Author Topic: Yaesu Twin Question  (Read 2714 times)

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1883
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Yaesu Twin Question
« on: 2011-03-20, 17:40:46 »
Mike,

I am interested in the Yaesu Twin for my FT-2000. I have an offer for another
FT-2000 that I am considering for the control.

My question is: does the CAT have to go only to COM2 as in the instructions,
or can I also put it to COM1 and loop it through COM2 as on the other RRC's?
I would need this loop-through capability to prevent breaking my present set-up.

Dumb (bonus) question: why is the Yaesu Twin so expensive? The cables can't make the
difference. Appears to be the same hardware to the other RRC, probably with a
different firmware (but no updates are showing on the download page yet). I assume
this is a marketing driven price, but it seems very high. I don't expect an answer on
this question, just wanted to get it off my chest!

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

 

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2505
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Yaesu Twin Question
« Reply #1 on: 2011-03-20, 19:52:40 »
The yaesu twin only works with com2

I do not exactly understand how you want to connect the com ports

The development of the twin solution was very expensive and we think it's more fare that those who really need it also pay for it rather than that we raise the price for everyone.

73 de


dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1883
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Yaesu Twin Question
« Reply #2 on: 2011-03-20, 20:04:19 »
Hi Mike,

Thanks for the quick (Sunday) reply!

I basically want to the radio RRC's CAT not only to the FT-2000,
but I need to pass the FT-2000 CAT back to a PC for the SteppIR,
linear and for a local logging program. This is exactly what I do now
with the TS-480, looping back to the PC at the radio RRC, as well
as making CAT available on COM2 on the control RRC.

I hope I explained it ok.

About the price; I understand you need to recoup your development
costs, it is just a bit of what Americans call "sticker shock". I will
think about it, but of course I appreciate the honest explanation.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX


dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1883
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Yaesu Twin Question
« Reply #3 on: 2011-03-25, 08:57:37 »
Hi Mike,

I didn't hear back from you, so maybe I didn't explain my question well enough:

The question is if I can also pass the CAT control through from COM2 to COM1 as
I do now with the normal RRC firmware. This means COM1 is mode 6, CAT to COM2.

If not, can this also be implemented in the Twin firmware, or must I install a Y-cable
to do this from COM2?

Thanks & 73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2505
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Yaesu Twin Question
« Reply #4 on: 2011-03-25, 09:03:20 »
Im sorry I missed it.
Yes of course, the function was implemented for the Twin, and is also available in standard version.

73 de mike

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1883
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Yaesu Twin Question
« Reply #5 on: 2011-03-25, 09:06:56 »
That is great news, thanks!

My next project ;-)

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX