Author Topic: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?  (Read 2412 times)

k7emi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« on: 2018-07-27, 06:13:24 »
Instead of trying to run wsjt-x at the control site, I bought a NUC to put at the radio running Ubuntu 18.04LTS. I have a K3 with KIO3B upgrade, and a KPA1500.

I can control the KPA1500 with my NUC just fine. Unfortunately, I can't talk to my K3 at all. I'm jockeying around with the COM2 settings and I could use some help to try to get the local NUC (remember, it's at the radio side, not the control side) to talk to the K3.

I was also thinking if this is not possible, can I just disconnect COM2 from the RRC-1258MkIIs and just connect the RS-232 directly to the NUC? Does the RRC-1258Mk2IIs need COM2 at all?

Thanks for any help. I'm trying options one by one and it's driving me nuts. I've already bought a copy of Win10Pro before I realized the problem wasn't Win10 (tried my laptop) but was with the serial port. I'd rather not waste hundreds more USD to figure this out.

oz1rh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« Reply #1 on: 2018-07-27, 11:33:43 »
Hello,

>Instead of trying to run wsjt-x at the control site, I bought a NUC to put at the radio
Why are you making it so difficult for yourself to run WSJT-X? Just connect your Elecraft K3/0 Mini to your pc at your control site and run WSJT-X.

Unfortunately there is an error in the K3/0 Mini, as input and output (mike and speakers) are reversed both in the USB audio device and the two 3.5 mm Mike and Speakers ports at the left side. This means that the USB audio device can't be used, but the Mike and Speakers ports works for WSJT-X well when connected reversed by wires to your pc. I do my FT8 in this way.

I suggest more owners of K3/0 Mini make a request to Elecraft for having this error corrected at least in the USB audio device.

Regarding COM2 on the rear panel of the RRC-1258 it should be connected to the RS232 port on the K3S (or P3), so the COM2 of the Remoterig box is in use. However COM1 on the front panel of the RRC-1258 is not used by Remoterig and can be used for your KPA1500.

73, Palle, OZ1RH.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2051
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« Reply #2 on: 2018-07-27, 12:20:06 »
Use my CAT checklist to use COM1. Here is a recent post:
http://www.remoterig.com/forum/index.php?topic=1662.msg28130#msg28130

Note that you can use CAT on either side, even at the same time.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

k7emi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« Reply #3 on: 2018-07-27, 17:34:48 »
Why am I doing this? I want to control my KPA1500 remotely and, at the moment, it appears that to power it on and off I need a USB connection to the KPA1500. To get a USB connection to the KPA1500 I need to have a computer local to my KPA1500. Does that make sense?

As long as I'm putting a computer next to my KPA1500 and K3(S), I might as well run wsjt-x on the computer next to the radio.

No one has answered my question: can I talk to the K3(S) on the radio side using RS-232 with a computer next to the radio while I'm using the RRC-1258 MkII?

Now that I've spent all this money on a new remote computer, etc, it sounds like I can do everything remotely (besides the power on/off). Oh well.

oz1rh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« Reply #4 on: 2018-07-27, 17:47:54 »
Power on and off seems easy, see page 23 of the KPA1500 operators manual:

Remote Operation
...
Additionally, the rear panel REM jack enables remote on and off switching: When 12 VDC is applied to the
KPA1500 REM connector, the amplifier is turned on. Removing 12 V turns the amplifier off. Less than 1 mA is
required. The 12V DC OUT jack on the K3/K3s can be used for this function.

73, Palle, OZ1RH.

k7emi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« Reply #5 on: 2018-07-27, 17:56:02 »
I didn't want it on all the time the K3 was on.

I suppose that's not a huge problem. I will try it your way. :)


oz1rh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« Reply #6 on: 2018-07-27, 18:28:16 »
Sri, I had not figured out that you sometimes want to run barefoot.

