Author Topic: Icom IC-910H remote rig?  (Read 441 times)

vk7hh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Icom IC-910H remote rig?
« on: 2018-02-16, 04:33:03 »
Has anyone used the remote rig for the IC-910H? How did it work, I assume like any other CI-V Icom.

I'm setting up a remote station on a high mountain, and I only want 2m/70cm, although 23cm would be a bonus. The 910 suits because they already have a decent amount of power 100W on 2/75W on 70cm, and are easily GPS lockable.

Open to other suggestions though.

VK3ALB

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: Icom IC-910H remote rig?
« Reply #1 on: 2018-02-16, 05:38:45 »
Hi Hayden,

I don't know exactly what you want to do but I think that's a lot of money to pay for the extra watts. I suggest you get something with a remote head and the options for using something like that is greater. It's real nice having a control panel in front of you rather than a laptop - feels more like radio.

Notwithstanding the lower power I suggest a FT857 or IC7100 or even a IC706MKIIg if you can find a separation kit.  I think these can all have their frequency stability tightened up with an after market TCXO if you are thinking digi modes. and the overall cost on the second hand market is a fair bit lower. 910H's in Oz are still relatively expensive especially without the 23cm option.

All of them (including the 910H) need a preamp to brighten up the receivers so (I think) your choice comes down to how you are going to operate and if you really really need the extra watts.

One of the other things you may need to consider is the standby current if you're running off batteries.

Lou
VK3ALB

vk7hh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Icom IC-910H remote rig?
« Reply #2 on: 2018-02-16, 05:48:18 »
Hi Lou,
Thanks for your thoughts. I'm still up in the air about what to do.

Currently I have a FT-857 at the remote site with the RemoteRig and the control head at home. This seems to work very well, however I felt like it was a "waste" of a radio too with not using HF and 6 metres. I guess looking at it, it's not really too much of a waste considering it's probably cheaper than a 2nd hand 910.

The rig is also currently GPS locked.
Perhaps it's just best to stick with this setup and add a transverter for 23cm if required down the track.

Hayden

VK3ALB

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: Icom IC-910H remote rig?
« Reply #3 on: 2018-02-16, 06:11:17 »
Whoops,

Didn't realize you had something already. I've used both radios of field days, same site, same antenna system and most importantly same preamps and I can't say I favor one receiver over the other - they both do a good job. After using the 910H and going to the 857 (actually 897) I can't think of a single time when I wished I had the 910H because of lack of TX power. I think the real differentiator in the 910H is the dual receive capability. Great for planning a QSY between bands but I'm not sure if that would work remotely.

In my opinion the last two 910H's on VKham went for a lot of money but if you really need that 100W/75W then you're on the right track.

If you want to hear from guys running remote rig that might not read here very often I suggest VK6LD, VK3OE (mostly 6m) who both use a IC706 and VK5PJ who may have already set up his 7100 using RR.
Lou
VK3ALB

vk7hh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Icom IC-910H remote rig?
« Reply #4 on: 2018-02-16, 06:24:35 »
Hi Lou,
I spoke to 6LD about the Remote Rig before I purchased it.

I also spoke to 5PJ. He was having issues connecting his 7100 up. Thanks for your other thoughts.

Regards
Hayden