017-12-04, 16:07:33 »
Although it makes sense to update to the newest firmware, this will not make any difference as far
as connectivity is concerned. An older firmware will still work for the TS-480.

I am really not sure what you are trying to do. Hooking up a serial cable won't make it work at all,
it needs ethernet connectivity to work. The serial cable must go between the RRC the rig's CAT port.

I suspect that you may have a wiring problem somewhere, please look at the manual. Another common
problem is that the RJ-11 cables used must have all wires connected. In other words, you can not use a
standard telephone cord, it must be a "3-line cord" or make the cable up yourself. The U.S. version of the
TS-480 ships only with one cable (the manual is wrong), so you need to make sure you get a correct
second cable. This may be your problem.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

K0ATZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« Reply #9 on: 2017-12-04, 20:00:51 »
Our IT/ Data guys looked at the factory Kenwood cable and made me two shorter versions which both work fine head to radio, not sure what I am doing wrong on this.

K0ATZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« Reply #10 on: 2017-12-04, 20:01:57 »
It has a ethernet box at each end with fiber ran between the boxes, which ties into the Rig Remote boxes.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« Reply #11 on: 2017-12-04, 21:02:02 »
I am still not sure what you did wrong. The strange thing is that the setup as far as the RRC's are
concerned is virtually identical to what you had before. Except for a few cables and one setting in the
RRC's (and one jumper in the control RRC), there should have been no changes necessary. All the
network and SIP settings, etc. should have been left as is.

I would revert back to how to had it working before and start from scratch. Once you have it working
again, just make those couple of changes and it should work just fine.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

K0ATZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« Reply #12 on: 2017-12-04, 21:51:20 »
What is the one setting you are talking about?  I did the jumper wires and the the jumper pins?  as described on page 185 our IT guys checked my work and they said it looked correct per the paper.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« Reply #13 on: 2017-12-04, 21:54:01 »
The only setting that needs to be changed is program mode=5.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

K0ATZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Kenwood ts-480 Sat
« Reply #14 on: 2017-12-04, 22:06:05 »
So do you have to have the boxes hooked up to a computer to do that program change? Sorry I wasn't here when this was installed and am not familiar with this at all.