Author Topic: QoS support for remoterig  (Read 2260 times)

yo3gjc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
QoS support for remoterig
« on: 2011-05-25, 02:21:16 »
There is any plan to have QoS support over the network? Any plans for DSCP?
Tnx and 73 de VE3GNO/YO3GJC

va3mw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: QoS support for remoterig
« Reply #1 on: 2011-05-25, 02:46:41 »
You can set it up in your router to handle SIP traffic.  However, QOS only works well if you band shape ALL the traffic, not just some of it.

And, it only affects outbound traffic, not inbound. 

Odds are that you won't really need it.

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2462
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: QoS support for remoterig
« Reply #2 on: 2011-05-25, 08:25:13 »
QoS is already in use by our commercial customers, which have their own country wide networks. I don't think it will make any difference over the Internet.

TOS is set to 0x2e or 46 decimal.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Type_of_Service

73 de mike

sm5acu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: QoS support for remoterig
« Reply #3 on: 2011-05-27, 09:23:37 »
QoS is already in use by our commercial customers, which have their own country wide networks. I don't think it will make any difference over the Internet.

TOS is set to 0x2e or 46 decimal.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Type_of_Service

73 de mike

Is it handled by the operators for IP over 3G?
/Uno