I manage my 13,8 V at the radio site with a Rigrunner 4005i Wifi: www.westmountainradio.com/product_info.php?products_id=rr_4005i so I can check voltage and current and even power cycle both my K3S and the RRC 1258 should I need to. That need has not happend yet, but nice to be in control. The Rigrunner has built in fuses and over voltage protection. Wifi might be an advantage during thunderstorms.

You could use a Rigrunner 4005i Wifi to power on/off you KPA1500 with 13,8 V to the REM port.

BTW the KPA1500 can be remoted via its ethernet port. I would do all 3: 12 V to REM, Rigrunner and use the ethernet port.

73, Palle, OZ1RH.

k7emi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« Reply #7 on: 2018-07-27, 18:40:21 »
More useless background: I'm only really remoting the radio from my 2nd Floor office to my basement. It was easier to rewire the electricity down there for the amp. As far as the power to the KPA1500 goes, I've found that I can't reliably turn the power on and off using Ethernet, but I can using USB. I can leave the computer down by the radio/amp. I bought it for that purpose anyway.

I can now get my Mac logging software to talk to my K3, but not my K3 Update utility.

I don't have a sound card for my Mac. I've been using the USB audio out on my K3. I don't suppose there's already USB audio on the K3/0 and I can rewire the "broken audio" someway?

Otherwise, I think I'm back to trying to get the COM1 on the radio side to work and I'm going to remotely operate wsjtx.

oz1rh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« Reply #8 on: 2018-07-27, 19:56:51 »
There is an USB audio device on the K3/0, but it can't be used as input and output is reversed. I don't think you can fix it or an USB input device can be made into an output device using a Virtual Audio Cable. Instead ask Elecraft to fix this error.

However Mike and Speakers on the left side works for digital remote if you reverse the two cables between the K3/0 and your pc.

As your radio and control site are in the same house you should not have many problems if radio and control are on the same LAN. If you want to use a pc at the radio you may use COM1 as Mitch has written.

73, Palle, OZ1RH.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2051
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« Reply #9 on: 2018-07-28, 01:29:07 »

No one has answered my question: can I talk to the K3(S) on the radio side using RS-232 with a computer next to the radio while I'm using the RRC-1258 MkII?


I answered that above, read my checklist.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

k7emi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« Reply #10 on: 2018-07-28, 07:00:02 »
I read your checklist and the steps did not work for me. Read my replies.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2051
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« Reply #11 on: 2018-07-28, 12:41:27 »
Then you are doing something wrong. I suggest again that you carefully read the checklist, it has been used by many
to get this working. I have two remote locations using this method as well, syncing SPE amplifiers over the radio RRC's
COM1 in parallel with using COM1 on the control side for CAT. The most common problem is the pinout of COM1 on the
radio RRC, so maybe that is your problem.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

k7emi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« Reply #12 on: 2018-07-29, 03:12:06 »
OK. I will keep trying. Thank you.

k7emi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« Reply #13 on: 2018-07-31, 00:58:23 »
Palle, this is what I heard back from Elecraft regarding the USB:

---

The USB Port on the K3/0-MINI is for use with software based remote systems such as RemoteHamRadio or RemoteHams.
When using the RemoteRig based remote system (DB15 cable connected to back of the K3/0-MINI), the USB port on the K3/0-MINI is
very limited or not functional.

The USB Port is not designed to be used with the RemoteRig based remote system.

In this case, you should interface your 3rd party software to the RemoteRig device.

---

I guess it's time to break out my SignaLink.

W0JM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: K3S & K3/0 & wsjt-x - do I need COM2?
« Reply #14 on: 2018-09-30, 06:05:01 »
I could use some help. I'm using a K3 through RemoteRigs to a K3 Zero. I can decode and key the transmitter but I don't appear to be sending tones to the K3/zero. I've tried swapping the 3.5mm spkrs and MIC plugs but still no joy. Any ideas as to what is not configured right? Thanks, Jeff