Author Topic: Do I need the 1274B?  (Read 779 times)

k5xm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Do I need the 1274B?
« on: 2018-02-07, 20:52:20 »
First post--but I've been a lurker for a while.  I'm operating my TS-480 remotely at the ranch using the RRC-1258's, with the 480 front panel here at home connected to the control box.  I'm very satisfied with it.  However, when I'm away from home, I want to be able to operate using a laptop running ARCP-480 (or HRD).  I have the serial cable hooked up on Com2 at the remote, but I'm unable to turn on the radio from the software.  I'm reduced to having my wife push the power button on the 480 to make contact with the system, and I need a better way. If I get a 1274B Micro PC Client, will I be able to power up the radio when away from the home QTH?  Or, should I invest in a remote RS232 switch and connect the radio com port to it?
Thanks for any help.
73 Trent  K5XM

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Do I need the 1274B?
« Reply #1 on: 2018-02-08, 02:08:51 »
Hi Trent,

The RRC Micro PC Client will turn on the rig without a problem and otherwise allow full CAT control
remotely using the client of your choice.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

k5xm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Do I need the 1274B?
« Reply #2 on: 2018-02-08, 19:47:13 »
Thank you Mitch!  Thatís just what I was wanting to know.
73 de Trent K5XM

K1IKE-Joe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Do I need the 1274B?
« Reply #3 on: 2018-02-11, 18:33:06 »
Hi Trent,

I'm a bit confused.  If you are running the RRC-1258 units at both the Control and Radio side of the connection when using the Control head, how is your wife turning on the TS480?  The Radio RRC1258 TTL cable plugs into the TS480 radio where the control head would normally go, so you can't have a control head at the ranch unless you are switching one in and out.

We have used the ARCP-10 software with no problems.  Are you using COM2 for the CAT control?

The manual (page 18) states this:  Both Kenwood and Yaesu transceivers need the RTS and CTS pins to be strapped together.  JMP-3 inside the box can be used to strap them if you want to use a standard fully connected cable.  This may be your problem.

Joe, K1ike


K1IKE-Joe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Do I need the 1274B?
« Reply #4 on: 2018-02-12, 02:52:17 »
Another thing.  The cable that you use must have the proper conductors wired to bring the RTS and CTS leads from the TS480 back into the 1258 so that the JMP3 option works.  If you made your own cable, the RTS and CTS can be looped right at the TS480 connector as noted in the Kenwood document.

Joe

k5xm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Do I need the 1274B?
« Reply #5 on: 2018-02-13, 19:32:20 »
Hi Joe, and thanks for your comments.
The TS-480 control head is attached to the RRC Control here at home, and the RRC remote and the main body of the 480 are at the ranch--just a regular system.   I am using COM2 for the CAT control--but the ARCP480 software won't turn on the radio.  After the 480 control head is turned on, the CAT works perfectly.   It just won't turn the system on.
Is there another step in the hookup that I missed?

73 de Trent
K5XM
« Last Edit: 2018-02-13, 19:40:13 by k5xm »

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Do I need the 1274B?
« Reply #6 on: 2018-02-14, 00:03:44 »
Trent,

That is correct...you must first turn the TS-480 on before the software will connect. This is because it
requires the UDP stream first, which is started when you hit the power button.

The advantage of the RRC Micro Client is that it will start the UDP stream and power on the rig remotely
and (only) use the software client like ARCP480 for control. If you already have the control panel with you,
then you can save the money by using its power switch.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

k5xm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Do I need the 1274B?
« Reply #7 on: 2018-02-15, 19:06:53 »
Mitch,

Since I don't want to lug the TS-480 control head around, I plan on getting the PC-Micro for when I'm travelling away from home.

Another possibility might be to get a Ethernet-RS232 converter and hook it up to the remote router, and then use the ARCP software to control the remote rig, instead of using COM2 on the RRC Remote box.  Has anyone tried this method?

Thanks again!
73 de Trent   K5XM

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Do I need the 1274B?
« Reply #8 on: 2018-02-15, 19:15:29 »
Trent,

You will be much happier with the RRC Micro Client. There is no easy way to transport audio or CAT using
the method you are proposing. The Microbit solution solves both automatically and also turns the rig on.
If you are a CW or digital op, it also gives you more flexibility with those modes.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX