Author Topic: Remoting a KPA500 + KAT500 & TS480  (Read 581 times)

wb7ely

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
    • WB7ELY
    • Email
Remoting a KPA500 + KAT500 & TS480
« on: 2019-10-20, 16:38:04 »
In have the KPA500 working remotely on RRC COM I. Works great with the null modem cable and remote utility. But I have to leave the amp on (in STBY) all the time. If you turn it off via the remote utility, then the RS232 is off and you cannot regain control unless you push the ON button on the KPA. One post stated that you could switch 12V to a pin in the DB9 plug intended to connect to the K3. Does anybody have any further details on that connection? Now moving on to the KAT500, can I connect it to the RRC COM2 port? No CAT in use and no rotor so wondering if there's anything I need to know before moving to that connection..? Does it need a null modem like COM I?
Thanks de Dave WB7ELY
//Dave WB7ELY

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2141
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Remoting a KPA500 + KAT500 & TS480
« Reply #1 on: 2019-10-20, 16:52:54 »
Hi Dave,

I can't help you on the KPA500, so maybe someone else can, or try the Elecraft reflector instead. I use a 12v
power line to turn on SPE amps and it works great.

What I wanted to say is there is no problem using COM2 instead of COM1 if one does not use CAT. This is a
straight through connection, as you can see in the manual.

You may also wish to take a look at the boxes sold by N6TV at https://www.kkn.net/~n6tv/S-BOX/  and at
https://www.kkn.net/~n6tv/Y-BOX/index.html as these may meet your needs better.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2141
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Remoting a KPA500 + KAT500 & TS480
« Reply #2 on: 2019-10-20, 19:44:07 »
P.S.: actually the S-Box is for CAT multiplexing and would not help you much. Maybe the
Y-Box would help you with the KPA-500.

Also, I use serial port servers for my rotor and amp control. These have a couple of advantages
in that they are stand-alone and always connected. The ones I use are Lantronix, such as the
UDS2100 https://www.lantronix.com/products/uds2100/

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

wb7ely

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
    • WB7ELY
    • Email
Re: Remoting a KPA500 + KAT500 & TS480
« Reply #3 on: 2019-10-21, 05:43:56 »
Regarding the remote POWER ON of the KPA-500 amplifier, in going over the tech manual it appears you can turn on the amplifier by taking the aux connector pin 8 low, but only for a moment, do not hold low. I've attached a scan of the AUX connector interface pinout. Note it is a DE-15 Male plug. So... I will try using a pair of extra contacts on my webswitch to pull that pin low and see if it turns on the KPA. Otherwise I will have to leave ON in STBY all the time.
//dave WB7ELY
//Dave WB7ELY