Author Topic: How change from IP static to IP dynamic  (Read 341 times)

ik4ade

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Email
How change from IP static to IP dynamic
« on: 2019-07-27, 17:22:30 »
Hello! I am using  RRC1258s and 1216h webswitchs with IP static.
Now, in the radio shack, the wifi company has reduced the speeds in upload so is not possible to continue to use remoterig system.
I think to try with 4G from a public important company where I read big speeds.
Anyone can to explain to me all the procedure in remoterig pieces and over how to leave IP static and to exchange in IP dynamic?
Must I to set and to work also in 4G router?
Excuse me for my ignorance.
TNX, 73
Franco

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2130
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: How change from IP static to IP dynamic
« Reply #1 on: 2019-07-27, 19:22:07 »
Franco,

Moving to a dynamic external IP address is super easy. Just go to the dynamic DNS menu of
the radio RRC, change the drop-down to the RemoteRig service and enable it to check every
10 minutes. Put that address into the SIP contact field of the control RRC and you are ready to go.

More complicated is the move to a 4G service. Each provider and country is different, so I can't say
specifically about your area, but most of the time the 4G providers do not provide the users with a true
external (public)  IP address, instead using internal addressing. This causes a double-NAT situation
where the port forwards will not work.

If this is the case with your 4G provider, then you only have two work-arounds:
- Pay the provider for a public IP address ( a fixed IP address is not necessary, but a public one is)
- Or use a VPN

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

ik4ade

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: How change from IP static to IP dynamic
« Reply #2 on: 2019-07-28, 08:57:38 »
Thank you Mitch,
73 Franco